focus1974

confirmed PAP win one ..

now the situation is ..
between opposition and pap is..

upper chess cannot win upper chess.
ie like for like, the pap will win.

so the strategy should be .. like this. avoid top chess and focus on weak chess.
Yes, there are Chinese phrases and sayings that perfectly capture this strategic idea of avoiding direct, unwinnable confrontations and wisely deploying resources against weaker points.

Two highly relevant ones come to mind:

1. 避实就虚 (Bì Shí Jiù Xū):
    • Meaning: Avoid the enemy's strengths and attack their weaknesses. "避实" means to avoid the "solid" or strong points; "就虚" means to approach the "empty" or weak points.
    • Application: In your political context, this means the opposition should avoid directly challenging the PAP where they are strongest (their most senior candidates in their safest GRCs – the "实") and instead target constituencies or issues where the PAP is weaker, less popular, or more vulnerable (the "虚"). It's about finding the cracks in the opponent's armor rather than trying to bash through their most fortified wall.
  2. 田忌赛马 (Tián Jì Sài Mǎ):
    • Meaning: This is a famous historical anecdote about a strategy used by Tian Ji in a horse racing bet against a king. The races were in three tiers (superior, middle, inferior horses). The king would pit his superior against Tian Ji's superior, his middle against Tian Ji's middle, etc., and always won. Tian Ji's strategist advised him to change the matchups: use his inferior horse against the king's superior, his superior horse against the king's middle, and his middle horse against the king's inferior. Tian Ji lost the first race but won the next two, winning the overall bet.
    • Application: This idiom directly relates to strategic matching of capabilities (candidates/horses) against the opponent's capabilities across different contests (constituencies/races). It suggests you don't necessarily put your strongest candidate against their strongest if that matchup guarantees a loss. Instead, you strategically deploy your candidates against the opponent's candidates in different seats to maximize your overall chances of winning some seats, even if it means sacrificing a win in a particular head-to-head race you couldn't win anyway.
Both phrases are highly applicable to the political strategy of a challenger party against a dominant incumbent, emphasizing smart allocation of limited resources (top candidates) to achieve breakthroughs where they are most feasible, rather than engaging in high-profile but ultimately unwinnable battles. 避实就虚 is a general principle, while 田忌赛马 offers a more specific illustration of the matching strategy.

tanbrave

confirmed PAP win one ..

now the situation is ..

so the strategy should be .. like this. avoid top chess and focus on weak chess.
Yes, there are Chinese phrases and sayings that perfectly capture this strategic idea of avoiding direct, unwinnable confrontations and wisely deploying resources against weaker points.

1. 避实就虚 (Bì Shí Jiù Xū):
    • Meaning: Avoid the enemy's strengths and attack their weaknesses. "避实" means to avoid the "solid" or strong points; "就虚" means to approach the "empty" or weak points.
    • Application: In your political context, this means the opposition should avoid directly challenging the PAP where they are strongest (their most senior candidates in their safest GRCs – the "实") and instead target constituencies or issues where the PAP is weaker, less popular, or more vulnerable (the "虚"). It's about finding the cracks in the opponent's armor rather than trying to bash through their most fortified wall.
    • Meaning: This is a famous historical anecdote about a strategy used by Tian Ji in a horse racing bet against a king. The races were in three tiers (superior, middle, inferior horses). The king would pit his superior against Tian Ji's superior, his middle against Tian Ji's middle, etc., and always won. Tian Ji's strategist advised him to change the matchups: use his inferior horse against the king's superior, his superior horse against the king's middle, and his middle horse against the king's inferior. Tian Ji lost the first race but won the next two, winning the overall bet.
    • Application: This idiom directly relates to strategic matching of capabilities (candidates/horses) against the opponent's capabilities across different contests (constituencies/races). It suggests you don't necessarily put your strongest candidate against their strongest if that matchup guarantees a loss. Instead, you strategically deploy your candidates against the opponent's candidates in different seats to maximize your overall chances of winning some seats, even if it means sacrificing a win in a particular head-to-head race you couldn't win anyway.
Both phrases are highly applicable to the political strategy of a challenger party against a dominant incumbent, emphasizing smart allocation of limited resources (top candidates) to achieve breakthroughs where they are most feasible, rather than engaging in high-profile but ultimately unwinnable battles. 避实就虚 is a general principle, while 田忌赛马 offers a more specific illustration of the matching strategy.
Apply Art of War to Sinkieland, don't think relevant.We is not under Mao, thought.Rather internet and media influencer.

confirmed PAP win one ..

now the situation is ..

1. 避实就虚 (Bì Shí Jiù Xū):
田忌赛马 (Tián Jì Sài Mǎ):--but the poor guy head will roll

tanbrave

Likely pap will win la.

Also the BG quite on the ground, not like your other joker mp
The citizens of Marymount are not under army rule.Citizen's right are above army,we don't sedia suka suka. You like army,sign on lah, don't sedia in Edmw,we ish free. Anyway after cotton Chan and umbrage Ng ,those parachuters not suitable for ruling us,go run a business, then run it to the ground.

Jos_stick

Mancunian2

Could be very tough for PSP, because many HDB flats in the vicinity just underwent HIP, and the common areas are upgraded. so residents may vote for PAP.

The PAP candidate is also very active in grassroot activities. Seen her twice on house visits, and many times at other festive celebrations.

PSP has it cut out for them.
since upgrading already done , no use for pap anymore
vote them out so that they will try harder next time ....

use and discard,
do to them what they do to sinkies :s13:

angelichound

Actually, I will do it if I am Ah Bock.
Unfortunately, I dun see it happening.
Seems like the old man is gunning for a GRC.
It is a HUGE gamble for a party without securing a SMC first.
Some things in life you cannot skip.
Sinkie are not that risk taking.

none of the SMC they contested in came close to winning

PSP is taking less risk by pinning their hopes on WC-JW GRC

this election is PSP is potentially facing a wipe out , they need to win if they want to continue to have a presence in parliment .

there won't be NCMP this time round

tanbrave

none of the SMC they contested in came close to winning

PSP is taking less risk by pinning their hopes on WC-JW GRC

this election is PSP is potentially facing a wipe out , they need to win if they want to continue to have a presence in parliment .

there won't be NCMP this time round
Ncmp no more? Flip flop again.Whose Idea 💡..

sg-united

PSP will not be able to win unless HP or LMW is the candidate. Nobody knows who is the fish is Jeff.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.