Game Deals

PierceLee

the US PSN flash sales is quite a joke. before the flash sales even happens, most of the games can be found cheaper on Amazon. damn... disc version cheaper than digital. either something is wrong here or Sony is just being greedy.

and also damnit, no indie games for sale. :(
in my opinion, digital games is mostly pro company than pro consumer. especially when even during sales, you cant do better than retail. something is wrong. i can understand it if it's during release week. maybe it's just sony / console companies. other platforms like steam maybe aint like that.
Digital and physical prices are not coordinated, especially across regions. Digital prices are set by the publishers, and Sony works with them to set sale prices. Of cos Sony gets a cut on the transaction but the bulk would still go to the publishers, so the publishers actually control the prices. (That's why "Activision sale" is always an oxymoron, on PSN, Steam and anywhere else.)

Physical prices are set by the publishers. However there are additional parties involved, from distributors to retailers (not to mention government/state taxes). Usually retailers have their own sales and can discount further. Publishers control day 1 price (and release date too) -- Amazon/Gamestop/etc, if you don't play nice, we wont play nice the next time. But after that their control diminish (apart from via stock supply). Retailers can discount as they wish, basically cutting into their own profit, but if it can boost quantity during a sale, they still make more. (Not to mention ebay, used sale, etc. where anything goes.) So physical prices can be very different from digital, they are a completely different supply chain.

And this being end of year, holiday season, game publishers have warehouse loads of physical version of recent big releases. They have to shovel them out now, before the holidays, before financial year closing. That's the whole idea of Thanksgiving/Black Friday/Christmas shopping. So if a latest AAA game doesn't sell too well, the publisher will offer it cheaply to Amazon/etc for a big sale. You can expect some physical to be cheaper than digital at this time, for they quite literally have a sell-by date.

Fact is, often digital sales do do better than retail. But of cos you can always find one physical retailer selling a handful of titles a bit cheaper, for limited quantity (perhaps leftover stock, back from when the publisher offered them cheap, that's still taking up warehouse space), limited time etc. There are always exceptions, but looking at bigger picture, in general digital sales (and that happens weekly) do offer better deals than physical (not just PSN, but also Steam).

Actually what I don't understand is during release week, why the digital price is same as physical price (when physical version may even have additional goodies like steel box, art book etc.)? On day 1, price is still fully in control of the publisher. Digital is so much cheaper in terms of production cost, shipping, inventory management, etc. Why isn't digital much cheaper in week 1?

As for indie games, there are different digital sales every week, indies are featured often enough, at great prices too (and there is usually no physical retail to compete with it). Indies don't have to be featured in every single sale. Usually Sony US runs a flash sale once a month and definitely during black friday. This time they have a bigger scale black friday sale week long, so this flash sale is focusing on relatively recent AAA titles.

kellogs

Any items to buy from shop such as GameStop if you are there physically?

Going this Saturday. I am hoping to pick up a psvr

hyperx_76

wah lao.. you really love writing essays... :s13:

you sure it a fact that digital has better deal bor? i mean dont refer to us here in sg only hor. there are many times when i read those eu/US ps blog comments with regards to those sales postings, there are almost always some post saying they can find better prices in retail. maybe they are trolling, i cant verify though but if i were to be residing there, pretty sure i will have many more lobangs as compare to now since after factor in shipping cost makes it unworthy and pointless to check out from other major retailers. however the major advantage is that it's a one stop shop (psn/steam) rather than wasting time searching for deals from everywhere instead of actually playing games.

yeah the lower production cost and yet similar pricing which you mentioned is one of the reasons why i feel digital are more pro company than pro consumer. the others being not able to trade in (steam do offer refund maybe due to too many cases of broken launch games or shady early access practices), delisted games which you can no longer purchase anymore if you havent done so, account get banned for legit/stupid reasons and losing everything along with it (lack of ownership of things you purchased). company having too much control like recently EA took away purchased games from everyone in myammar and possible monopolization for console companies in their respective store.

with regards to that release week pricing, years ago, i heard pachter ever mentioned that if the digital prices are cheaper, it's going to affect the major retailers business and therefore offend them, which is what they do not want to happen. but then again, who knows if it's really true. in future if retail disc version were to really be totally phased out, they could still priced the digital version as such and we still LLST.

quite a few weeks liao the sales like nothing much for indies. or maybe cos the price is not right or the titles dont interest me thats why i feel that there is nothing.

PierceLee

Generally yes, digital sale often cheaper. Depends on how you look at it, each week's digital sale has let's say 100 items, maybe 80 are cheaper. But may be the 20 have some big titles and somewhere physical is cheaper (overstocked perhaps), so there will always be people complaining.

If it's an Activision sale then maybe 80 are cheaper on disc. In UK, it's also generally felt that digital price is higher, as typically physical price drops very significantly after a few months.

Again, depends how you look at it, is 80% of the items cheaper considered cheaper? Of cos if you look at it as "only the games *I* am interested in", then it's a subjective matter.

The US flash sale got indie leh... darkest dungeon, jazzpunk (I'm getting this one), necropolis, reus, virginia. Indies are always on sale every week, just that they may not appear in the themed feature sale sections.

PierceLee

EU/UK PSN Store

3c13618c-3023-435b-8bd6-ba596579fe78.png

https://store.playstation.com/#!/en-gb/digital-flash/cid=STORE-MSF75508-DIGIFS16||name~asc

Digital-only games, mostly indies.

