[GE2025] Tampines GRC

carlongerdidu93

Not "me against Masagos": WP's Faisal Manap
https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/ge2025-campaigning-day-6-general-election-5090641

faisal-manap-icu.jpg

Workers' Party candidate Faisal Manap played down the characterisation of the election fight in Tampines GRC as a battle between himself and the leader of the PAP slate.

Mr Faisal said it was a competition between two teams, not “myself against Masagos”. Minister of Social and Family Development Masagos Zulkifli leads a five-person team, hoping to retain Tampines GRC. The National Solidarity Party and the People's Power Party are also contesting the constituency.

Mr Faisal pointed out that the GRC system was established by the PAP and required the presence of a minority candidate.

"And here I am, you know, the minority for the team,” he said.

He said his team, which includes new faces Dr Ong Lue Ping, Mr Michael Thng, Ms Eileen Chong and Mr Jimmy Tan, has an advantage if elected, as they have more time to serve residents on the ground, unlike political office holders.

Mr Masagos is also the Minister-in-charge of Muslim Affairs.

mnrrNJ4F6fYo5UCbJ7bf.jpeg

WP’s Faisal Manap greeting a resident during a walkabout in Tampines on Apr 28, 2025. (Photo: CNA/Jeremy Long)

Eureka75

I agree it's a wrong move, tamp is a PAP stronghold.

Baey is v active in engaging his residents and so is Charlene, even though she is not an official MP yet.

Other 2 + 1 newbie are meh but I still think they stand a good chance.
Most constituency are not PAP stronggols provide a good opposition party and not mosquito party contest in it. Look at West Coast GRC when mosquito party contest in 2015 vs PSP contest in 2020 for example

Eureka75

Wa I really got nothing to complain for WP tampines slate. Everybody is top notch. Certainly even stronger than Punggol WP slate and thats no mean feat.

Have WP ever had a stronger set of 5 candidates post 2011 LTK aljunied team?
WP 10KKJ team is the real team A with a veteran MP, ex-IMH director, Harvard graduate and ex-diplomat

kmkimlo

Even if 1-1 fight I won't vote for GMS party. Have you looked at his posters in town centre? Printed from JB bro, Can't even support local business.

Furthermore, the issues he is championing is more out of touch than PAP. Keep dabbling on conspiracy theories and attacking WP for nothing.

Siaolang party needs to be closed down
he is against WP more than against PAP.

Eureka75

actually no leh. 2011 tampines got show many ppl not happy with papaya. but all along is only nsp contested
Yeah NSP is lumped together with the likes of other mosquito parties like PPP, PAR and SUP and eastern part of Singapore is more pro-opposition so this NSP can get 33.4% last election is tao chio liao. They don't post much posters or do house visit only campaign around coffeeshop or hawker centre.

kmkimlo

Yeah I was bewildered when I saw some comments that both the Punggol and Tampines teams are weak, and 2 unknowns are sent to the SMCs.

People don't watch the intro press conference and the intro videos.

Glad the rallies speeches showed how good the candidates are.
i watched the WP Jalankayu video.. Andre Low is good leh. can hold his own against media's questions. really do not see any PAP newbie doing similar.

jericho75

Yeah NSP is lumped together with the likes of other mosquito parties like PPP, PAR and SUP and eastern part of Singapore is more pro-opposition so this NSP can get 33.4% last election is tao chio liao. They don't post much posters or do house visit only campaign around coffeeshop or hawker centre.

i know psp came cck in 2020 and got 41%. last time was 29% like that under nsp?

Eureka75

i know psp came cck in 2020 and got 41%. last time was 29% like that under nsp?
GE 2015 was GMS party who got 23% of the votes and GE 2020 was PSP Team B who got 41% of the votes

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.