[GE2025] The Workers' Party (WP) Discussion Thread

Xeservico

Please dun flip flop. I already replied. You dun agree does not mean it is wrong.

Are you saying the concerns of ppl in a 10km radius got so different meh? They pay different GST rate or Utilities rate or COE rate? The concerns are generally the same....ownself buay gan dun blame on gerry.

East coast drop like raisins. Just face it lah.

Where did I flip flop? Show me. Do you deny that EC in 2025 isn't exactly the same as 2020?

JAson1980

Retain : Aljunied, hougang, sengkang

Sengkang % increased by 4%
tampines first time field 47%
punggol 45%
jalan kayu smc first time field 48%
tampines changkat first time field 44%
hougang smc as usual nth to shout about

east coast drop by 5%
overall not bad?
thats why PAP planned it on long weekend make sure the unhappy voters go holiday. :o

BohemianSG

Where did I flip flop? Show me. Do you deny that EC in 2025 isn't exactly the same as 2020?

Dp you agree or disagree that they pay the same GST rate or Utilities rate or COE rate? Even the roads and transport nodes are similar given the proximity. The concerns are generally the same....ownself buay gan dun blame on gerry. U keep avoiding this.

Unless you can tell me a section of singaporean has special GST or tax rates being added to east coast then talk lah. Otherwise just admit WP strategy in this election was totally cui and disaster.

BohemianSG

thats why PAP planned it on long weekend make sure the unhappy voters go holiday. :o

What nonsense.. those who can afford to go holiday are those enjoying the SG exchange rate benefits and are generally benefiting from PAP policies. Thats why they have the luxury to go on holiday and not work over the long weekend. Plane tickets free one ah? Overseas hotel accomodation use what pay?

If anything, had these ppl been around to vote, WP would have been massacred. Even SK and Aljunied also return to PAP.

Xeservico

Dp you agree or disagree that they pay the same GST rate or Utilities rate or COE rate? Even the roads and transport nodes are similar given the proximity. The concerns are generally the same....ownself buay gan dun blame on gerry. U keep avoiding this.

Unless you can tell me a section of singaporean has special GST or tax rates being added to east coast then talk lah. Otherwise just admit WP strategy in this election was totally cui and disaster.

Gerrymandering affects WP's groundwork and the candidates attached to a certain area.

What nonsense.. those who can afford to go holiday are those enjoying the SG exchange rate benefits and are generally benefiting from PAP policies. Thats why they have the luxury to go on holiday and not work over the long weekend. Plane tickets free one ah? Overseas hotel accomodation use what pay?

If anything, had these ppl been around to vote, WP would have been massacred. Even SK and Aljunied also return to PAP.

Sounds like copium since richer people or the sandwiched class tend to vote Opposition.

BohemianSG

Gerrymandering affects WP's groundwork and the candidates attached to a certain area.

Sounds like copium since richer people or the sandwiched class tend to vote Opposition.

"Gerrymandering affects WP's groundwork and the candidates attached to a certain area."

Mountbatten hero is totally new with no groundwork whatsoever before the election. Yet WP only had 41% vs Mountbatten 36% which WP abandoned thinking they will fare badly. Hence i say WP branding/support and whatever is worth only 5% since mountbatten hero had 36% vs East Coast 41%. Seriously must step by step explain then you get it. Understand now?

"Sounds like copium since richer people or the sandwiched class tend to vote Opposition."

You say means correct ah? You based that on what?
At least i can back it up that those who go holidays are enjoying the benefits of strong dollar which are the direct result of PAP governance. They are doing well so therefore can dun work over long weekend and go holiday. Not bitter and discontented like WP supporters such as yourself.

Face it lah. The electoral strategy for WP and Prata singh has been a disaster. Even Jalan Kayu also bad deployment. Sending Andre Low who kpkb about residents who ask for help against the hugely unpopular NCM. Imagine if Harpreet Singh or Kenneth Foo were sent there. ESPECIALLY Kenneth Foo. I like that guy actually.

flee0308

"Gerrymandering affects WP's groundwork and the candidates attached to a certain area."

Mountbatten hero is totally new with no groundwork whatsoever before the election. Yet WP only had 41% vs Mountbatten 36% which WP abandoned thinking they will fare badly. Hence i say WP branding/support and whatever is worth only 5% since mountbatten hero had 36% vs East Coast 41%. Seriously must step by step explain then you get it. Understand now?

"Sounds like copium since richer people or the sandwiched class tend to vote Opposition."

You say means correct ah? You based that on what?
At least i can back it up that those who go holidays are enjoying the benefits of strong dollar which are the direct result of PAP governance. They are doing well so therefore can dun work over long weekend and go holiday. Not bitter and discontented like WP supporters such as yourself.

Face it lah. The electoral strategy for WP and Prata singh has been a disaster. Even Jalan Kayu also bad deployment. Sending Andre Low who kpkb about residents who ask for help against the hugely unpopular NCM. Imagine if Harpreet Singh or Kenneth Foo were sent there. ESPECIALLY Kenneth Foo. I like that guy actually.
Jalan Kayu in hindsight easy to say send Harpreet and flip. Before nomination day would you have sent your best to contest in a PAP Stronghold?

People who say WP should have sent a single S-tier team instead of two A-team are also not seeing things from Pritam’s perspective.

Firstly, you actually want the GRC candidates to be diverse to cover more ground. For example, swap Eileen Chong for Harpreet Singh and you may lose the Chinese speaking/female vote.

Secondly, there’s no way to know which candidates will grow viral during the election. So Pritam would not be able to differentiate the S tier from the A+ tier and would have to deploy accordingly.

