GLGT - [LAI LIAO] - Shanmugam calls out Leong Mun Wai's racist comments, 'condemned' HDB dwellers remark in exchange over race-based policies

looks like a cheenah chauvinist, talks like a cheenah chauvinist, must be a cheenah chauvinist

Lè Crayons

I don't follow LMW. Can someone share the context of what LMW said with regard to 80% of Singaporeans who stay in HDB are condemned? Thanks

Kiwi8

Mad dog barking again...instead of getting real work done

Sigh, I have would hoped that mad dog persist in to pursue Bloomberg for their "inaccurate" report ...to proof his innocence

Anyway this is wat 70% sinkie voted for...song boh
Scumugam only picks on soft oranges. Bloomberg is too hard for him to bite. :o

Linguist

no idea. didn't follow through the whole thing. but if he sold off then good for him. the question is whether CMIO quota is still relevant in todays context. Understand in the past the CMIO quota is justifiable where wanna promote racial harmony and kampong spirit, but in today context, still viable?
Even not viable also doesnt matter since they got 60%.

Race changed candidate is a very good example liao.

Laneige

How come this is news again
Btw did the minister covered on the nric thing?
I always hope our politicians can be not only strict with others but also themselves
To have the same ruler or standards, that tough stance when it comes to not doing the thing right?

Anyway lmw he better also watches what he said
Don’t end up get into trouble over silly choice of words

And they recently changed some requirements etc … didn’t read in details but get the idea (which can be wrong) that non citizens can support those that run or what????
But I thought they always talk abt foreign influence?????
How come this kind is ok? I don’t feel comfortable because the link is considered v direct????
Assuming not wrong understanding, How come if the person whole family roots r not here in sg can be liked this?

Then how or who to ensure the person that runs are really for sg? How do they differentiate real contributions towards sg vs foreign influence on sg n try to behind pull any strings etc??? Like how? Humans r so complicated????

CHINAUSA

this Leong also didn't do his homework well at all

anyhow shoot his mouth and trumpet up there in the house without any facts and hearsay only, then kenna gunned down by others with facts.

apologise how many times liao. Put up not factual FB then retract statement how many times liao.

Like as if play play, stir and stir up there

jeffprobst

I just saw the exchange on Channel 5, and I really didn’t like the way Sham spoke. I used to think he was professional and appreciated his quick rebuttals, but now he just seems arrogant, condescending, and almost like he's bullying others. His previous professionalism, in my eyes, just disappeared after the way he handled this recent exchange.

Rock Hardy

How come the quota is not extended to condos and landed properties ah? Does that means richer folks are exempted from “norms”? :s22:
Racism, classism…no different from the Dem Party in the US. Woke garbage.
Then pls explain why 90% in parliarment are from PAP?
The PAP is no different from the KKK, because everyone wears white. 🤣
I just saw the exchange on Channel 5, and I really didn’t like the way Sham spoke. I used to think he was professional and appreciated his quick rebuttals, but now he just seems arrogant, condescending, and almost like he's bullying others. His previous professionalism, in my eyes, just disappeared after the way he handled this recent exchange.
Older and more desperate. Like the party, his time is short.

inf|uencer

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/k-shanmugam-leong-mun-wai-parliament-multiracial-housing-491822

“Mr Leong has also made comments in this House which are racist, and he has quite freely admitted to that too,” added Mr Shanmugam.

ADVERTISEMENT
Scroll to continue with content
Referring to the parliamentary hansard, Mr Shanmugam cited his exchange with Mr Leong in a September 2021 sitting, during which the topic of the Singapore-India Comprehensive Economic Cooperation Agreement (CECA) was brought up.

Back then, the minister noted that Mr Leong’s comments on CECA had troubled even his own party members who, according to media reports, interpreted the comments as targeting the Indian community and having a racial undertone. Mr Leong eventually said that “there will be some people who will think there is (a) racial undertone”.

“If you look at his comments, the 80 per cent of Singaporeans who live in HDB flats are condemned, and if you combine that with his racist comments, Mr Leong may not put much value in our multiracial approach, he may not put value in our ethnic integration in our housing estates,” said Mr Shanmugam on Wednesday.

He emphasised that the EIP is a key part of the government’s approach to ensure that people are integrated well and that housing estates are well managed.

“And the CMIO is a key plank of those policies,” he said.

In response, Mr Leong said that his party supports the EIP, but takes issue with the economic disadvantages.

“There's an economic cost to the minorities, so we are looking (and) we have recommended in this parliament that we should compensate the minorities for that economic cost they have incurred,” he explained. “We are not against the EIP at all.”

Mr Shanmugam then closed the exchange, noting that Mr Leong did not address his point on the use of the word “condemned” nor allegations of his past racist comments.

"I note that Mr Leong doesn't deny saying that 80 per cent of Singaporeans who live in HDB flats are condemned, and that his comments were racist,” he said.
but what did LMW actually say? i dont see what he said as racist

pwongkk

Shanmugam also used GRC as a form to safeguard minority's right but West Coast GRC already without a minority MP for damn long liao...

Is Shan really sure that the GRC concept is used to safeguard minorities' right?
The GRC system was implemented in 1988.opposition held only SMC then. Does it mean pappies are racists that they need to have GRCs?

What have they represented the minorities in the past 3 decades?

lucky, get it before i zzz

original sources
https://mothership.sg/2025/02/shanmugam-leong-mun-wai-cmio/

Shanmugam jabs Leong Mun Wai for past 'racist' comments, defends CMIO model for racial integration​

Someone brought receipts.

Tharun Suresh
clock

February 05, 2025, 05:53 PM​

LMW deleted or amended his FB post

quote ,, Richard Weng FB
I just went back to his page and wanted to pull out the comments again and surprise!
His comment where he replied to me where he said something about
"Singaporeans are condemned to HDB" has been deleted.
In fact, there are many other comments that I made were also deleted on his page.
So much for a high level of integrity. Well done, LMW. unquote

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/sin...zLZOKxlRYu6eweHUBw_aem_LutkVEzf4ljPxAh5xfT4fA

PSP’s Affordable Homes Scheme is a ‘prepaid rental scheme’ that would raid reserves: Indranee Rajah​

07 Feb 2023 11:47PM(Updated: 08 Feb 2023 08:52AM)

tExtra

Racism, classism…no different from the Dem Party in the US. Woke garbage.
Racial harmony must not be taken for granted.

Sadly, he weaponized it to gain political mileage. I have no idea what’s going on in his mind maybe he and his friends are actually trying to lose. 🤷‍♀️

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.