General S-REITs Discussion Thread

DevilPlate

He has about 150K unrealized gains on an investment of 550K and has earned 275K as dividends over the years. I would assume the 550K includes a portion of the 275K he earned thru dividends. Rest of the dividends have been utilized for some other purposes.

So even if the holdings go down by 20% from the current level, he’ll be in the money. He’s a long term investor and knows what he’s doing and hence should do well.

In fact there’ll be others who’d be more worried about their REITs investment before him.
He prolly started many years ago.

Those who started investing in reits in 2017-2018 all blue black now lol

I started accumulating late last year also blue black now LOL

zeroX26

Late last year prices are similar to prices now, isn't it?

revhappy

He has about 150K unrealized gains on an investment of 550K and has earned 275K as dividends over the years. I would assume the 550K includes a portion of the 275K he earned thru dividends. Rest of the dividends have been utilized for some other purposes.

So even if the holdings go down by 20% from the current level, he’ll be in the money. He’s a long term investor and knows what he’s doing and hence should do well.

In fact there’ll be others who’d be more worried about their REITs investment before him.

I like to take Dec 2019 as the base, because that was pre covid and then see how the portfolio has done over the over Covid and post covid. DW's portfolio was 628K in Dec 2019 and today it is 704k. So almost 4 years of accumulated dividends + salary savings yet portfolio size is only 70k more. So he is definitely hurting.

Another person who openly shares his portfolio is Kyith from Investmentmoats. His portfolio in Dec 2019 was 1.065M and today his networth is 1.188M

So making money in the market is difficult even for the best and knowledgeable investors.

direbmem

Perhaps can see this as one of the benefits of starting early and long term investing, his gains from positions started very early on is cushioning him now from the losses over last few years. But what everyone is not sure now is whether REITs will indeed rebound a few years later. Will need interest rates to half for a super rebound, else if just decrease to 3-4% may just rebound a bit.

DevilPlate

Perhaps can see this as one of the benefits of starting early and long term investing, his gains from positions started very early on is cushioning him now from the losses over last few years. But what everyone is not sure now is whether REITs will indeed rebound a few years later. Will need interest rates to half for a super rebound, else if just decrease to 3-4% may just rebound a bit.
I believe our 10y SGS could average ~2.5% for the next 5-10 years.

So, i m not hoping for a V recovery.
I believe CFA/CLR should be able to recover to ~90cts+ eventually.

Who knows maybe AI indeed can make miracle happen and push down inflation back to 2% over the longer term.

direbmem

I believe our 10y SGS could average ~2.5% for the next 5-10 years.

So, i m not hoping for a V recovery.
I believe CFA/CLR should be able to recover to ~90cts+ eventually.

Who knows maybe AI indeed can make miracle happen and push down inflation back to 2% over the longer term.
Wah but I think many investing into REITs now expect a V rebound 2-3 years down the road leh, like Josh Tan sold HDB to buy REITs...

sohguanh

Wah but I think many investing into REITs now expect a V rebound 2-3 years down the road leh, like Josh Tan sold HDB to buy REITs...
Ppl in REIT are in for dividends mainly not for big capital gain. REIT is special when it appear in SGX around 2000s as the mandate is they need to pay 90%. It was a hit that time as before REIT appear you only have banking and blue chip stocks which give dividends but not mandatory.

DevilPlate

Ppl in REIT are in for dividends mainly not for big capital gain. REIT is special when it appear in SGX around 2000s as the mandate is they need to pay 90%. It was a hit that time as before REIT appear you only have banking and blue chip stocks which give dividends but not mandatory.
Yes, i have faith both my reits etf can eventually turn green and collect 5-6% dividend along the way.
Hopefully can outperform cash lah….else blue black :(

TehSi99

I am not sure if I am correct.

Retis DPU are taking a hit due to rising interest rates. But doesn't it also means it is a matter of time all the Reits will increase rents to keep up with the rising interest rates? It could be a time the DPU normalize when everyone increase rents?

churnmaster

I am not sure if I am correct.

Retis DPU are taking a hit due to rising interest rates. But doesn't it also means it is a matter of time all the Reits will increase rents to keep up with the rising interest rates? It could be a time the DPU normalize when everyone increase rents?
Many of the REITs have invested in properties in other countries and derive their incomes in other currencies which when translated to SGD terms is much lower now compared to earlier.

Increase in commercial rentals is not a given when businesses are closing down. It is unlike the residential rental where you need a roof over your head and would be forced to pay the higher rental.

churnmaster

Indeed, I agree with you.

DevilPlate

Property investment is alot easier for me to hold for very long term.
3X within 20 years.

Whereas for stock market.....i keep in and out buy sell buy sell. I also duno my P&L over the past 20 years whahahaha

stanlawj

Property investment is alot easier for me to hold for very long term.
3X within 20 years

Whereas for stock market.....i keep in and out buy sell buy sell. I also duno my P&L over the past 20 years whahahaha
That 3X is not guaranteed. Your money is stuck for 20 years. Everyday need to pray the price will go up and nothing bad happen to you like retrenchment such that you need to sell the property and suffer loss.

sohguanh

Above is true indeed. Which is why later on I focus on dividend stock means I seldom sell for capital gain. I just monitor the dividends and since using CDP the statement easily available to check one year get how much. You will be surprise at the total becuz each time come in a few ten or at most hundred see nothing but add them all up across all stocks it is quite an amount end of year. Dividend warrior not the first nor the last to use such strategy.

Yeah I know soon dividend disbeliever investor will reply to condemn such strategy I am expecting anyway.

DevilPlate

That 3X is not guaranteed. Your money is stuck for 20 years. Everyday need to pray the price will go up and nothing bad happen to you like retrenchment such that you need to sell the property and suffer loss.
Well, it has worked for me and many others :)

Choose your path and destiny

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.