[GLGT] Minister Ong Ye Kung Responds to KF Seetoh’s Untrue Claims About Bukit Canberra Hawker Centre

jackiehuat

Why let these operators run the hawker centres? They are middleman whose main objective is profit. Why can't NEA operate them directly? Jurong West Hawker Centre was a classic example previously. I am not blaming anyone but a commercial entity cannot be running charity.

jackiehuat

Why let these operators run the hawker centres? They are middleman whose main objective is profit. Why can't NEA operate them directly? Jurong West Hawker Centre was a classic example previously. I am not blaming anyone but a commercial entity cannot be running charity.

kimsix

I don’t like kf seetoh, he keep kpkb want us pay more for hawker food. Yet why he never kp the hawkers quality keeps shrinkflating?

But i am happy to sarpork him take on cocky pap and their 160 media

but i am also sad 65% sarpork such patterns and have 4 more years to forget and mybfde

in the end, nothing will improve our col will continue shrink and priced us out of more things

thwysg

actually i dun really sympathize with people who signed with their eyes open. dun mind hawker culture dying, ill juz cook at home since i got no hawker near work and hawker food nowadays are pretty meh in the first place. what gets me here is oyk 'refuting' by using strawmen and attempting to change the english language usage in legal terms. on what basis is he a ministar calibre candidate.......

again hawker used to be a way for poor folks to cook stuff at home and bring around in a tow cart or basket to sell. hawker centre is the attempt by g1 to improve hygiene and food safety consolidating them in a cheap corner with standardize cleanliness and hygiene. as it is now, this is outsource to some PROFIT oriented 'social enterprise' and is no better than a food court. so why keep up the pretence? juz bcos u want to wayang for unesco? no substance, all fluff, thats ah dou and his following govts.....
I’m quite lucky that there’s an old hawker centre near my place, and some still sell their food as low as $3.50 (mains, including simple tze char), so we still do get our weekend meals from there. However, there are a few new gen stalls, e.g. selling kopi o and teh o at $1.80 each. I might as well just go to those old stalls and get them at $1.10 each instead.

When these old hawkers are gone, I’ll be worried about the prices. And probably just cook all meals at home instead.

klim668

I don’t like kf seetoh, he keep kpkb want us pay more for hawker food. Yet why he never kp the hawkers quality keeps shrinkflating?

But i am happy to sarpork him take on cocky pap and their 160 media

but i am also sad 65% sarpork such patterns and have 4 more years to forget and mybfde

in the end, nothing will improve our col will continue shrink and priced us out of more things
I also don't like him. All the while he was fighting only for his own lot (ie, the hawkers), the common people's interests are never his concern.

standarture

Looks better on their PNL and liability also.

xdivider

I’m quite lucky that there’s an old hawker centre near my place, and some still sell their food as low as $3.50 (mains, including simple tze char), so we still do get our weekend meals from there. However, there are a few new gen stalls, e.g. selling kopi o and teh o at $1.80 each. I might as well just go to those old stalls and get them at $1.10 each instead.

When these old hawkers are gone, I’ll be worried about the prices. And probably just cook all meals at home instead.
Yup same. Oldtimers all retire or uplorry. The ft cook one are mediocre....

twosix

Very simple. Govt wants to keep these companies from dying, so give them work to do. Actually their roles r totally redundant. Govt can actually employ more staff to manage the hawker centers.

Hyperephania

I think hawker and cafe culture should die in SG. It's just matter of time. Some scholars want it because of the UNESCO marketing titles at the expense of turning human beings to some sort of circus for tourist. Is it really about cheap food or cheap marketing
As long as can milk - it won't die.

Even if hawkers die in all the heartlands, they can always build one for tourist for the hype and you know the prices won't be cheap, i.e. maxwell, newton...

How many tourists you can see eating at canberra :s13: the tourist will think go there maybe need to chop passport.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.