[GE2025] SDP Discussion Thread

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

krikering

Dire only to 10%. 90% homeowners is very happy now.
You know how many people have to resort to staying with their parents due to the fact they cannot afford a home?

And those that does, most are unable to pay one shot and thus have to pay additional interest rate too.
How many people have to empty their CPF or even their parents' CPFs just to afford a house.

Plus, the ridiculous long wait for BTOs for couples and also the few years spent on balloting.

Not everyone wants to live with their parents too, but are forced to due to a lack of choices. Personal space is linked to mental health.

hachi

You know how many people have to resort to staying with their parents due to the fact they cannot afford a home?

And those that does, most are unable to pay one shot and thus have to pay additional interest rate too.
How many people have to empty their CPF or even their parents' CPFs just to afford a house.

Plus, the ridiculous long wait for BTOs for couples and also the few years spent on balloting.

Not everyone wants to live with their parents too, but are forced to due to a lack of choices. Personal space is linked to mental health.
Even bto is 200k not many can pay one shot... Your sampling size?

titusilvering

With your statement we really need more PRs and hopefully they turned to NC
Cfm one. If they issue PR to those no skill no work no contribution people. Like that we really need change zenghu liao. Just like biden let criminals in

Akky85

Even bto is 200k not many can pay one shot... Your sampling size?
200K can la or at the very least, alot more reachable.

Compared to something like 550K++ for example. That one is literally impossible lol save for huge external injection of cash from somewhere, normally lao pei's wallet.

Ahboy72part2

Point 7. There are definitely more HBD home owners then would be buyers. Are you expecting all current home owners to accept that most of their HBD is going to be worth 50%-70% less now so that new buyers can buy a new BTO for 90-200K? Currently there are about 1.15M HDB, and every year got 20k new BTO. Make 1.15M household angry with your policy or make 20K new BTO buyers happy?

yesman2978

Then CPF accrued interest for housing loans how, owner pay from own pocket ah? They got tink properly anot ah? huan fixed value how chiu derived huan? Abitrary huan or huat?
Why not?

If buy car, willing to pay car loan interest from own pocket, why cannot pay housing loan interest?

Nobody forces buyers to use cpf to pay for housing.

Akky85

Then who will offer me 2mil for my HDB?
To be fair, if we are talking about NATURALIZED appreciation worth of local housing, not even the very best BTO + room size + location will fetch anything beyond 600K in today's climate.

Only reason why prices goes beyond is is predominately the population's greed to an extent. They are applying sales principles to an ''holding asset'' and due to that, unlike actual businesses that can produce what they are selling, most homeowners cannot. And that's really the only reason why prices even goes through the roof.

So if ppl wants to profit from BTOs all the time, you are gonna see gap spikes in prices every 5-10 years. And that has largely been true since this asset enhancement thing has started. The bad thing about this is, due to inflation, gap spikes in prices and the fact that salary/income is unable to keep up, there will come a point where future generations is totally unable to even buy a resale if they cannot get a BTO. And even if they can, they can sell off the BTO and get another resale and STILL end up participating in the obscene pricing circumstances as a BUYER.

So who can really REALLY retired?

yesman2978

There must be a difference between locations if not how to coax people to live in new towns?
Why need to coax?

If supply not enough, unless people want to wait forever, those with genuine housing needs will LLST guai guai move into new towns

Last time also liddat, no meh?

1980s central area like Queenstown Redhill, all fully built up liao, people can only choose from new towns like toa payoh, jurong, and then later, CCK, Seng Kang.

hachi

Cfm one. If they issue PR to those no skill no work no contribution people. Like that we really need change zenghu liao. Just like biden let criminals in
There are some jobs we don't want to so... Eg security, plumbers, air con tech and etc...

chuakboon

Why not Press harder on the effort in questioning pap on their policies.

buttbERry

Honorary Mentor
imo

the pricing / selling issue very hard to fix

cause many owners before already profited

if u prevent future profit then people will not be happy

Roundtreex

imo

the pricing / selling issue very hard to fix

cause many owners before already profited

if u prevent future profit then people will not be happy
U missed 90% homeowners. Keyword is 90%. No one dare to touch the hornet nest.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.