Getting a condo. Objective advice appreciated

Studio flat very pathetic one. Many people say old liao downgrade condo to hdb, or change from 4 room hdb to 1 room etc. Or even go jb to retire. Say is like very easy because it is still very far from now.

when I retire I sell off condo live with kids take turns visit them
wait out 30 mths go apply EC use up the 2nd chance pay full pass to kids:)

MrCoconut

The TDSR in place has already strength buyers' financial capability. In the past it was 80%, 90%. Most recent buyers are financially strong, they will only sell provided that they earn a substantial amount.

Few years ago I'm also in this situation. About 12k inclusive of OT. In the end still go ahead and bite the bullet and things are working fine. One thing I did was to buy a dual key 3 bedder. We rent out the studio to generate some rental income to help in settling the monthly instalment.

Means u have a tenant staying with you and your family?

MrCoconut

why are sinkies so desperate to gamble har?
monthly salary $4k also want to "dream" about condo living?:s8::s8:
why can't we just happily live in HDB lifelong? old liao can downsize to studio flat also
gov sets up everything easy for sinkies already wor=:p

1 room flat a lot of hoarders siaolang flies and cockroaches. This the gov never tell you.

petetherock

why are sinkies so desperate to gamble har?
monthly salary $4k also want to "dream" about condo living?:s8::s8:
why can't we just happily live in HDB lifelong? old liao can downsize to studio flat also
gov sets up everything easy for sinkies already wor=:p

You can wear Giordarno and be happy or crave for YSL
You can eat at ABC market and enjoy a great meal or crave for Les Amis

If your buddy / classmate / colleague is doing better and he stays in a condo, somehow, some folks need to do the same.
Or be content and enjoy what we have...

If your buddy / classmate / colleague is doing better and he stays in a condo, somehow, some folks need to do the same.

I simply believe no one should violate exceed his own ziwi table limitations by force because it’ll sure backfire de

Clazav

Yes but dual key gives us good privacy. And the privacy is two ways, for tenants and for us. I have 2 kids, so 2 bedrooms for now is sufficient. Few years down the road, when wealth builds up (it is easier to build up with tenant fee), we can stop renting and let the unit be a proper 3 bedder unit.

Means u have a tenant staying with you and your family?

Clazav

Don't worry la, there is nothing wrong with comparing and wanting to outdo your peers and colleagues. Human nature, since when you are studying in schools liao.

Taloona

realistic enough that i'm not looking for like for like. but just looking at space wise, giving up a 5 room space for a 2-3 br space. of course there are the facilities and amenities (how often will one use) and "prestige" (which can't feed me).

You have already answered your question. You prefer a bigger space, don't need the facilities nor prestige so why do you even think of getting a condo?

If it is for investment purpose, then that's another story. In this case, you can't escape the ABSD unless you buy it in someone else's name, someone who has no property in his name but this comes with many risks eg you have no legal right to the property if anything happens.

For me, we bought a condo purely for the swimming pool, my first criterion when choosing a condo is to see if the pool is big enough for a workout.

We also don't mind a smaller space as this means less cleaning to do and less space to keep junk.

We didn't buy a condo so as to follow the Sporean dream (whatever that means). Live your own life and don't follow the crowd.

towkayray

Sad to say, 90% of the millionaires in Singapore are related to property.

But again, most of the bankruptcy related to business.

What are you waiting for? Invest or work?

100% of wealthy families made their wealth through business.

yoongf

Downgrade is not to 1 rm rental flats la.

Take a visit to Kampong Admiralty to better understand the 2rm flexi lifestyle.

1 room flat a lot of hoarders siaolang flies and cockroaches. This the gov never tell you.

Meemoosaa

when I retire I sell off condo live with kids take turns visit them
wait out 30 mths go apply EC use up the 2nd chance pay full pass to kids:)

Oh god no ! Please don't make your kids feel obligated to live with you. If they and their spouse sincerely want to in due time, then it's all cool. Otherwise, it strains everyone's relationship.

It's not about filial piety but rather privacy and control of one's own space.

Better to be self-reliant. :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.