[GE2025] Punggol GRC

Justbear

Can only say her PR and marketing strategies work. Just take a bus past PW to see the many huge banners and even wall murals featuring her and her "achievements" which discerning residents will know they are just announcements or updates. But most may not.
80% probably her runner work, she just 20% will do in her ward. Not sure what had she contributed in Nation level?

valkyrie112

80% probably her runner work, she just 20% will do in her ward. Not sure what had she contributed in Nation level?

Heard she just make appearance and pose for nice photos.

But alas, the odds seem against the new WP team. Hope the residents there can see this beyond SMC/GRC.

matrix05

u see the age demographics. bloomers only 9%

21-65 majority.

Maybe this is why WP abandon MP& EC to move to new town with younger demography. WP tasted surprised success with SK. Punggol is younger than SK.

Velton

The sheer number of NC there and middle-class who are whacked by high cost of living and the bad jams during peak hours in the morning. Got good chance here will turn blue.

Jacy_Phang

Stayed at Punggol for almost 2 years liao...b4 that was at SK- RV..yes, the last GE I went with the hammer n was never a white supporter for my whole life..this time round, let just say if the pack of monkeys residing at SiT area running for the campaign, I will vote those monkeys instead.:crazy:

ST Optimist

Should invite them to try taking the MRT at morning peak. Let them experience what it is like going to work and then again coming home. LRT too. Can't even board at some stations as the trains are often full.
LRT schedule .....the pattern is 1 carriage then 2 carriage then 1 carriage 2 carriage at interval of around 2 min .....full is because u die die everytime want to squeeze in at the first carriage u see...if u just wait for the next one .....so much more spacious..

Justbear

LRT schedule .....the pattern is 1 carriage then 2 carriage then 1 carriage 2 carriage at interval of around 2 min .....full is because u die die everytime want to squeeze in at the first carriage u see...if u just wait for the next one .....so much more spacious..
also the birds issues. last sunday cycle the waterway coast, so many rubbish in the canal. and of cos, that stupid flight noise.. really wait till 2030 meh?
that being said, on National level, have anyone of them raise the population issue in Parliament? 6.04M in Singapore, but 2.7M voting....

ZacharyA

Can only say her PR and marketing strategies work. Just take a bus past PW to see the many huge banners and even wall murals featuring her and her "achievements" which discerning residents will know they are just announcements or updates. But most may not.

You should not underestimate the younger demographic voters who are able to discern what are actual achievements and work done by the MP, and what are just rah rah with their face plastered on it, but actually the works of CCC / PA / RC / NC

MPs just be rated based on how helpful and approachable they are in resolving your municipal issues, through MPS, and how much they voice out your concerns through Parliament and get new laws / legislations to be passed in the residents' favor.

If they only grace events organised by PA / Grassroots, but don't voice out in Parliament or just a plain yes man, then might as well vote for Opposition - because anybody can complain and I'm sure Oppo can complain better.

ST Optimist

Cost of Living and Job Security is a national issue, not GRC / SMC specific.

She will not have the answer, but her party will, so they will ask you to vote for her on behalf of the party that will give you the solutions.

Meanwhile, if you want some municipal issues within Punggol GRC, she can try to help and coordinate with other agencies like HDB / LTA.

I still think voters should go for WP and buy 1 get 1 free
Cost of living n job security is not a national issue ...is a world issue .....u shd read world news whole world gana more retrenchment n job cutting after Trump tarriff on whole world ....

Vote WP only give WP free ride whole 5 yrs ask same questions like their peers....if different questions then govt no time do work liao.......everyday answer questions can liao ......WP job veri easy ........just seat back ask questions can liao.....Ask questions 1 person ask can liao....no need so many ppl ask same question

ZacharyA

also the birds issues. last sunday cycle the waterway coast, so many rubbish in the canal. and of cos, that stupid flight noise.. really wait till 2030 meh?
that being said, on National level, have anyone of them raise the population issue in Parliament? 6.04M in Singapore, but 2.7M voting....

Minus some in prison, and some who didn't vote previously and never get reinstated for voting this time round. Some travelling. And those below 21yo.

From 3.6m drop to 2.7m sounds plausible.

For every 2 sinkie, there is 1 amdk, and 1 PR for every 7 sinkie.
  • Singapore Citizens: 3.64 million
  • Permanent Residents (PRs): 0.54 million
  • Non-Residents: 1.86 million
  • Total Population: 6.04 million

ST Optimist

duno about waterway coast ....maybe still build in progress everything not 100% up yet .....
Ya ..... flight noise LL if choose to stay Punggol..but at least not every min every day ..... just once a while few second.....after awhile get use to it liao....

6 m. ..2 m foreigner/PR spouse/long term pass spouse now so many marry foreigner...lah which includes duno how many hundred thousand maid/construction workers/etc .....the rest below 21 cannot vote...

ST Optimist

Agree. Hope the voters will see SK as an example and not have to worry too much about municipal issues. We need more check and balance, and alternative voices in parliament.
So far the ones that make the loudest noise is LMW PSP . ....the one that make the most noise is Louis Ng PAP from Sembawang .......so u only need 2 person can liao......vote so many in for what .....seat back do nothing ask questions can liao sibo ? everyday ask questions answer questions then who do work?

ST Optimist

Ya I doubt they will continue this kind of effort after GE. The only person I met before do it consistently is LBW at khatib mrt.
Everyday stand there greet people then who do national/town work? Their work is stand there greet ppl?

coldish

He only appears at One Punggol for major events... I am in his ward..... never seen him in 10 years. 🤣

So far the ones that make the loudest noise is LMW PSP . ....the one that make the most noise is Louis Ng PAP from Sembawang .......so u only need 2 person can liao......vote so many in for what .....seat back do nothing ask questions can liao sibo ? everyday ask questions answer questions then who do work?
Ya just sleep in Parliament right? Or do part time jobs with 36 directorships.

ST Optimist

Agree. Hope the voters will see SK as an example and not have to worry too much about municipal issues. We need more check and balance, and alternative voices in parliament.
Simi see SK as example.....then whole Spore learn from SK example everybody vote opposition lah....why must pick Punggol...is it because Punggol ppl more stupid sibo ..

Jacy_Phang

duno about waterway coast ....maybe still build in progress everything not 100% up yet .....
Ya ..... flight noise LL if choose to stay Punggol..but at least not every min every day ..... just once a while few second.....after awhile get use to it liao....

6 m. ..2 m foreigner/PR spouse/long term pass spouse now so many marry foreigner...lah which includes duno how many hundred thousand maid/construction workers/etc .....the rest below 21 cannot vote...
Weekdays..630pm, 730pm n last flight is at 830pm..Saturday also have.. jet fuel must be damn cheap.

ST Optimist

Should tell DPM Gan straight into his face, do I look happy to u ? I won't be going to work at 630am if it wasn't for the cost of living and unforgiving bosses and fear of retrenchment in SG...
U dun like to go working at 630am...then how about wake up 4 am ...cross the border go Malaysia work then 10 pm come back again? 1 million Malaysia workers work in Spore .... causeway everytime jam....u buaysong 630 am.... .maybe next time can try 4 am wake up jam the other way ....from Spore to Malaysia

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.