[GE2025] The Workers' Party (WP) Discussion Thread

Youareme

If LW plays his cards right, he can give him an early retirement.

LW was LHL sec, so just a minion and dog of LHL.
he won't do anything to undermine his master.

It's the enemies of LHL among pappies who wants to undermine LHL and his chosen cronies like NCM.

Xeservico

I see you conveniently ignored how east coast has dropped like raisins for WP. The election results shows that the ppl prefer status quo and are comfortable.

All the incumbents improved on the electoral performance except Aljunied GRC where it dropped by a 0.27. Prata Singh should be xiasuay with the drop when everywhere including SK went up.

East Coast had Changi cut out due to gerrymandering so can't compare directly from 2020 as baseline.

BohemianSG

East Coast had Changi cut out due to gerrymandering so can't compare directly from 2020 as baseline.

You ok or not? All these blaming on gerry. U mean the concerns of the ppl in singapore differ by so much ah... cross a few road and lorongs then become different concerns ah.

East Coast is 41%... the mountbatten hero is 36%. If you say no time to walk the ground, he definitely had less resources to walk the ground compared to WP.

WP branding and support is worht 5% niah. Less than GST 9%. Dun blame Gerry.

Xeservico

You ok or not? All these blaming on gerry. U mean the concerns of the ppl in singapore differ by so much ah... cross a few road and lorongs then become different concerns ah.

East Coast is 41%... the mountbatten hero is 36%. If you say no time to walk the ground, he definitely had less resources to walk the ground compared to WP.

WP branding and support is worht 5% niah. Less than GST 9%. Dun blame Gerry.

Are you braindamaged? EC in 2025 is simply different from 2020. You can say the WP EC 2025's performance is bad, that's fine. But you can't say it did worse than in 2020 because it isn't the same GRC as for example, Hougang, SK and AJ.

Kiwi8

Retain : Aljunied, hougang, sengkang

Sengkang % increased by 4%
tampines first time field 47%
punggol 45%
jalan kayu smc first time field 48%
tampines changkat first time field 44%
hougang smc as usual nth to shout about

east coast drop by 5%
overall not bad?
Overall is not bad.

BohemianSG

Are you braindamaged? EC in 2025 is simply different from 2020. You can say the WP EC 2025's performance is bad, that's fine. But you can't say it did worse than in 2020 because it isn't the same GRC as for example, Hougang, SK and AJ.

As usual.. wp defenders no logic one.. Cannot argue then insult with abusive language.

I am saying that WP East coast(41%) only did better than mountbatten hero(36%) by 5% niah. WP branding and support is 5% niah worth less than the GST i pay.

So what if Gerry meander his way in? Are you saying the concerns of ppl in a 10km radius got so different meh? They pay different GST rate or Utilities rate or COE rate?

The main difference is no time to cover the new ground niah. Mountbatten guy also never had time to walk the ground and he was running solo without the party support machinery.

WP Xiasuay.

BohemianSG

Overall is not bad.

Total disaster lah.. lost your first oppo malay MP and nett % of elected seats is less than 2020. Jialat... should have post mortem.

WP East coast(41%) only did better than mountbatten hero(36%) by 5% niah. WP branding and support is 5% niah worth less than the GST i pay.

Xeservico

As usual.. wp defenders no logic one.. Cannot argue then insult with abusive language.

I am saying that WP East coast(41%) only did better than mountbatten hero(36%) by 5% niah. WP branding and support is 5% niah worth less than the GST i pay.

So what if Gerry meander his way in? Are you saying the concerns of ppl in a 10km radius got so different meh? They pay different GST rate or Utilities rate or COE rate?

The main difference is no time to cover the new ground niah. Mountbatten guy also never had time to walk the ground and he was running solo without the party support machinery.

WP Xiasuay.

Why are you comparing SMC with GRCs? That is an additional layer of politicking and campaigning. You can compare Mountbatten with Changkat and Jalan Kayu to see and compare the difference.

And you did say "I see you conveniently ignored how east coast has dropped like raisins for WP" which I pointed out it is not true to make that statement. Why are you trying to pretend otherwise and deflect to another topic?

hammerstrike

I’m curious if got by election and WP win, will they lose one NCMP?

The law states that the number of NCMP is 12 minus the number of opposition MPs elected. But if their two NCMPs already seated, if WP win one more, will one of them be stripped or number of opposition MPs become 13?

PiKa

I’m curious if got by election and WP win, will they lose one NCMP?

The law states that the number of NCMP is 12 minus the number of opposition MPs elected. But if their two NCMPs already seated, if WP win one more, will one of them be stripped or number of opposition MPs become 13?
If ncmp is fielded, will lose one ncmp seat.
If field non ncmp, and lose the by election, the 2 ncmp will be there.

hammerstrike

If ncmp is fielded, will lose one seat.
To retain 2 ncmp, it is to field non ncmp for by election
Ya so if they field another person and win, end up number of opposition MPs become 13 ah. Opposition will have 11 MP and 2 NCMP which is more then could be possible during GE?

PiKa

Ya so if they field another person and win, end up number of opposition MPs become 13 ah. Opposition will have 11 MP and 2 NCMP which is more then could be possible during GE?
Sorry, I corrected my original msg.
Not too sure is can reach 13. But there would be a risk of losing the ncmp slot.
I.e.
Field non ncmp and won ( ncmp x1 may be removed)
Field ncmp and lost (ncmp seat rights may still be removes)

hammerstrike

Sorry, I corrected my original msg.
Not too sure is can reach 13. But there would be a risk of losing the ncmp slot.
I.e.
Field non ncmp and won ( ncmp x1 may be removed)
Field ncmp and lost (ncmp seat rights may still be removes)
Ya I think need constitutional lawyer to advise on both scenarios on whether NCMP seat is removed

PiKa

Ya I think need constitutional lawyer to advise on both scenarios on whether NCMP seat is removed
If got by election then say
Imo, don't really think so.
Unless there are more juicy (and damning) leaks

BohemianSG

Why are you comparing SMC with GRCs? That is an additional layer of politicking and campaigning. You can compare Mountbatten with Changkat and Jalan Kayu to see and compare the difference.

And you did say "I see you conveniently ignored how east coast has dropped like raisins for WP" which I pointed out it is not true to make that statement. Why are you trying to pretend otherwise and deflect to another topic?

Please dun flip flop. I already replied. You dun agree does not mean it is wrong.

Are you saying the concerns of ppl in a 10km radius got so different meh? They pay different GST rate or Utilities rate or COE rate? The concerns are generally the same....ownself buay gan dun blame on gerry.

East coast drop like raisins. Just face it lah.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.