[GE2025] PSP Discussion thread

krikering

can we list how many speeches have been done by PAP MPs during these past five years?

Darrel David?
Don't say Daryl David, even those supposedly "on-the-ground" MPs like TPL, Baey and SXL, etc. also did not speak out much for Singaporean on the national politics level (Policies-making)?

For MPs like Liang Eng Hwa, Rachel Ong and Lily Neo, etc. can cut them some slack for not doing so, as they not holding any notable portfolios, etc. and they generally quite quiet and never attack opposition.

Louis Ng is a rarity amongst PAP MPs in this regard amongst all the current PAP MPs, thus he had to go as asked too many tough questions.

I hope West Coast GRC residents can do their part to vote LMW/TCB/Hazel Poa and team in, for at least the next 5 years as Proper MPs (not NCMPs).

I will do my very small part as a MP GRC resident too (since I only 1 vote).

I also donated over a thousand dollars to to WP/PSP/SDP thus far.
*(Not alot, but just doing the best that I can to support them).

Char_Kuey

its not throwing away money if he has yet to earn it. sure, the 13k is an opportunity cost. but im just suggesting he doesnt need more money, especially if he values serving the country more than just reaping in MP salary and zuobo. he probably has deep enough pockets as a former investment banker.

why does he fight when he loses? as peasants, we would pick battles that we are sure to win.

but hes already a winner in life. he sees challenges and a purpose and he fights for us. wheres the wrong in that?

essentially. you and i cant judge him. we are peasants. hes above us and has a calling to serve. dont bring him down to our level
he is willing to voice against the ruling party and address the key questions singaporeans or the young working force have in mind but are not addressed for many years.. that is purpose itself already

agree with what you said

Unic0rn

Over the past five years, NCMPs Hazel Poa Koon Koon 潘群勤 and Leong Mun Wai 梁文辉 have made the following contributions to Parliament:
● More than 700 Parliamentary Questions
● ⁠8 Private Member's Motions
● ⁠6 Adjournment Motions
● ⁠2 Parliamentary Petitions
● ⁠1 Private Member's Bill
● More than 30 speeches on proposed legislation
PSP has fought hard for Singaporeans.
NCMP salary only $2.4k/month (unlike 16k for full MPs).
Yet, he has consistently voiced out for the people, asked questions that were in people's mind. Get ridiculed and insulted by powerful ministers, forced to swallow the humble pie just so that he could continue his work in the parliament.

Sacrificed time, effort and dignity.
Risked his reputation, life and family privacy.
All for ZERO guarantee of any political future.
Please for goodness sake and common sense give these two well deserving NCMP more funding, both has performed beyond their weight and has performed better than many if not most full member of Parliament.

if given a choice I would have Hazel Poa Koon Koon 潘群勤 as my deputy Prime Minister and Leong Mun Wai 梁文辉 Prime Minister

Char_Kuey

Interesting to see PAP to get a NCMP seat.
images

David Lai

If they are out,
GOODLUCK TO SINGAPOREANS.
More FTs
More rising cost.
Higher utilities bills.
Higher COE.
Higher BTO.
Higher GST.
Most importantly no one dare to challenge pap. Even WP sometimes.

Disclaimer: I am a FT & I must admit LMW is a gem politician willing to listen and voice. Rare in politics nowadays.
if its a clean sweep for the pappies, the above list is gonna be longer, and no one can stop them…
even if they ownself post a question, the uncontestable answer will be “sinkies have given us FULL mandate”…
chui tat lan…

Char_Kuey

For some reason, the incumbent don't like people who rock the boat and ask tough questions...

On the other hand, keep asking Sinkies to be innovative and dare to venture...
very on point

it's been going on for years already and they never bothered to even question how come their approach never made it to fruition

hot air requests to sinkie to chiong headfirst 🤷‍♂️

Jurong640

The 505 market renovation saga probably has to do with the hawker seats being too cramp? If it's other saga then idunno liao
Not just the seats being cramp. The other issue is the ceiling fans. They refused to install ceiling fans at the food area.

Why I said the strong word refused, is because I've spoken to the contractors on site after the re-opening. I asked them why never install the ceiling fans, like those big ass fans like other hawker centres.
The contractor replied to me, "we asked them to, we have it ready to install, but they don't want it".

Back to the picture, the fans were installed in the wet market and the sides where those selling dried food were, just not the eating food area.

Only last month, they finally installed small ceiling fans after so much complaints and delayed so long. But then, as the market is quite compact, it's still very hot. We need the big ass fans.

The contractors there told me, they wanted to install big ones, but they (the management) don't want. It got me thinking and people around me thinking, why did the management reject the idea of big ass fans. If they were to reject fans, why were fans installed at the wet market area and the dried food areas but not the food eating areas. And then later, after pressure, install small ceiling fans.

