[GLGT] Minister Ong Ye Kung Responds to KF Seetoh’s Untrue Claims About Bukit Canberra Hawker Centre

focus1974

Anyone who refuses to do charity should be fined and publicly shamed.

charity begins with you. :)

Heng, i dont earn much..so my contribution has been $1,200 yearly since I started working in my 20s till now..

SO dont shame me. I already feel shameful i never adjust the amount to keep up with inflation.

JustForFun

Got, bro — it's not just about food, but also about how the hawker centre is run. If some stall doesn’t participate in these community or health initiatives—they could face fines or demerit points. Means you can’t simply opt out. It's like hawker centre turned mini social policy lab—your job: sell food, disclose calories, keep meals cheap, help the needy... or pay penalty. Good intentions, but ah, the squeeze is real.

Authority and appointed Managing Agent (linked to PAP?) should "stop" all these bullying and "power abuse" against honest hawker ?

President and PM of Singapore sleeping or endorsing ?

No one audit Managing Agent for any abuse or inappropriateness ?

eno_lc

Now they try to spin it and say since the scheme haven’t started so there will be no penalty lol. If this hooha didn’t surface then it would be real penalty :s42:

Sango123

From BCHC FB posting dated 12 Aug 2025:

"𝐏𝐚𝐲-𝐈𝐭-𝐅𝐨𝐫𝐰𝐚𝐫𝐝 𝐏𝐫𝐨𝐠𝐫𝐚𝐦𝐦𝐞
Our objectives to manage Bukit Canberra Hawker Centre are to build community, preserve hawker heritage and meet public's needs for affordable, healthy meals. That is why we promote healthier eating, eco-friendly and productive operations. We also wanted to foster a caring society and encourage paying-it-forward.

During the stall application stage three years ago, we attracted overwhelming interest, with 9 applicants for each available stall. It was not easy to select stall tenants. Other than offering affordable and quality meals, we also incorporated into our selection criteria hawkers who shared our vision to pay-it-forward to the community, through the offering of free meals to the low income. As hawkers were selected on this basis, we incorporated Pay-it-Forward into the tenancy contract.

After the hawker centre was opened, we discussed further with stallholders on the Pay-It-Forward programme, and significantly reduced the original arrangement of 30 meals per month to a total of 100 meals over the three-year tenancy period, averaging fewer than three meals per month. This revised arrangement was reflected in our contract variation with our hawkers in around August 2023.

Even so, the Pay-it-Forward programme has not officially started. We need to be able to identify low-income residents, and able to track their eligibility. Those preparatory work has not been done yet. So, there is no obligation on the part of the hawkers, and no penalties to speak of. While hawkers have voluntarily agreed to participate at the point of selection, we also acknowledged the view that charity should not be contractual, and this is something to be reviewed again when the Pay-It -Forward programme is ready."

Read the above response and digest yourself.
I am so touched till I want to join the CHG asap.

Haiz, if it is all in writing then no choice liao

Then what was OYK saying?

skytan13

𝐒𝐮𝐩𝐩𝐥𝐢𝐞𝐫 𝐃𝐞𝐥𝐢𝐯𝐞𝐫𝐲 𝐒𝐩𝐚𝐜𝐞
Canopy Hawkers Group (CHG) does not charge stallholders a monthly fee for a space outside each stall for suppliers to drop off deliveries. Such arrangements take place today at no additional cost to our hawkers. However, if a stallholder wishes to rent additional space outside their stall boundary for storage purposes on an ongoing basis, a Temporary Occupational Licence (TOL) fee would apply. This is a common and standard practice across many hawker centres and markets in Singapore. There was a receipt of $70 being circulated online, and it was shown to be for the TOL.

~~~~~~~~~~~~
NO leh , common meh....maybe need to check with NEA liao.

If say common those TOL at hdb shops usage, means u pay...no permanent or not, cos end day when closing must bring inside.

COS nothing should be permanent in public area UNLESS CHG cleared FSB and SCDF bah, from some of the pictures from CNA and what not so much things in those area . Fire Hazard

JustForFun

𝐒𝐮𝐩𝐩𝐥𝐢𝐞𝐫 𝐃𝐞𝐥𝐢𝐯𝐞𝐫𝐲 𝐒𝐩𝐚𝐜𝐞
Canopy Hawkers Group (CHG) does not charge stallholders a monthly fee for a space outside each stall for suppliers to drop off deliveries. Such arrangements take place today at no additional cost to our hawkers. However, if a stallholder wishes to rent additional space outside their stall boundary for storage purposes on an ongoing basis, a Temporary Occupational Licence (TOL) fee would apply. This is a common and standard practice across many hawker centres and markets in Singapore. There was a receipt of $70 being circulated online, and it was shown to be for the TOL.

~~~~~~~~~~~~
NO leh , common meh....maybe need to check with NEA liao.

NEA (civil servants of Singapore) allows these nonsense ? 😮

NEA should come out with explanation and be firm to whole nation and citizen on these claims ?

Laneige

I really don’t follow this news but saw a glimpse of previous thread
So now I know why got this thing abt reporters liao
Is it asking the tenants n interview them at the coffeeshop or hawker center vs asking them at the location

wa sometimes the common sense thing
And then how ppl don’t like confrontation in sg …

krikering

focus1974

This is not Ong Y K call. He is not helming the ministry that governs hawkers.
he never learnt not to butt into other people's dai chi ah.
now he is associated with it..
the other minister..arm chio. hehe

corporate 101 leh
customers shoot director A.
Director A never say anything, Director B come out and defend.
customers of course aim Director B now lah. U want take responsibiliy, we aim you.

Now.. Director B in a quandry.
Should I throw it back to Director A.
but if I throw back to Director A, it shows got problem, i first one to jump ship. Dont look good on me.
haiz... me and my ... haiz...

focus1974

Wonder when the other minister will clarify.
In any case, govt should lower the rent of hawkers who provide charity meals.
corporate 101 leh
customers shoot director A.
Director A never say anything, Director B come out and defend.
customers of course aim Director B now lah. U want take responsibiliy, we aim you.

Now.. Director B in a quandry.
Should I throw it back to Director A.
but if I throw back to Director A, it shows got problem, i first one to jump ship. Dont look good on me.
haiz... me and my ... haiz...

Itsthatguy

wtf is there even such a phrase lmao

in hokkien this is called use other people foreskin as own face skin

Have got。

用别人的包皮当脸皮 (use other person's foreskin as own face skin)

or

把别人的屁股当做脸皮 (use other person's backside as own face skin)

Please note the above is purely for educational purpose only and not an expressed opinion.:( Don't give me anymore NTUC points.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.