[GE2025] The Workers' Party (WP) Discussion Thread

Multiversal

As I said

come up with smlj flowery slogan got no use
Pap so many pattern also pawn u in the end

don’t be dumb
PAP only has one pattern, which is about making sure Singapore survives the recent Trump madness. To use a technical jargon, this is an economic *shock* none of us have ever seen since the end of the last World War.

As I see it, the US is going to implode with its tariff war with China. It's a battle between a people who not too long ago worked in sweatshops earning as little as US$1 a day which was what drew US companies to set up shop in China, and a people who only knew how to organise wildcat strikes with their powerful unions to demand higher wages and shorter working hours. It's easy for Trump to say, set up your factory in the US and you don't have to pay tariffs. But how much do you have to pay those angmos? Do you think they will work 996 for you? Fat hope!

Inflation followed by a deep recession is the making. Trump's making. The US dollar will lose value, and some countries are already trading in Indian and Chinese money. RIP, greenback. There are works going on to make the Euro the currency of choice because nobody trusts the US system anymore.. China sold one trillion USD treasury bonds. The next financial nuclear bomb would be selling US$ 2 trillion cooperate equity and loan stocks. It will send the US economy and financial markets into a tailspin. Watch the S&P 500, Dow Jones and Nasdaq, stay tune right.

Those Americans can't even afford to pay for decent healthcare (remember Obamacare?), and now their costs of living are set to rise. Prices for essential goods, necessities. A country which accounts for almost one third of the world's GDP will as sure as hell bring about the headwinds of economic turbulence to Singapore. China will not escape either because this is a battle fought for mutual damage, and a race to the bottle between the two of them.

To cut to the chase, we will see more retrenchments and I feel sorry for the generations which are still in school or doing their NS, waiting to come out, enter a tertiary institution or go out to work. Who are they? Answer: they are your children. Or grandchildren.

Pritam Singh will lead us through and we will land safely?

Some of you, or perhaps most of you here, since this forum has an oppies majority representation, may sneer and say I am an Ib lar! I am fearmongering lar! Singapore will survive lar! Vote them out larRRRR!!!!

Suits you man.

If you think that instead of countries lining up to book an appointment to go to China to meet with Xi as in the recent past, it is Xi himself getting off his not-too-comfortable armchair in zhongnanhai to make a southern tour, and meet with, among others, the chair of ASEAN which is currently Malaysia, all is still well, then you are deluded. What else must happen before you wake up and see the events that are unfolding at a breakneck speed as a watershed that Singaporean voters cannot afford to play tikam taakm with?

I place my trust in Lawrence Wong and his team, and I am as much entitled to vote as you are. You cannot stop me. Not even if you get me bend..something which some of you did to me in the past.

More...

The WP and the other oppies, I have yet to hear anything from them regarding the upside down world economic order. Of course they will say, oh! we are not here to form the government, we are not ready! We only want to be the check and balance. Rar rar rarrr!

They are selling small man's stuff. I am more interested in what they can do in terms of checks and balance regarding policies that deal with the external economic environment because if MNEs collapse, SMEs are in limbo, trade deals are abandoned, and the law of the jungle replaces the rule of law, you will get what you want: FTs and FWs will leave faster than Pritam can *whisper* his manifesto into your ears.

It's not a time to play gutter politics, or dance to the gallery saying all the things you'd like to hear (rape stories included?). It's not a time for WOKESISM.

It's time to rally around the government to work together as citizens and government along with employers to weather through at least these four years till Trump steps down. It so happens that this to-be-government's term coincides roughly with Trump's term. Give them a strong mandate. If you think Pritam is the man for the job, then vote him to become the PM. I will settle for nothing less. If Pritam is so good, then let him become the PM. I don't want to see dancing around the gallery. And I don't need economics lessons from Jamus either.

gamerx

Gerald Giam on what distinguishes WP’s policy proposals from PAP’s

In putting forward its policy proposals, WP’s Mr Gerald Giam says that the party does not simply take reference from what the PAP has done and do something different.