Char_Kuey

I like LMW, need sometime to get used to his style but started to have interest due to the hot mic situation and I think he gets better with his questioning and he is not paiseh to ask the hard questions

the content of his questions are what made him exceptional

it's just he is not a very good english debater that's why keep getting bullied in the past

Char_Kuey

As NCMP, they already field so many question in parliament

Many MP is get high remuneration but never do their job

Vote them in rather than wait for another 5 years
undeniable accomplishments

really hope he gets in formally, those who like to xl him in the past sure llst

krikering

not really. isn't he the bloke who go and argue that HDB should sell flats at cost price? that sort of nonsense.. don't see how that is valuable

No choice, then what about those who want to buy new flats but not eligible for BTO due to the ridiculous stringent criteria?

7k a month as the ceiling, does anyone think that it is a lot given how high the cost of living are?

If nobody suggests anything, then people like us who wants to buy a flat will forever find it hard to do so, unless we empty our own and parents' CPFs.

Singapore is such an expensive country to live in now, our social safety net is close to being the worst amongst developed countries.

At least in other countries, you get high taxes you get affordable healthcare and housing in return.

Why do you think the likes of Paul Tambayh and Harpreet Singh did not fit what PAP was looking for?

Here is lots of indirect taxes etc.g COE/ERP, etc.

Petrol prices, etc. also keep going up but never go down one whereas in other countries, they adjust according to the supply at the point of time.

If the current situation don't change, then alot of people can only just wait until parents pass away then inherit the HDB and continue staying with siblings until 99 years lease expire then or they die before that.

If you want to blame anybody, can blame MBT since he is the one which created this entire mess in the first place. LW once was the head of MND, he too did nothing same as the current head Desmond Lee.

He even restricted the building of new BTO flats at 1 point of time.

Char_Kuey

LMW and Hazel earns a lots of respect from the public for what they've contributed in the parliaments.
real legends

the fielded questions really hit the heart amongst many sinkies out there, real issues raised

not those administrative façade just to keep the parliament running

Char_Kuey

No choice, then what about those who want to buy new flats but not eligible for BTO due to the ridiculous stringent criteria?

7k a month as the ceiling, does anyone think that it is a lot given how high the cost of living are?

If nobody suggests anything, then people like us who wants to buy a flat will forever find it hard to do so, unless we empty our own and parents' CPFs.

Singapore is such an expensive country to live in now, our social safety net is close to being the worst amongst developed countries.

At least in other countries, you get high taxes you get affordable healthcare and housing in return.

Why do you think the likes of Paul Tambayh and Harpreet Singh did not fit what PAP was looking for?

Here is lots of indirect taxes etc.g COE/ERP, etc.

Petrol prices, etc. also keep going up but never go down one whereas in other countries, they adjust according to the supply at the point of time.

If the current situation don't change, then alot of people can only just wait until parents pass away then inherit the HDB and continue staying with siblings until 99 years lease expire then or they die before that.

If you want to blame anybody, can blame MBT since he is the one which created this entire mess in the first place. LW once was the head of MND, he too did nothing same as the current head Desmond Lee.

He even restricted the building of new BTO flats at 1 point of time.
You raised another strong point there..

their census sleeping? How many sinkies earning above that amount just to stay alive (IIRC grab delivery posted they earn 8k already) and they keeping the bar there yet only remember to raise the CPF ceiling (coincidentally/conveniently) 🤷‍♂️

Char_Kuey

last elections they were quite unknown character...
now 5 yrs riaos, see sinkie eyes open or not...
if not really no hope le
ish daft to the core
exactly

really cannot judge people based on what paper-based achievement la, whether got mbbs or not la

they really perform very well as member of parliament and deserve a spot to decide what is right for sinkies

Asphodeli

Not just the seats being cramp. The other issue is the ceiling fans. They refused to install ceiling fans at the food area.

Why I said the strong word refused, is because I've spoken to the contractors on site after the re-opening. I asked them why never install the ceiling fans, like those big ass fans like other hawker centres.
The contractor replied to me, "we asked them to, we have it ready to install, but they don't want it".

Back to the picture, the fans were installed in the wet market and the sides where those selling dried food were, just not the eating food area.

Only last month, they finally installed small ceiling fans after so much complaints and delayed so long. But then, as the market is quite compact, it's still very hot. We need the big ass fans.

The contractors there told me, they wanted to install big ones, but they (the management) don't want. It got me thinking and people around me thinking, why did the management reject the idea of big ass fans. If they were to reject fans, why were fans installed at the wet market area and the dried food areas but not the food eating areas. And then later, after pressure, install small ceiling fans.
siaolang management...i recall the 505 market just finished reno in dec 2024/jan2025 right? town council ran out of $?

Jurong640

siaolang management...i recall the 505 market just finished reno in dec 2024/jan2025 right? town council ran out of $?
I don't think it's running out of money. They have a set of money for the 3 month renovation. But it's how they manage the money to redesign the market.

The market, pre reno and post-reno, frankly speaking, no changes. It got worst, seats lesser, more cramp, lesser seats. The tray return area hidden. Floors still wet as usual.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.