Thirdly, PAP set the nomination centre so that they can rotate their candidates based on where WP is contesting. In GE2025,
Yusof Ishak Secondary School was the nomination center for East Coast, Pasir Ris-Changi, Punggol, and Sengkang GRCs. Had Pritam sent an A team to East Coast, GKY would have rotated there accordingly.

Lastly, this is pure speculation on my part, but PAP may have been trailing Harpreet Singh from the start. Had Pritam send Harpreet Singh to Tampines GRC nomination center, GKY may had also magically appear in Tampines.

BohemianSG

Jalan Kayu in hindsight easy to say send Harpreet and flip. Before nomination day would you have sent your best to contest in a PAP Stronghold?

People who say WP should have sent a single S-tier team instead of two A-team are also not seeing things from Pritam’s perspective.

Firstly, you actually want the GRC candidates to be diverse to cover more ground. For example, swap Eileen Chong for Harpreet Singh and you may lose the Chinese speaking/female vote.

Secondly, there’s no way to know which candidates will grow viral during the election. So Pritam would not be able to differentiate the S tier from the A+ tier and would have to deploy accordingly.

Thirdly, PAP set the nomination centre so that they can rotate their candidates based on where WP is contesting. In GE2025,
Yusof Ishak Secondary School was the nomination center for East Coast, Pasir Ris-Changi, Punggol, and Sengkang GRCs. Had Pritam sent an A team to East Coast, GKY would have rotated there accordingly.

Lastly, this is pure speculation on my part, but PAP may have been trailing Harpreet Singh from the start. Had Pritam send Harpreet Singh to Tampines GRC nomination center, GKY may had also magically appear in Tampines.

Dunnid so many paragraph about tampines, i not interested in your theories.

NCM was clearly unpopular based on the MOE story. Arrogance like this cannot be once off one. His arrogance should be known to many. He was announced as the candidate BEFORE nomination day. WP knew who were contesting there and had actually asked RDU to back off.

Instead of sending Kenneth Foo who seem to have a good track record in WP, they sent andre low who had said FO to residents (that definitely costs votes). How can Prata Singh NOT know his personality for being so combustible before sending him.

This is down to poor deployment and judgement. The results were a disaster for the WP. All thanks to Prataman.

FreddieOng

Dunnid so many paragraph about tampines, i not interested in your theories.

NCM was clearly unpopular based on the MOE story. Arrogance like this cannot be once off one. His arrogance should be known to many. He was announced as the candidate BEFORE nomination day. WP knew who were contesting there and had actually asked RDU to back off.

Instead of sending Kenneth Foo who seem to have a good track record in WP, they sent andre low who had said FO to residents (that definitely costs votes). How can Prata Singh NOT know his personality for being so combustible before sending him.

This is down to poor deployment and judgement. The results were a disaster for the WP. All thanks to Prataman.
Workers Party strategy was perfect and calculated. Nobody knew what would blow up or shine during election. The NCM issuse was not predicted by the whites. If not he won't have stood for SMC JK.

Eureka75

I think its still best allocation of WP candidates due to the change of PM and also the trade war between US, China and other countries, they only have 0.4% less votes this election compared to 8% swing against PSP, SDP and othet mosquito parties

FreddieOng

I think its still best allocation of WP candidates due to the change of PM and also the trade war between US, China and other countries, they only have 0.4% less votes this election compared to 8% swing against PSP, SDP and othet mosquito parties
Yes the only WP that's trustable

BohemianSG

Workers Party strategy was perfect and calculated. Nobody knew what would blow up or shine during election. The NCM issuse was not predicted by the whites. If not he won't have stood for SMC JK.

Dun delulu lah... WP strategy was a disaster. Totally cui.

Since you brought up Jalan Kayu

1) How can you not know the character of your own candidate is so combustible. He said F.O to residents who come seeking help in MPS. This kind of temperament also cannot see. Or is it all WP think that to say F.O to residents is normal? That leak cost them Jalan Kayu

2) NCM was unpopular. WP attacked him on the allianz case which was already well known issue before the election. His behaviour was arrogant to his lessers in public settings. The MOE incident cant be an isolated case. Already before the election, there were online stories of his arrogance in the military and in MOE. Whatever happened to know your enemy, 100 battles fought 100 battles won?

Complete dismal failure. Dun live in your own echo chamber and face the reality.

FreddieOng

Dun delulu lah... WP strategy was a disaster. Totally cui.

Since you brought up Jalan Kayu

1) How can you not know the character of your own candidate is so combustible. He said F.O to residents who come seeking help in MPS. This kind of temperament also cannot see. Or is it all WP think that to say F.O to residents is normal? That leak cost them Jalan Kayu

2) NCM was unpopular. WP attacked him on the allianz case which was already well known issue before the election. His behaviour was arrogant to his lessers in public settings. The MOE incident cant be an isolated case. Already before the election, there were online stories of his arrogance in the military and in MOE. Whatever happened to know your enemy, 100 battles fought 100 battles won?

Complete dismal failure. Dun live in your own echo chamber and face the reality.
That applies to you too. Cannot be delulu, only WP has seats in parliament, besides PAP.

byfun

Go JB to buy grocery and stretch dollars is sandwiched class leh ..

Most sinkies also go Asean or China holidays .. those cheaper options.

But anyway those on holiday wont make much diff even let say 50% voters to each side.

WP gain grounds in area they are focus on. But ground gains not enough for them to win. Have to wait for next election then, if they are generally able to gain another 5%, even getting 2 more grc wont be an issue.

Sinkies now see WP as a responsible and rational opposition, their branding of WP works..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.