“What we do is, first, we listen to our constituents on the ground. That’s the benefit of having elected MPs,” he says in response to a question on the WP being labelled as “PAP-lite” and what distinguishes its proposals from the PAP’s.

Elected MPs are able to get feedback from residents, he says, and from there, the party can make an assessment on whether the current policies have gaps that need to be highlighted.

“If the policies happen to align with the PAP’s, well, we make no apologies for that,” he says.

He adds that the WP has been leading policies in many ways, but it is not a contest about who is first and second.

“What is more important is that policies fit for Singapore are the policies benefiting our residents, benefiting Singaporeans as a whole,” he says.
That's a good narrative and well articulated. Agree with not challenging sound policies for the sake of a challenge. But looking at their current manifestos, they don't seem to be practicing what they preach at all. :s22:

Mephist0pheLes

You think got difference can liao Mr MAGA :ROFLMAO:

ultimately both parties encourage people to continue working in their old age

just the mechanism is different

oh no! Everyone wants Singaporeans to work till they die :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:
want you to work longer vs allow you to work longer, u cant tell the difference between the two?

Mephist0pheLes

Then caveat and say only for lower end workers. And not blanket application across the board
if it dosnt apply to them in the first then whats the matter?

like that need to caveat and say it dosnt apply to vietnam citizen, dosnt apply to american citizen, doesnt apply to australia citizen anot?

or u saying u wan a 2 tier system? if earn above $x amount then they must be terminated by age XX?

Cmonster

want you to work longer vs allow you to work longer, u cant tell the difference between the two?

Both PAP and WP are saying the same thing

That Singaporeans want to work longer , so both want to ensure the policies are there to allow this

Nobody is saying you MUST work, and no one can force you to work longer

No one can WANT you to do anything

And as much as you cannot believe it, many Singaporeans do want to continue working instead of just staying at home when they are old

IIRedsunsII

their slogan is saying the obvious. Of course they work for singapore. Very underwhelming.

surfman

PAP only has one pattern, which is about making sure Singapore survives the recent Trump madness. To use a technical jargon, this is an economic *shock* none of us have ever seen since the end of the last World War.

As I see it, the US is going to implode with its tariff war with China. It's a battle between a people who not too long ago worked in sweatshops earning as little as US$1 a day which was what drew US companies to set up shop in China, and a people who only knew how to organise wildcat strikes with their powerful unions to demand higher wages and shorter working hours. It's easy for Trump to say, set up your factory in the US and you don't have to pay tariffs. But how much do you have to pay those angmos? Do you think they will work 996 for you? Fat hope!

Inflation followed by a deep recession is the making. Trump's making. The US dollar will lose value, and some countries are already trading in Indian and Chinese money. RIP, greenback. There are works going on to make the Euro the currency of choice because nobody trusts the US system anymore.. China sold one trillion USD treasury bonds. The next financial nuclear bomb would be selling US$ 2 trillion cooperate equity and loan stocks. It will send the US economy and financial markets into a tailspin. Watch the S&P 500, Dow Jones and Nasdaq, stay tune right.

Those Americans can't even afford to pay for decent healthcare (remember Obamacare?), and now their costs of living are set to rise. Prices for essential goods, necessities. A country which accounts for almost one third of the world's GDP will as sure as hell bring about the headwinds of economic turbulence to Singapore. China will not escape either because this is a battle fought for mutual damage, and a race to the bottle between the two of them.

To cut to the chase, we will see more retrenchments and I feel sorry for the generations which are still in school or doing their NS, waiting to come out, enter a tertiary institution or go out to work. Who are they? Answer: they are your children. Or grandchildren.

Pritam Singh will lead us through and we will land safely?

