[GE2025] SDP Discussion Thread

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

large.

It's exactly this mindset that deprive inexperienced sinkies a chance to even try out the job. If there's no opportunity to even learn, how do they get the experience needed.

There are however exceptions to certain roles that need technical knowledge which I do not deny.
I think one of the reason is our education system back in the 80s to early 2000s were focused too much on being theoretical than practical. How many times in those years you can hear teachers saying "go JC, don't go poly"? Even poly admission staff ask me why I go poly and not JC.

This mind set caused many people to think that book smart is more important than practical skills. This is the first way we lost people with technical knowledge. Secondly, our education system is slow to react to latest trends. Like for example, my poly course was IT related. That took 3 years. After 2 more years of NS, whatever I learnt there was almost irrelevant or was treated as the most basic knowledge in that era. So anyone who is not going for university will need to "study" again.

Last but not least, at least in our government, most technical related agencies are helmed by people without the specific domain knowledge. So what if they know coding? Some industries need to understand various international standards and specific processes. If these leaders are only dependent on the reports given to them, wrong decisions can be made very easily due to oversights in the reporting. This also caused many people to think, as long as I study well, get into civil service, I can get good salary. Never mind about having any related knowledge or skills.

doppypoppy

This is dumb. There are 24k electorate in Sembawang West.

Imagine if 1% of constituents want to see mp, the last person gotta wait 4hrs even if CSJ just takes 1 min for every person...
If the MPS opens Mon-Fri 12pm - 12am will take less than 2-3 hours wait time to see MP

Shion

Senior Mentor

GE2025: SDP chief Chee Soon Juan apologises for Gigene Wong's racial slur that Ariffin Sha calls appalling​

"I am the leader of the SDP and the buck stops with me," said Dr Chee Soon Juan, who issued Dr Gigene Wong a "stern warning" over the racial slur.

sdp_rally_8.jpg

SDP candidates bowing on stage after candidate Dr Gigene Wong used a racial slur to describe a teammate. (Photo: CNA/Ooi Boon Keong)

ServerGuySG

SDP never vet their candidates thoroughly one meh ? Why Gigene talk and think like common sinkie aunties and ah sohs in kopitiams also can join election and become MP one ?

foo9883

SDP never vet their candidates thoroughly one meh ? Why Gigene talk and think like common sinkie aunties and ah sohs in kopitiams also can join election and become MP one ?
dont vet candidates at least vet the script ma walao

Bumblebee Man

She went off script. And she was previously from psp stood against Amy khor in last election. CEO of some companies in china too, would expect some level of IQ.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.