[GE2025] SDP Discussion Thread

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

junlove

Actually only today then I know its racist also, never knew it since old ppl always use.

But I like how sincere and honest SDP are. Address the issue, make no excuses and apologise.

Better than keep wayang and keep it under wraps
when i was young, my mom also call my fren KLK, and my KLK friend is happily eating with me playing soccer downstairs, he called us chinese terms also, it's more like 'endearment' feeling and not racist.

but i would agree times have changed, and the auntie needs to be aware such terms can be misinterpreted these days.

but the issue is, in this exact situation, she meant no racism to her teammate, it's clear as the sky. But a mistake is a mistake, apologise is the right thing.

but when things like this gets blown out of proportion, gutter politics is coming back again. I am super disappointed, GE after GE, i thought we have moved forward in the quality of discussion... no change sia.

HushiePuppies

when i was young, my mom also call my fren KLK, and my KLK friend is happily eating with me playing soccer downstairs, he called us chinese terms also, it's more like 'endearment' feeling and not racist.

but i would agree times have changed, and the auntie needs to be aware such terms can be misinterpreted these days.

but the issue is, in this exact situation, she meant no racism to her teammate, it's clear as the sky. But a mistake is a mistake, apologise is the right thing.

but when things like this gets blown out of proportion, gutter politics is coming back again. I am super disappointed, GE after GE, i thought we have moved forward in the quality of discussion... no change sia.

the ariffin guy is also not some innocent chap.. he is founder of wakeupsingapore. their content also quite controversial huan. he also sibei woke.. think migrant workers are the good one.

want to watch him debate lim tean on jobs.

junlove

the ariffin guy is also not some innocent chap.. he is founder of wakeupsingapore. their content also quite controversial huan.
i don't care who ariffin is, sorry, i don't vote in SDP areas, just happened to see this incident and pointed out my views. I care about fair and balanced viewpoints, Ruling or Oppo i also ham tum if things are wrong.

Just that when every time when arguments spirals in wrong direction, i get very disappointed

Vicodin

the ariffin guy is also not some innocent chap.. he is founder of wakeupsingapore. their content also quite controversial huan. he also sibei woke.. think migrant workers are the good one.

want to watch him debate lim tean on jobs.

Glad he's gonna lose. Sinkies vote for him to speak up for sinkies he go speak about simi migrant workers.

junlove

So klk means comes from elsewhere huh?

I know Kia is like child. Keleng I dunno what it means
old people used terms like this, when i was young, my mom called my malay frens Huan Na kias, and indian frens KLKs also, she endears them and treats them well.

just that times have changed, and educated ppl don't use such slangs.

BohemianSG

Actually a lot of heartland boomer uncle aunties dunno the k word it is a racial slur.

junlove

back in my times, KLK is actually quite an endearing term that old ppl used, old people should remember.
******** Kwi (devil) then is the derogatory one, each of us also got difference terms one.

enimen

Being a politician is tough leh....

Any misspoken words could land you in hot water, get sacked or jailed even.....

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.