[GE2025] PSP Discussion thread

popdod

Might be his great disappointment this year too.

always so near yet so far. :(

glarerder

The upcoming general election will likely be Progress Singapore Party (PSP) founder and chairman Tan Cheng Bock’s last, and if voted in, he will play a mentor role to a younger team who will look after the constituency.

“If we get elected, there will be this young team that will take care, and we have already put in place what to do, for example, starting the town council… all these have been identified,” he told CNA on Sunday (Apr 20).

“I will probably have to manage slightly differently, but I guess it won’t be a problem. As I always say, I want to mentor as many young people as possible,” he added.

Dr Tan, who turns 85 on Saturday, was speaking on the sidelines of his party’s walkabout at Taman Jurong Market and Food Centre.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/ge2025-tan-cheng-bock-psp-last-election-5076626
When LKY stood for GE in his 80s, he got in and also as mentor. Can see Dr Tan do similar or even better as he's of better health than the late LKY back then.

Unic0rn

I like PSP secretary 👨🏻‍💼 Mr Leong Mun Wai he is super good 👍🏼 I wish he can (one day) be our PM sooner than later because he is not young anymore .

tanbrave

Change your thread title's Wisely to wisely, else later someone ask you who is Wisely from PSP.
Got it and got you! Wisely ISH from here.Lucky,tot is Miv is Wise, but, they said and act, dramatically different. So can sleep, rest well, knowing Wisely ISH borned here, will sarport, for this erection.Wisely for MP, for whichever, whatever GRC, SMC,due to Gerry Mandeep active in this area.Wisely for my MP.Huat ah !

Medicated Oil

Mentor a strong team to challenge PAP policies is what people want.
My thought for them is still through the traditional route cos sinkie dun take big risk.
If he is successful in this bid, then he will make history.
Or else he will be history in the party.

PSP only got LMW and HP this round.
If they dun get into the House next season to fire rounds, then their efforts during the last season is totally wasted.
I am pissed over his decision to chiong for the GRC for his attempt for his own last swam song.
I see it as self over party.

parchiao

My thought for them is still through the traditional route cos sinkie dun take big risk.

If they dun get into the House next season to fire rounds, then their efforts during the last season is totally wasted.

I guess they cannot just leave and go somewhere else.

If PAP was smarter, they could have carved out the old Ayer Rajah as a SMC.

But PAP wants to have the cake and eat it too.

I think PSP chances is no less stronger thanks to LMW and HP performance.

And if you look back a bit, PAP won West Coast by 78.57% in 2015, which fell to 51.68% in 2020.

So gerrymandering is not guaranteed a winning strategy for PAP.

Medicated Oil

I guess they cannot just leave and go somewhere else.

If PAP was smarter, they could have carved out the old Ayer Rajah as a SMC.

But PAP wants to have the cake and eat it too.

I think PSP chances is no less stronger thanks to LMW and HP performance.

And if you look back a bit, PAP won West Coast by 78.57% in 2015 vs WP, which fell to 51.68% in 2020.

So gerrymandering is not guaranteed a winning strategy for PAP.
The percentage in 2020 would have given TCB some confidence that he will close the deal this time.
I dunno what population demography change that the area experienced for the past 4 years.
And whether the existing advisors are doing a good job in their respective areas.

As I was sharing in various threads, they MUST get into the HOUSE this time if they want to continue their legacy and party survival.
Going all in is a huge gamble.
The price of victory is great.
The price of defeat is also too costly.

I dun really have faith in sinkie for chionging.

parchiao

The percentage in 2020 would have given TCB some confidence that he will close the deal this time.
I dunno what population demography change that the area experienced for the past 4 years.
And whether the existing advisors are doing a good job in their respective areas.

As I was sharing in various threads, they MUST get into the HOUSE this time if they want to continue their legacy and party survival.
Going all in is a huge gamble.
The price of victory is great.
The price of defeat is also too costly.

I dun really have faith in sinkie for chionging.

I on the other hand have trust Sinkies will bring PSP across the line.

:) (y)

Newtype_com

Let's recall the number of times Whiteys went all their way out to BLOCK and DENY Mr TCB

1) Changed 2016 Presidential Election to reserved for Malay Candidate
2) Increased Capital Requirements for experience from civil office holders and private sector
3) Gerrymandering and destroyed the previous GRC which PSP and TCB did very well and spent many time walking the ground

Anyone who cannot see this injustice, pls touch your heart and open your eyes to see

West Side, BEST Side!
Give your vote for democracy!!!

jeffrey745

I am pissed over his decision to chiong for the GRC for his attempt for his own last swam song.
I see it as self over party.

Actually I was thinking that TCB would not stand for this GE due to his age.

Let his younger members take over helming the grc and win on their own merits

sbv7230

No opposition in Singapore has ever won a GRC without any prior experience of running a SMC. Low Thia Khiang runs Hougang TC for 20 years before moving to Aljunied. His experience in running Hougang TC gave Aljunied residents the confidence to vote for his team. PSP should send its star candidates to capture a SMC first to show voters what they can do before gunning for a GRC. I am afraid PSP will be completely wiped out in this GE, hope to be proven wrong though.
The problem is people with your mindset will hold back the true representation of current issues that have been happening during the past few years.
The party is clean and transparent with capable candidates to represent the people who are facing challenges in this current situation.
Hope they can get the opportunity to show their mettle and prove all the naysayers wrong.

BohemianSG

Actually i find that his ego quite big. Whenever he talks, there is a huge ego element and sometimes seems disconnected.

uptownman

he is wasting oppo's votes. should have just join workers party and make it stronger.

hdsouza

If this PSP team really pull it off, I think Dr Tan will be the oldest ever MP being elected into parliament in Singapore :o

You forgot the political gangster LKY leeching taxpayers in his final term? :ROFLMAO:

Nevermind the fact he was still a part of the Cabinet (he only stepped down a week after the 2011 GE) and had not been attending MPS for years before that...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.