Some of you, or perhaps most of you here, since this forum has an oppies majority representation, may sneer and say I am an Ib lar! I am fearmongering lar! Singapore will survive lar! Vote them out larRRRR!!!!

Suits you man.

If you think that instead of countries lining up to book an appointment to go to China to meet with Xi as in the recent past, it is Xi himself getting off his not-too-comfortable armchair in zhongnanhai to make a southern tour, and meet with, among others, the chair of ASEAN which is currently Malaysia, all is still well, then you are deluded. What else must happen before you wake up and see the events that are unfolding at a breakneck speed as a watershed that Singaporean voters cannot afford to play tikam taakm with?

I place my trust in Lawrence Wong and his team, and I am as much entitled to vote as you are. You cannot stop me. Not even if you get me bend..something which some of you did to me in the past.

More...

The WP and the other oppies, I have yet to hear anything from them regarding the upside down world economic order. Of course they will say, oh! we are not here to form the government, we are not ready! We only want to be the check and balance. Rar rar rarrr!

They are selling small man's stuff. I am more interested in what they can do in terms of checks and balance regarding policies that deal with the external economic environment because if MNEs collapse, SMEs are in limbo, trade deals are abandoned, and the law of the jungle replaces the rule of law, you will get what you want: FTs and FWs will leave faster than Pritam can *whisper* his manifesto into your ears.

It's not a time to play gutter politics, or dance to the gallery saying all the things you'd like to hear (rape stories included?). It's not a time for WOKESISM.

It's time to rally around the government to work together as citizens and government along with employers to weather through at least these four years till Trump steps down. It so happens that this to-be-government's term coincides roughly with Trump's term. Give them a strong mandate. If you think Pritam is the man for the job, then vote him to become the PM. I will settle for nothing less. If Pritam is so good, then let him become the PM. I don't want to see dancing around the gallery. And I don't need economics lessons from Jamus either.
Sorry to say but you are talking rubbish
In Singapore we don’t get to vote for our prime minister. We vote for our mp who represent us in parliament
It is true that we are going to enter a crisis. In a crisis who would you rather have. Pap mp who will talk motherhood statement to you and tell you go skillsfuture course to be security guard when you lose your job or wp mp who will speak up for you in parliament and ask pap why are our people losing jobs and what can you do for them.
for me the choice is clear.

can check current Jamus Lim's 's stand on LGPTQ ?
How woke is WP?

Preferred gender pronouns for students​

Last Updated: 02 Feb 2021
NewsParliamentary Replies

NAME AND CONSTITUENCY OF MEMBER OF PARLIAMENT​

Assoc Prof Jamus Jerome Lim, Sengkang GRC

QUESTION​

To ask the Minister for Education whether there are any plans by the Ministry to systematically compile preferred gender pronouns for students, subject to the consent of parents, and to ensure that teachers respect such pronoun usage in class.

RESPONSE​

1. Every student diagnosed with gender dysphoria is different, and their treatments are individualised. Instead of compiling preferred gender pronouns for all students, MOE will support each student diagnosed with gender dysphoria on a case-by-case basis, working with the parents concerned, as well as medical professionals.

https://www.moe.gov.sg/news/parliamentary-replies/20210202-preferred-gender-pronouns-for-students

pspandwp

Sorry to say but you are talking rubbish
In Singapore we don’t get to vote for our prime minister. We vote for our mp who represent us in parliament
It is true that we are going to enter a crisis. In a crisis who would you rather have. Pap mp who will talk motherhood statement to you and tell you go skillsfuture course to be security guard when you lose your job or wp mp who will speak up for you in parliament and ask pap why are our people losing jobs and what can you do for them.
for me the choice is clear.

I can only speak for myself

my area is Aljunied but they put me into Marine Parade GRC this GE2025

maybe it is mandate of heaven because I know for 100% certainty tan see leng is the wrong man to manage Manpower

so my choice is very very very clear

My vote goes to WP this GE2025

it is mandate of heaven that I vote out tan see leng so that younger Singaporeans have a chance for a decent full time job under a new Manpower leader, not the current piece of white arrogant dung

surfman

can check current Jamus Lim's 's stand on LGPTQ ?
How woke is WP?

