[GE2025] SDP Discussion Thread

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

dambio

Tell me which country have no aging population and no low birth rate?

Infact SG is not the only country with low birth rate and Aging population

Do you see other country with Aging population and low birth rates keeping using this slogan and keep bringing in foreigners?

SG is just a small dot in the world map, do we really need so many FT/FW here?

Resulting to overcrowded everywhere we went be it malls and transport is packed and cramp, to the extent of jobs are going to FT/FW rather than locals
Another reason they're bring all tis foreigners in. Is becos increase consumption, demand for housing n other services. Their bizs huat.

forests_gump

The way pap handles ultra low tfr, is akin to a distracted student failing at exams...instead of helping them to fix what caused to lose focus, they tell drop out & go for low hanging fruit

stillgottheblues

Another reason they're bring all tis foreigners in. Is becos increase consumption, demand for housing n other services. Their bizs huat.
Their template master plan. Mass import, make expensive, earn more, give vouchers to locals.

dambio

Their template master plan. Mass import, make expensive, earn more, give vouchers to locals.
Hidden reason is make as much for themselves for generations till they ownself get replaced by foreigners too. Now plan is to keep d party going as long as possible.

coyote

Anyway, I don’t think CSJ said that. Please change the title.

I think ts really need to come clean whether CSJ supported the notion Singapore needed foreign talents. If the answer is yes. Then no need to vote him in since there's no difference.

All the discussions in this thread seemed digressed without ts clarifying his point first.

DarkStarer

If you not happy with that he say, then you go be construction worker or nurse lor.

Donkey Kong

Strawberry gen better vote for oppo, or else you can't find job for the next 5 yrs.

virtualape

I don't mind ft so long as they can pay rent. And if chio, it's a bonus.

Can Or Not

After so many years you can’t even let me trust you. How to vote for you?

paper_cut

So, who are we importing? Kids?

No, we are mainly importing middle aged foreigners, who compete with the middle aged Singaporeans, who possibly will give birth to less kids due to the stress and lower wages from the competition. Thus, a vicious cycle is formed.

Low birth rate is a red herring, cause the foreigners we let in aren’t targeted at solving this low birth rate, nor is it even targeted at solving the problems caused by this low birth rate.
Will you allow your kids to go to a country alone and face off adults like yourself? I wouldn't. Anyway, i support controlled immigration to keep out status quo. Not those europe mass immigration.

vangug

i think i know why opposition votes no good liao... their IB very rabak... open thread also cannot be clear what the opposition's point is about lol

can allow some to mistake the entire point also... :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

pwongkk

If CSJ, LMW and TCB get voted in with the current WP MPs, I will be interested to start watching every parliament sessions!
Should make it happen. Mediacorpse in dire need of increasing viewership for their channels.

pwongkk

Will you allow your kids to go to a country alone and face off adults like yourself? I wouldn't. Anyway, i support controlled immigration to keep out status quo. Not those europe mass immigration.
Not every Tom dick and Harry to be let in masses.

The 80s policy is good. The AMDK PMETs helped build sg to first world status.

Come 2000s, the economic refugees brought in bring sg back to 4th world status.

RedEyesFan

Funny our education system top notch but still can't find talents. 🤔
Worse. No Nobel laureates.
Singapore really stagnated and declined when PAP keeps retaining supermajority. Shanmugam already started cashing out by having his gcb sold for 88m.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.