[GE2025] Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC

ShinnAsuka

Wont ask bishan to vote oppo, but, expect more train disruptions and no “over”maintenance despite fare hikes!

carlongerdidu93

Foreign influence? Thanks, but no thanks: SPP
https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/ge2025-campaigning-day-5-general-election-5090656

Responding to reports of foreign influence this election, Singapore People's Party (SPP) chief Steve Chia said: "Thanks, but no thanks."

"We believe Singaporeans are stronger than them and knowledgeable," he said.

Singaporeans will not play the race or religion card in politics, he added, citing the maturity of the nation’s electorate 60 years into its independence.

During a walkabout at Toa Payoh West Market & Food Centre, Mr Chia called for a minute of the breakfast crowd's time.

“Let’s make our ministers work hard,” he bellowed to diners. “We will spend time to listen to you and your concerns, and work hard to improve the lives of Singaporeans.”

mnritp1Y7NiE6BcpUCst.jpeg

Singapore People's Party candidates for Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC Melvyn Chiu, Steve Chia, Lim Rui Xian and Norhakim Norazahari speak to patrons at Toa Payoh West hawker centre on Apr 27, 2025. (Photo: CNA/Wallace Woon)

Commenting on Prime Minister Lawrence Wong's remarks last night - that now was not the time to take risks losing PAP candidates who are potential office holders - Mr Chia said turbulent times were precisely when more “alternative ideas” are needed in parliament. This would help to expand the conversation so that better ideas can evolve to help Singapore grow, he added.

The SPP has been ramping up its activities on podcasts and social media to reach more voters, although its main outreach is still centred on meeting residents in person.

“People want to see your face. They want to see you physically. And when they see us, they connect with us,” said Mr Chia.

To appeal to younger voters, the team is also leveraging the strengths of its younger candidates, Mr Muhammad Norhakim, 31, and Mr Lim Rui Xian, 37, who the party believes can better understand the lifestyles and needs of a young electorate.

The pair, along with Mr Chia and Mr Melvyn Chiu, are contesting Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC, where they face a PAP slate led by Transport Minister Chee Hong Tat.

Shion

Senior Mentor

GE2025: PAP newcomer used to feel that party was 'paternalistic', until meetings with Shanmugam and others changed her view​

Charity director Elysa Chen, who is contesting Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC under the PAP banner, recalled how her career path took a different turn after she covered a news story about a broken family as a journalist.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/tod...er-paternalistic-elysa-chen-shanmugam-5090181

grevq80o

It was a similar case with Chiong Kee Hiong (CKH)... a low-profile yes-man for this GRC.

Can't say he contributed much back when the GRC was a 5-man team - let alone the last run after GE2020.

He did get "arrowed" to be the "Green Ambassador" for the GRC - but again, that one is not a pivotal role in the running of the day-to-day affairs of the GRC.

So, needless to say, this upcoming election we are seeing all these low-profile guys who did not do much but adopt a "passup homework" mentality MPs, get the axe from the higher-ups in the party, and not be allowed to run for GE2025.

And I daresay the other MP Saktiandi - was equally a yes-man as CKH, and equally a "passup homework" kind of guy for the GRC.

It was a toss-up between either one of them to face the axe and have the new candidate replace them...
but for some reason PAP must've realised the Singh does not give PAP good optics - and it would be better to retain Saktiandi as a rallying face for the Malays staying in the GRC.

So, CKH got the boot. This is the reason why.
I stay in Lor 8 tpy. That Supaat guy is the laziest. He ask Gan Siow Huang, MP for Marymount to visit his residents (i.e. me) on his behalf. Totally not responsible.

carlongerdidu93

GE2025: Foreign influence? Thanks, but no thanks: SPP

Responding to reports of foreign influence this election, Singapore People's Party (SPP) chief Steve Chia said Singaporeans will not play the race or religion card in politics, adding that the nation's electorate is a mature one.

Commenting on PM Lawrence Wong's remarks on Saturday night that now was not the time to take risks losing PAP candidates who could be potential office holders, Mr Chia said turbulent times were precisely when more “alternative ideas” are needed in parliament.

