[GE2025] SDP Discussion Thread

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

carlongerdidu93

mnrZhC8x6LdgD6KN2jUY.jpeg

492572572_1026307839703524_114152216076498580_n.jpg

492548849_1095744689248583_1104396758831411161_n.jpg

106gunner

You go look at our birth rate first.

Using birth rate as an excuse thus they can influx more FT/FW even when locals have difficulty securing job back home

They are not here to create jobs and opportunities but rather to snatch jobs and opportunities from the locals

Hence resulting to high inflation and high living cost

paper_cut

Using birth rate as an excuse thus they can influx more FT/FW even when locals have difficulty securing job back home

They are not here to create jobs and opportunities but rather to snatch jobs and opportunities from the locals

Same apply to businesses

Hence resulting to high inflation and high living cost
You really have no clue. We are aging population liao. The only advantage we have over countries like Japan or Korea is we have always been a country of immigrants. Even Japan has to start having more and more immigrants.

106gunner

You really have no clue. We are aging population liao. The only advantage we have over countries like Japan or Korea is we have always been a country of immigrants. Even Japan has to start having more and more immigrants.

Tell me which country have no aging population and no low birth rate?

Infact SG is not the only country with low birth rate and Aging population

Do you see other country with Aging population and low birth rates keeping using this slogan and keep bringing in foreigners?

SG is just a small dot in the world map, do we really need so many FT/FW here?

Resulting to overcrowded everywhere we went be it malls and transport is packed and cramp, to the extent of jobs are going to FT/FW rather than locals

dezzo69

After 60 years of ruling whom the gahmen we have voted keep emphasising Singapore need foreigners to survive

It was mention in CNA

is this the party you looking for?

need quality not quantity.

PAP always first few wave is quantity no QC one. then after sinkies KPKB then they clamp up and restrict to quality.

the cycle always repeats itself. first big wave of PRCs after 1997 then after 2006 GE they clamp up abit but still KPKB than by 2011 pivot manpower intake to east asia after signing that agreement.

from my observation the foreign PMET demographic now is more diverse although east asian is still a substantial demographic, there are more foreigners from all regions now. eg. i never saw korean and japanese pmets in my neighbourhood until after covid. my wife works corporate so she has colleagues from myanmar and vietnam also, many are citizens after being here for over a decade.

singapore is diverse but i think singaporeans on the whole do not like to see too many importation of one type of demographic because it will cause social problems on the long run.

angel99999

Don't stir la. Singapore definitely need foreigners, they first setup shop and companies in SG for us to fill employees, macdonald's and many other companies are foreign companies.

The issue here is how much foreigners does Singapore need, and at present it seems we have too much for our own good. Too much competition for jobs and residence, not a good balance for Singaporean.

The issue is that we import too fast and too many. This is not a zero sum game, it's not 0 or 3 million foreigners, it always about the flow.

socratesg

Alot of blind supporters simply cannot fathom the fact that more doesn't equate to better.

Many counties are also facing low birth rates. Taiwan is prob even worse than us. But you dun see them open leg indiscriminately. Instead they focus on what they have, emphasize on Quality rather than Quantity. That's why they are global leader in chip making and R&D.

Smaller doesn't mean catastrophic disaster. It cud even lead to better quality of life, less crowded and less stress. With less stress, ppl are incentivised to procreate. Causation effect.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.