[GE2025] SDP Discussion Thread

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

106gunner

Alot of blind supporters simply cannot fathom the fact that more doesn't equate to better.

Many counties are also facing low birth rates. Taiwan is prob even worse than us. But you dun see them open leg indiscriminately. Instead they focus on what they have, emphasize on Quality rather than Quantity. That's why they are global leader in chip making and R&D.

Smaller doesn't mean catastrophic disaster. It cud even lead to better quality of life, less crowded and less stress. With less stress, ppl are incentivised to procreate. Causation effect.

Precisely TW is also having low birth rates and Aging population

But why we dun see their gahmen doing what Pappie is doing?

After 60 years of influx of FW/FT, end up now sinkie have to resort to driving grab, food delivery, working as cleaner, security, hawker and nurses

Some graduates also have a hard time looking for jobs not to mention those mid career adults

paper_cut

Tell me which country have no aging population and no low birth rate?

Infact SG is not the only country with low birth rate and Aging population

Do you see other country with Aging population and low birth rates keeping using this slogan and keep bringing in foreigners?

SG is just a small dot in the world map, do we really need so many FT/FW here?

Resulting to overcrowded everywhere we went be it malls and transport is packed and cramp, to the extent of jobs are going to FT/FW rather than locals
I already told you that they are starting to as well. Learn to read.

standarture

We only need foreigners to survive because we made it so. All these neighbourhood malls need foreign workers.

focus1974

You go look at our birth rate first.

when you see swaths of underemployed singaporeans below 50 years old.
you cannot just look at birth rate.
You should also be thinking of how to prioritize giving them the pmet jobs first before you go hire foreigners.

Very hard to explain how entry level PMET positions also need to use foreigners.

coyote

After 60 years of ruling whom the gahmen we have voted keep emphasising Singapore need foreigners to survive

It was mention in CNA

is this the party you looking for?

So you are saying CSJ agreed with the incumbent that we need foreigners?

Jeremy1

Yes, I agreed that we need foreigners to survive cause you can see those cheap labours are helping up with our infrastructure here which no Singaporean are willing to work.

But then I think those higher level job positions should be offered first to Singaporeans instead ☝️

paper_cut

when you see swaths of underemployed singaporeans below 50 years old.
you cannot just look at birth rate.
You should also be thinking of how to prioritize giving them the pmet jobs first before you go hire foreigners.

Very hard to explain how entry level PMET positions also need to use foreigners.
I just feel singaporeans have been too protected im the past and are thus not hungry enough anymore, thats why. We have to keep competing on global stage to survive. We are a open trade country and you cannot expect us to close off like china or malaysia if needed. They have resources.

paper_cut

I just feel singaporeans have been too protected im the past and are thus not hungry enough anymore, thats why. We have to keep competing on global stage to survive. We are a open trade country and you cannot expect us to close off like china or malaysia if needed. They have resources.
But that being said, of cos still got foreigners who only hire their own. Already got control measures but need more lah.

paper_cut

Dont need to red herring and strawman.

all 1st world cities have large decline in population and birth rates.... JP and Korea especially.

yet you dont see them importing large amounts .....
They are starting to. You got go japan recently?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.