Preferred gender pronouns for students​

Last Updated: 02 Feb 2021
NewsParliamentary Replies

NAME AND CONSTITUENCY OF MEMBER OF PARLIAMENT​

Assoc Prof Jamus Jerome Lim, Sengkang GRC

QUESTION​

To ask the Minister for Education whether there are any plans by the Ministry to systematically compile preferred gender pronouns for students, subject to the consent of parents, and to ensure that teachers respect such pronoun usage in class.

RESPONSE​

1. Every student diagnosed with gender dysphoria is different, and their treatments are individualised. Instead of compiling preferred gender pronouns for all students, MOE will support each student diagnosed with gender dysphoria on a case-by-case basis, working with the parents concerned, as well as medical professionals.

https://www.moe.gov.sg/news/parliamentary-replies/20210202-preferred-gender-pronouns-for-students
This is the favourite thing that pap ib use to whack wp
But I think it shows why people vote for wp
Jamus asked this question probably because one of his constituents asked him about this issue during mps and town hall
Imagine u go talk to your pap mp about preferred pronoun. Unless your pap mp is Louis ng otherwise most likely your pap mp will ask u u siao ah.

NTB2DO

I agree with your point above, but I believe the reason for this proposal is because of aging population. As our population is starting to age and with falling TFR rate, the burden will fall onto the younger generation to support the elderly.

By removing the stipulated retirement age, the elderly have the option to continue working and not rely too much on the next generation.
How about keep the retirement age but giving retiring employee the option to continue working - at company's discretion?

By right elderly should have saved enough fund for retirement and with CPF money, they shouldn't need to keep working for survival. And it'll be sad if elderlies need to work till the day they die just in order to survive.

NTB2DO

I can only speak for myself

my area is Aljunied but they put me into Marine Parade GRC this GE2025

maybe it is mandate of heaven because I know for 100% certainty tan see leng is the wrong man to manage Manpower

so my choice is very very very clear

My vote goes to WP this GE2025

it is mandate of heaven that I vote out tan see leng so that younger Singaporeans have a chance for a decent full time job under a new Manpower leader, not the current piece of white arrogant dung
TSL is my MP. Only seen him once throughout the 5 years. Doubt he cares. So whether he's my MP or not makes no difference to me anyway.

Which is why I'm glad that WP is contesting in my constituencies.

s-ghost

6801271995c5993462a7ac63_Jimmy.avif

https://www.wp.sg/candidate/tan-khim-teck

Tan Khim Teck​

(Jimmy)​

陈钦德​

53 years old
Divorced, father of two daughters

68011f4256831627c352ca29_LuePing.avif

https://www.wp.sg/candidate/ong-lue-ping

Ong Lue Ping​

王锐斌​

48 years old
Married, with three teenage children

680124fcdf6e512b904d3e12_Alexis.avif

https://www.wp.sg/candidate/dang-pei-yuan

Dang Pei Yuan​

(Alexis)​

滕沛源​

39 years old
Single

68011f766f082b9b67f2a2d8_Andre.avif

https://www.wp.sg/candidate/low-wu-yang-andre

Low Wu Yang Andre​

刘宇扬​

34 years old
Married, with one child on the way

congster2

WP did not say anything about delaying CPF age right?

They just mentioned about delaying retirement age, because of the ageing population plus got a lot of people still want continue working at old age.

I also hope to be able to continue working when am old too (albeit in a 4 days work week kind of role, perhaps advisory kind (with lesser pay)
so that the younger people e.g in their 40s can take over the management level),
as long as they give me my CPF on time.

It should Not be tied together imo.
You want to work is your dai ji don't drag us into it thank you.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.