PierceLee

December US/EU PS+ free games possibly leaked on UK PSN store:

playstation-plus-december-2016-image.jpg

Invisible, Inc
Stories: The Path of Destinies

symbiote28

forgot how renewal of PS+ works if i buy online (always buy the codes elsewhere). if i buy it now, and i still have a running PS+ subscription, will it auto renew once that ends? or can i redeem it anytime i want after the current PS+ subscription ends (maybe one month later)?

PierceLee

forgot how renewal of PS+ works if i buy online (always buy the codes elsewhere). if i buy it now, and i still have a running PS+ subscription, will it auto renew once that ends? or can i redeem it anytime i want after the current PS+ subscription ends (maybe one month later)?
If you buy a PS+ subscription from PSN store directly, it's applied immediately. If it is within your current subscription period, it will extend your subscription end date accordingly. (So you can just buy whenever there is a good sale, like when they have buy 12 months get 3 months or get 1 month. Don't have to wait for current subscription to run out.) If your current subscription already expired, it will start a new subscription period.

If you buy a PS+ subscription code (from Amazon, PCgamesupply etc), you can control when to redeem it. If you redeem within current subscription period, the end date is extended. If your current subscription already expired, it will start a new subscription period.

If your subscription ran out before you start another subscription (ie. there is a gap between subscriptions), then I am not sure if those PS+ free games you had before will be reinstated for you (previously it's clearly stated as "yes", now they changed the wordings and don't mention it, but people believe it's "yes").

PierceLee

SG/Asia PS+ IGC - December 2016

Magicka 2: Base Edition (PS4)
√Letter-Root Letter- (PS4)
Badland: Game of the Year Edition (PS4+PS3+Vita)
Tiny Troopers Joint Ops (PS4+PS3+Vita)
Hyper Void (PS4+PS3)
https://blog.asia.playstation.com/sg-en/4487/2016/12/ps-plus-free-games-for-dec-2016/

5 only?

Root Letter is very nice (it's basically visual novel with some mystery), too bad I bought it already on day 1 (Chinese ver). Hope it's the English version but don't think so, Asia store doesn't have EN ver yet even though US/EU release it weeks ago (since EN is so new, PS+ won't give it lah).

Edit: On Aisa PS blog ppl already complaining about PS+ giving free-to-play Android games (Badland, Tiny Troopers).

ckleow79

SG/Asia PS+ IGC - December 2016

Magicka 2: Base Edition (PS4)
√Letter-Root Letter- (PS4)
Badland: Game of the Year Edition (PS4+PS3+Vita)
Tiny Troopers Joint Ops (PS4+PS3+Vita)
Hyper Void (PS4+PS3)
https://blog.asia.playstation.com/sg-en/4487/2016/12/ps-plus-free-games-for-dec-2016/

5 only?

Root Letter is very nice (it's basically visual novel with some mystery), too bad I bought it already on day 1 (Chinese ver). Hope it's the English version but don't think so, Asia store doesn't have EN ver yet even though US/EU release it weeks ago (since EN is so new, PS+ won't give it lah).

Edit: On Aisa PS blog ppl already complaining about PS+ giving free-to-play Android games (Badland, Tiny Troopers).

Magicka 2 was on us ps plus last year :(
well at least I got an unique game in √Letter-Root Letter

PierceLee

I really like Root Letter, very interesting story. You found a bunch of old letters (snail mail!) from your pen pal from 10 (or something) years ago. You discovered there was one you didn't read back then. In the letter your pen pal said farewell forever, becos she killed someone. So you start your journey to this place 岛根 in Japan to find out what happened. The story gets more interesting when, the first place you went, you found that the pen pal already died.. 15 years ago.

As you go along, you will revisit other old letters from the pen pal, and you will make some choices (hmm, this was how I replied her letter...). The choices will determine how the ending chapters turn out. There are 5 endings (only 3 available in first playthru), all seem logical (though some are really out there). It's easy plat, subsequent playthrus allow you to skip over most of the chapters (just need to reply to pen pal letters). Some parts are QTE-like, feels like Ace Attorney game.

It's also a tourism promotion thing, where many locations in that beautiful place become the setting in the game and even real people (store owners etc) are in the game. Very charming game, makes me want to go visit 岛根.

WhiteHunter

I really like Root Letter, very interesting story. You found a bunch of old letters (snail mail!) from your pen pal from 10 (or something) years ago. You discovered there was one you didn't read back then. In the letter your pen pal said farewell forever, becos she killed someone. So you start your journey to this place 岛根 in Japan to find out what happened. The story gets more interesting when, the first place you went, you found that the pen pal already died.. 15 years ago.

As you go along, you will revisit other old letters from the pen pal, and you will make some choices (hmm, this was how I replied her letter...). The choices will determine how the ending chapters turn out. There are 5 endings (only 3 available in first playthru), all seem logical (though some are really out there). It's easy plat, subsequent playthrus allow you to skip over most of the chapters (just need to reply to pen pal letters). Some parts are QTE-like, feels like Ace Attorney game.

It's also a tourism promotion thing, where many locations in that beautiful place become the setting in the game and even real people (store owners etc) are in the game. Very charming game, makes me want to go visit 岛根.

sounds interesting. how long is the game?

PierceLee

sounds interesting. how long is the game?
Cant remember clearly, I think first playthru about 6 hrs where you explore everything, click everywhere (it's point and click interface). Subsequent about 0.5-1 hr, skipping everything. Would suggest playing the first time without using guide, without caring about trophies.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.