[GLGT] Minister Ong Ye Kung Responds to KF Seetoh’s Untrue Claims About Bukit Canberra Hawker Centre

NeonX

All hawkers and restaurant owners will tell you the key challenge in their industry is rental and cost of manpower.

I don't know where you get the idea rental have nothing to do with prices.
minister say one, you care tio pofma

xdivider

actually i dun really sympathize with people who signed with their eyes open. dun mind hawker culture dying, ill juz cook at home since i got no hawker near work and hawker food nowadays are pretty meh in the first place. what gets me here is oyk 'refuting' by using strawmen and attempting to change the english language usage in legal terms. on what basis is he a ministar calibre candidate.......

again hawker used to be a way for poor folks to cook stuff at home and bring around in a tow cart or basket to sell. hawker centre is the attempt by g1 to improve hygiene and food safety consolidating them in a cheap corner with standardize cleanliness and hygiene. as it is now, this is outsource to some PROFIT oriented 'social enterprise' and is no better than a food court. so why keep up the pretence? juz bcos u want to wayang for unesco? no substance, all fluff, thats ah dou and his following govts.....

tExtra

Salute Seetoh for standing up like a man, while the humcheese kias all only know how to curry favor , this guy stands tall among our last bastion of protection for local culture and hawkers!
The state or bigger coys should pay for these “initiatives”, not micro businesses.

amankun

The whole debacle is concerning; a minister and state media leaping to the defense of a hawker centre operator. we need to explore the connections between these entities.
Yep, I thought all these new & fancy hawkers are managed by private entities :o

V-FORTY

next time just left with laopasat.
heritage museum style.
charkwayteow? $18
laksa? $20

xdivider

Any update from OKY?
He really shot ownself in the foot. Hawker business he also backside itchy go chap one leg...now kena backlash diam diam act blur liao.
cna and online kind people in places like here keep help him throw smoke grenades........

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.