Do you guys who owned a Galaxy Note 5, does it had the sleeping issue

• Yes, I had the sleeping issue

Votes: 140 77.3%
  • No, I do not encounter at all

Votes: 41 22.7%

• Total voters

Kel1ng

I am using 64GB and i do not have that problem. The only problem I have is that my whatsapp messages dun come in until i turn on my screen. So if i dun check my phone, it never will come in.

Anyone got this issue?

That is also part of the zzzzz problem......the device is zzzzzz so deep that it does not wake up when whatsapp messages are coming in....

Sinkie

That is also part of the zzzzz problem......the device is zzzzzz so deep that it does not wake up when whatsapp messages are coming in....

but rather, it must wake up to receive whatsapp msg

renfred89

i cant recall, but i think most of the time is on wifi ba..

If it's wifi, then it's due to your wireless router having a DTIM interval set too high.

If it's on cellular, then u might have some power saving apps which claims to prolong your battery life, it works by disabling data when screen is off and periodically enabling data to fetch messages..

Sinkie

If it's wifi, then it's due to your wireless router having a DTIM interval set too high.

If it's on cellular, then u might have some power saving apps which claims to prolong your battery life, it works by disabling data when screen is off and periodically enabling data to fetch messages..

oh, so you found the root cause of the sleeping beauty issue? cool..

so i guess no one can complain anymore le ba..

disabling wifi now le lol

JuniorBaiano

I am using 64GB and i do not have that problem. The only problem I have is that my whatsapp messages dun come in until i turn on my screen. So if i dun check my phone, it never will come in.

Anyone got this issue?

Yes I used to have that problem last week. Messages on whatsapp won't show on my lockscreen if my phone is idle for a few hours . Only upon opening whatsapp will I get the incoming messages . So far it's been rectified .

WindJammer

Anyone got this issue?

Hi Kopi,

not sure if you had meddled the background data stuff. Initially i was also having same problem only later to find out ownself pawn ownself.:s13:

Just check the following:
1) Do not disable background data for whatsapp
2) Do not disable background data for app store or play games app
3) try to set high priority notification on the sound and notification setting
Go to Sound and notifications => App notification => Whatsapp => set as priority

If the above dun work, reset factory and from there dun meddle anything else.

If fail again, i also cant help. Its my experience.

tkl23786

Sleeping beauty is not related to WiFi.

I have posted before, either in this thread or the other Note 5 thread, even when I am on LTE/4G connection for 24/7, I still encountered sleeping beauty.

In addition, disabling the camera quick launch does not work. I have sleeping beauty issues just now even after disabling camera quick launch.

Kopi_Lui

Hi all. Just a little update on what i have tried.

My background data for whatsapp is on (towards the right side and green in color).

I thought it was the 4G+ problem so i switched to 3G for the whole day. Same problem (another small problem is my 4G/4G+ signal bar is half of my note 3 at the same area).

My push emails via the touchwiz email apps seems to come in as usual. So its probably an OS/software issue more than a hardware/radio related issue.

Now i set the notification as priority just to test it out. Will update maybe later tonight.

I also uninstalled my whatsapp, cleared cache and reinstalled whatsapp and same issue

I tried it on wifi and 4G and 3G just to confirm. Most of the time i use 4G.

Kopi_Lui

Btw i completely turned off the apps optimisation via settings->battery as well.

Can someone confirm the 32GB have the whatsapp not receiving issue? I dun mind downgrading if 32GB is ok.

jnashville

Btw i completely turned off the apps optimisation via settings->battery as well.

Can someone confirm the 32GB have the whatsapp not receiving issue? I dun mind downgrading if 32GB is ok.

yea using a 32gb. all is fine. no sleepin issue at all.

i got a sealed 32gb gold. keen? =D

human_shieldz

I believe it's their battery optimization that is doing this, i think going forward, this is how Android is going to be like iPhone. I noticed some notification won't come in on my 32GB Note 5 instantly. I can see my phone probably turning off whatsapp push message also when i don't touch the phone for a while cos on my web whatsapp it says my phone is off. BUT i think they do turn it on periodically to sync.

I think it's not limited to whatsapp only. I see my Instagram notification using Lightflow also occassionally not giving me the notification instantly.

human_shieldz

I think this is how iOS is like cos when i send message to my friend, can see only 1 tick until sometimes very long then the 2nd tick appear. Why do you think iPhone has very good battery life :p

human_shieldz

iPhone one is not sleeping issue, it's just how the OS is to maximize battery life. I think Sammy try to apply the same concept but it's not native so i guess their engineers can only do so much or they have no idea why their implementation of battery optimization ended up causing this problem :p

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.