[GE2025] SDP Discussion Thread

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

coyote

Can guarantee if there are enough companies in SG there will be enough jobs for FTs and Sinkies.

Exactly. That's why the economic pie must expand for everybody to have jobs. Unlike what edmwers said, shrink the economy. When economy shrinks, people regardless locals or foreigners will start losing jobs and it won't be pretty.

clearsky7

keeping sayin other countries also low birth, so we can't do anything too...
Well i tot sg is special? always defying the odds? is a miracle? people say we can't make it, but we did?
Then why cannot solve this problem? Not so special afterall then

virtualape

Can guarantee if there r enough companies here there will be more than enough jobs for sinkies.
You still don't get it ah...what keeps rental for hdb/private property bouyant? Who owns these pte properties? Who are renting these pte properties?

There won't be enough decent paying jobs for sinkies. I can say this as a landlord. My tenants all jhk, income is between mid 3 to 4k range. Degree holders from some msia uni. You tell me our sinkie local uni grads can't do their job?

If decent salary jobs go to sinkies, less higher earning FTs come to sg, rental will be slugggish, landlords will suffer and banks will suffer too.

Population is already declining, domestic market is unable to support smes. With less FTs, die even faster.

marksnow44

WE have to cut the expense of the gahment, the civil services, defence then use the $$$ save for healthcare, social services and education.
Now the TOP is getting very heavy, so many million $$$$ ministers, MP, civil servants.... just look at UK and US, they are chopping these high paid JLB, we should do the same.

MP salary no more than 100K a year
Minister salary no more than 200K a year
Top civil servant no more than 150K a year.

If they dont like they can go work in private sector or drive Grab.

Vincentlow82

There is a limit to everything.

Just like we need blood to survive.

Don't mean we go pump 1000 gallon of blood in our body.

Itsnotfunny

20-30 years ago we have capable locals to lead in top MNCs, banks and large local conglomerates and spearhead regional and AP HQs.

Suddenly all such top jobs are no longer in our grasp. We need FTs to helm such jobs.

Where did our education gone wrong? Or we deteriorate so much that we are way behind ? Or the gahmen has lost its way.

Prime1984

Precisely TW is also having low birth rates and Aging population

But why we dun see their gahmen doing what Pappie is doing?

After 60 years of influx of FW/FT, end up now sinkie have to resort to driving grab, food delivery, working as cleaner, security, hawker and nurses

Some graduates also have a hard time looking for jobs not to mention those mid career adults
Bro, don’t keep compare to TW, trust me you don’t want their governance. It’s super chui.

Eliwood

You still don't get it ah...what keeps rental for hdb/private property bouyant? Who owns these pte properties? Who are renting these pte properties?

There won't be enough decent paying jobs for sinkies. I can say this as a landlord. My tenants all jhk, income is between mid 3 to 4k range. Degree holders from some msia uni. You tell me our sinkie local uni grads can't do their job?

If decent salary jobs go to sinkies, less higher earning FTs come to sg, rental will be slugggish, landlords will suffer and banks will suffer too.

Population is already declining, domestic market is unable to support smes. With less FTs, die even faster.

Why are u saying as tho local uni grads cant compete with those jhks?

I thot the current situation is that pay for fresh local uni grads has been increasing? In fact edmwers complaining fresh grad pay too high compared to their pay?

oOsiMm

There is a limit to everything.

Just like we need blood to survive.

Don't mean we go pump 1000 gallon of blood in our body.
Thats what SDP means
. We sure need FT and workers...but to supplement amd compliment and not as a limitless influx onto this island.

Batch by batch with a sensible limit, else the mental.well.being of new and by birth sinkies will go haywire..

virtualape

Why are u saying as tho local uni grads cant compete with those jhks?

I thot the current situation is that pay for fresh local uni grads has been increasing? In fact edmwers complaining fresh grad pay too high compared to their pay?
Every white collar foreigner will deprive a sinkie of a decent paying job. You agree?

I'm not against FTs. I'm pro FTs because they provide rental income for me. But reality is as such.

zensushi

Both are at fault equally, or should we say that none are at fault just that they hold different stances and viewpoints.

Personally felt that CST was a MP that was simply contented to hold onto his PP seat all along, by the time he get to the stage where he felt it was necessary for him to contest a GRC was already too late.

Remembered back then in 2007, SPP and WP had a dinner where they conversed. It was then, he mentioned about the need to take a GRC.

https://www.theonlinecitizen.com/2007/11/04/toc-report-wp-50th-anniversary-dinner/

Perhaps he sensed that LTK himself had plans to lead a team to take on a GRC, thus he felt imboldened to do so in 2011 but he did not carefully thought it out.

The fact, he handed over the PP seat to his wife whom eventually did not perform in Parliament and left no strong impression contributed to SPP's current state.

CSJ on the other hand, was like JBJ. He wanted to did what LTK did, which was to build up their party brand into 1 which could potentially challenge PAP in the future at a national level but he was too impatient and reckless back then.

Can tell that he has mellowed out a bit, power sharing with Paul Tambyah and brining in other qualified candidates has helped him to realise that it was never an one-man show.

Think that Vince Wijeysingha's departure in 2013 over CSJ's decision to contest in the Punggol-East by-election has also struck a nerve too.

Vincent's dad, Eugene, was a great public speaker. Best HM ever!

banbleh

Dr Chee mentioned this during his rally speech yesterday evening.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.