He also gave his thoughts on GST in light of cost of living concerns among voters this #GE2025. #singapore #sgnews

carlongerdidu93

GE2025 FULL INTERVIEW: The SPP Episode (with Steve Chia) | Ep 6

In this party-centric episode of our GE2025 Special, Mr. Steve Chia from the Singapore People’s Party (SPP) joins us to introduce the party to our community.

He also unpacks SPP’s plans to fight for Singapore's future, including their proposals to support young families, make public transport work for people over profit, and ensure every voice counts in Singapore’s future.

Blacky

I stay in Lor 8 tpy. That Supaat guy is the laziest. He ask Gan Siow Huang, MP for Marymount to visit his residents (i.e. me) on his behalf. Totally not responsible.
Lots of good food around that area!

I believed that GRC is a stronghold due to NEH right? IF CHT is also good in serving his contituents there, then it will still remain under PAP as the oppo is quite low profile to me

Unless the residents there are damn pissed at CHT due to transport issues like the ever increasing transport fares & frequent breakdowns, high COEs etc & decided to do something about it.
https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/how-ive-performed-so-far-singaporeans-decide-chee-hong-tat-his-first-year-transport-minister

grevq80o

I believed that GRC is a stronghold due to NEH right? IF CHT is also good in serving his contituents there, then it will still remain under PAP as the oppo is quite low profile to me

Unless the residents there are damn pissed at CHT due to transport issues like the ever increasing transport fares & frequent breakdowns, high COEs etc & decided to do something about it.
https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/how-ive-performed-so-far-singaporeans-decide-chee-hong-tat-his-first-year-transport-minister

Minister is lousy but the town council here is very good. It was built up by Wong Kan Seng, who did a great deal to this GRC over the years.

Really, these MPs r totally getting free rides le ... Unfair but ish reality... PAP legacy is real.

Blacky

Minister is lousy but the town council here is very good. It was built up by Wong Kan Seng, who did a great deal to this GRC over the years.

Really, these MPs r totally getting free rides le ... Unfair but ish reality... PAP legacy is real.
Wow....... that's ages ago! Tot NEH might have some effect there. Perhaps he gave strict instructions to the town council, or perhaps the staff there were glad to be working under him. We may never know.

Being grateful is 1 thing, but voting is also what 1 hopes to see in the near future too. Sadly, most people only know being grateful. Then after that, they will still kpkb about the high COL :ROFLMAO:

grevq80o

Wow....... that's ages ago! Tot NEH might have some effect there. Perhaps he gave strict instructions to the town council, or perhaps the staff there were glad to be working under him. We may never know.

Being grateful is 1 thing, but voting is also what 1 hopes to see in the near future too. Sadly, most people only know being grateful. Then after that, they will still kpkb about the high COL :ROFLMAO:
No le. Ng is also free rider.
The system is built and autorun by Wong Kan Seng. My neighbor downstairs used to be RC chairman in the 1990s i.e. grassroot...He was contractor, so do a lot of biz w the town council... A lot of grassroots built this GRC from ground up and they stay right here in Bishan tpy... Which in fact is the best HDB new town in the 1990s... Btw last time Bishan and Marymount are lumped together. Tpy is stand alone GRC.

Comage

Let's not forget this episode:

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/sin...ce-report-fy2023-bishan-toa-payoh-mnd-4800066

The town council did not obtain ministerial approval before starting works on non-common property and disbursing funds for three projects. The required ministerial approval was only sought and given to the town council retrospectively.

Pay out the resident's/taxpayer's money first - ask questions later, ya?

One whole FY for 2023/2024, the "oversight" happened repeatedly - the MP can still continue BAU and claim they were not aware, is it?

So is the Town Council staff the liars and cheats? Or the MPs?

Comage

Funny how this discussion went into 20+ pages initially, and then after I called out the people who left only useless/meaningless comments - who don't even pass by this GRC (let alone stay near/around this GRC)... suddenly everything went quiet.

You threw up a lot of what-if scenarios that applies to almost every other existing MNC/GRC.

If the guy did good, he should be voted back in.
Unless the guy did bad, then he will be voted out.

So, what is your point here?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.