[GE2025] SDP Discussion Thread

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

daveteo88

Think of policies like your shower tap , it can be turn from slow trickle to full shower , from cold to hot.
Understand this difference. Nobody rejects foreigners and PRs, but we certainly need to let them know their place in society. Quite amusing to have PRs for more than 5 years and not take up citizenships. Don't let people exploit your PR previlege like that. (this one is another issue.)

Now.. the statement here for you to digest.

Policies should be using foreigners and PRs to COMPLEMENT the shortfall in singaporeans workforce.

China and US and Europe actively protects their jobs from foreign workforce as well.
Their locals are too well protected and not hungry anymore?
Know their place? A lot of pr very yaya. They even hold jobs above local and can order them around.

Piped Piper

We have been importing “talents” over the last 20 years but we never enforced tech transfer to singaporeans like how china did wherby all foreign MNCs must enter into a joint venture with a Chinese company.

End result? We got more and more expensive to hire without producing innovation. And this is nothing about being hungry or not hungry. How hungry do you want singaporeans to be when they are already disadvantaged at the starting line?

Saying singaporeans are not hungry enough is simply brushing aside and downplaying a structural systemic issue as something that can be solved on an individual level.

i have a feeling those who keep on harp about singaporeans being not hungry enough are either business owners who are vested in keeping their labor costs down or boomers/gen-x who went through 5.5 days workweek and have the mindset that “just because i suffered, you must suffer too”

Eliwood

IB, listen to this truth

BUILDING smaller and smaller HDB at higher at higher prices are NOT conducive for procreation

IB, don't twist this fact

NOBODY is saying aliens FTs PRs are no good but the message is TOO many aliens FTs PRs are certainly no good

IB, don't conflagrate with the stupid statement that 3m+ aliens PRs FTs are ok

WHEN local born for 60 years is never more than 3m, having 3m+ aliens FTs PRs for 100% certainty is a very big sociological mistake

BTW NSF and NSR have no meaning when less than 3m local born are already infested with 3m+ aliens FTs PRs

the conclusion is white policies cause the low TFR and this is the truth

Since u r so all knowing, how come Japan and Korea with few FTs also have low TFR ar?

roflolmao

Sgp has vastly different categories of foreigners.

-LOW-WAGE: need low-wage foreigners to fill low-wage jobs shunned by locals- agree.

-MID-INCOME: need foreigners who COMPETE with locals for jobs- disagree.

-HIGH EXPERTISE/industry shortage: need foreigners whose SPECIALIST EXPERTISE are lacking among locals-agree.
This is correct. I don't think most opposition parties are against immigration, but uncontrolled and not thoughtful immigration

pspandwp

On the quantity or quality part... i actually thought we need more blue collar workers to fill jobs that no Singaporeans want to do. We do not need more quality workers who is coming here to fill PMET jobs.

seriously, there is NEVER any job that no one wants to do if the pay is right

ANY job in sinkie small island paying white kind of S$m per annum, if it exists, the applicants queue for every one of these jobs shall run from Changi to Tuas

if there are no applicants for S$m per annum jobs, I cut

BTW look at white duplicity

whites say whites need to set S$m per annum for their jobs, if NOT, they cannot get people to fill them

so whites get all the money faced folks into their clan, example, grace fu who publicly has said she needs S$m per annum to maintain her standard of living

so imagine the lying of whites, who say need aliens FTs PRs to fill jobs no Singaporeans want to do

if white grace fu can say she needs S$m per annum to maintain her standard of living, and actually doing nothing that improves our lives

what makes whites think Singaporeans do NOT need S$m per annum to maintain their lives too?

THEREFORE

it is a white lie to say there are jobs no Singaporean wants to do

it is the truth that Singaporeans won't do, and I agree that they shouldn't do, if the pay is NOT commensurate with the job

MOREOVER, whites have priced everything out of this world, so, unless the pay is commensurate with local prices, even stupid IB MFs know it is a bad deal and will not do

GoneNuts

when you see swaths of underemployed singaporeans below 50 years old.
you cannot just look at birth rate.
You should also be thinking of how to prioritize giving them the pmet jobs first before you go hire foreigners.

Very hard to explain how entry level PMET positions also need to use foreigners.
U just look at who are the engineers on the ground or project engineers in construction can laio...

Is becos of easy access of FTs that made the situation like that...

When being agents or grab earn more than the conventional industry.. this is the downfall of the nation...

marksnow44

It should always be FTrashes be grateful can be here like that in US or Ozzie, because at home, they are nobody, no job, no $$$.
But PAP make them to LORD on us, so many instance they can anyhow scold Sinkies, said can kick out Sinkies and claim the Island.

Do we need this type of Ungrateful FTrashes?

Eliwood

There must always be a balance ..

Agree, but it is impt to articulate what balance we r talking about.

Are we saying we want to reduce the total work force in SG, meaning some existing companies must close down?

The issue here seems to be the ~3m foreigners in SG. If we were to reduce that to 1.5m, companies must definitely relocate cos i dun think current workforce can fill the gap.

But i dun mind gradual reduction of population. If productivity starts to increase because of AI, that may offer an opportunity to reduce SG population without significant adverse impact to the economy.

Eliwood

both the countries the IB has mentioned have smaller and smaller housing at higher and higher prices

PERIOD

Lol u mean u dunno housing in Japan is very cheap? Got threads in edmw saying Japan properties very cheap. So how?

Korea also has cheap rural housing.

Bumblebee Man

Wei your thread title a bit misleading. Ppl who didn't watch his speech may think he is advocating that...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.