Google Nexus 7 2nd generation

jchoong

For those facing battery drain issues, check the apps you have installed, and monitor battery drain using apps like wake lock detector. I can leave my set alone for an entire day and it's about 90% or more when I get home late at night.

In other news, I haven't received the Q update yet.

I absolutely agree. Rooting and flashing custom ROMs is seldom the solution. To me, both Nexus 7 and Nexus 4 on stock 4.3 is still the most stable and optimised setup; the only change I have made is to use a 3rd party Launcher. I stopped rooting 6 months ago! (I don't mean to flame rooting proponents).

micarforum

any recommendation for OTG cables for Nexus 7 (2013)? I just want it to read SD cards, preferably without a cable, just an adapter

cheekeong_7

I bought the clear screen protector from messi1986. The quality is good and doesn't affect the clarity at all. PM me if anyone needs help in pasting screen protectors. I can do it for free. :)

Anyone need a SP feel free to PM me! Have a nice day everyone! :)

amarawi

I absolutely agree. Rooting and flashing custom ROMs is seldom the solution. To me, both Nexus 7 and Nexus 4 on stock 4.3 is still the most stable and optimised setup; the only change I have made is to use a 3rd party Launcher. I stopped rooting 6 months ago! (I don't mean to flame rooting proponents).

Oops.. hahaha, yeah if you have a poor battery life compared to the average other users.. you should check for wakelocks or service hogs or things that might keep your gps active etc (any apps causing this will ensure poor battery life whichever rom you use.)

Rooting is more for advance control... a clean rom without half the google apps can improve batt.. if you're hardcore on battery life, you can even underclock further your cpu etc..

Or just enjoy even simple tweaks like this:
AWKIQFS.png

Just an example ebook reader, a page fits perfectly when you can hide the system bar...
So for ebooks, I made it trully fullscreen and with PIE controls for navigation. :)

dagobah

Wah lau eh, today even worse. Nexus 7 was totally drained when I get home. Just wondering... Will rooting and installing another ROM solve this problem?

seriously, you should be thinking about what apps or services are causing the drainage. hopefully, it not a hardware problem, instead of thinking about custom rom solving your problem.

Fresh charged, reboot it, 30mins - 1hr later, check battery settings and running apps settings... screencaps and show us...

uHS5bJh.jpg
cR3Cfoy.jpg

PyMdLa8.jpg

tnk001

Ok thanks. I will do that when I get home tonight.

Just want to point out a few things first
1) I tried Safe Mode. Doesn't help.
2) Using apps like BBS and Wakelock Detector, it is a kernel wakelock call pil-gss that's causing the problem.

I agree that rooting is unlikely to solve the problem. I thought if I use a ROM with different kernel, then it may help.

Once again, thanks for all the help. Gam Dong!

leafforme

I am a newbie about nexus 7 and all about rooting and custom roms....

I have read the difference between the two but still dont really understand it...you can do custom roms but no need root? CM10.2 etc, these are rooting or custom roms?

Totally lost about it..or maybe i should just leave it as stock rom? If this is the case, is it worth it to get an android tablet?

Went to xda forum to read about it but couldnt catch any ball as well. any fellow peeps that can give a clear explanantion if it doesnt kill too much of your time?

sanfong

Anyone encountered Android 4.3 Issue 58277 when connecting OTG using Nexus Media Importer?

LemonPlusTea

I am a newbie about nexus 7 and all about rooting and custom roms....

I have read the difference between the two but still dont really understand it...you can do custom roms but no need root? CM10.2 etc, these are rooting or custom roms?

Totally lost about it..or maybe i should just leave it as stock rom? If this is the case, is it worth it to get an android tablet?

Went to xda forum to read about it but couldnt catch any ball as well. any fellow peeps that can give a clear explanantion if it doesnt kill too much of your time?

rooting basically gives you extra permissions to do stuff that normal android doesn't allow you to do, while a custom rom is totally different.

the ROM you're running on now is probably stock JB 4.3, while custom roms are the likes of CM10.2, Paranoid Android etc. These will alter the system of the nexus 7 altogether, meaning you may get some extra features that the developers of CM10.2 built into the device that you cannot find on stock ROMs. All of these custom ROMs should already have root built in, so don't worry about needing to root after you flash the custom ROMs

Personally, I rooted and switched ROMs on my S3, waiting for my nexus 7 to arrive. If you're not too comfortable with switching roms, you can just use it normally with the stock JB rom I guess. But if you're keen to customize stuff, like your boot screen, undervolt/overclock your device, then custom ROMs are the way to go.

amarawi

in lay man terms root is an act of getting "administration control" over your device.
Doing this will allow you to access system files, change the operating system and even changing how some of the hardware operates. Note that this will also break down most of the android security measures as system files etc are now accessible.

roms are like operating systems. Since android is open source, many independent developers customize it to suit their taste. Many let their custom roms open for anyone to download and use or even modify further. Every rom will have their own special features.

You are required to root your device to install a custom rom.

Leaving it at stock rom is perfectly alright. I believe most users leave their devices in stock form (and it is safer:s13:).

I personally left my phone in stock... (and I think you can already do a lot more things than what you can on an iPhone, but both has it's pros and cons ;) )

If you wanna try out, I posted a step by step tutorial on rooting your device: http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/79041384-post2599.html

If it's still a bit much to handle, I'm pretty sure there are 1-click root solution you can find with a google search.
But remember, rooting isn't always a good thing... and it does tend to give you some problems you need to fix along the way.. if you want a trouble-free interface, it's best to leave it at stock...

Hope that helps. :)

leafforme

rooting basically gives you extra permissions to do stuff that normal android doesn't allow you to do, while a custom rom is totally different.

the ROM you're running on now is probably stock JB 4.3, while custom roms are the likes of CM10.2, Paranoid Android etc. These will alter the system of the nexus 7 altogether, meaning you may get some extra features that the developers of CM10.2 built into the device that you cannot find on stock ROMs. All of these custom ROMs should already have root built in, so don't worry about needing to root after you flash the custom ROMs

Personally, I rooted and switched ROMs on my S3, waiting for my nexus 7 to arrive. If you're not too comfortable with switching roms, you can just use it normally with the stock JB rom I guess. But if you're keen to customize stuff, like your boot screen, undervolt/overclock your device, then custom ROMs are the way to go.

in lay man terms root is an act of getting "administration control" over your device.
Doing this will allow you to access system files, change the operating system and even changing how some of the hardware operates. Note that this will also break down most of the android security measures as system files etc are now accessible.

roms are like operating systems. Since android is open source, many independent developers customize it to suit their taste. Many let their custom roms open for anyone to download and use or even modify further. Every rom will have their own special features.

You are required to root your device to install a custom rom.

Leaving it at stock rom is perfectly alright. I believe most users leave their devices in stock form (and it is safer:s13:).

I personally left my phone in stock... (and I think you can already do a lot more things than what you can on an iPhone, but both has it's pros and cons ;) )

If you wanna try out, I posted a step by step tutorial on rooting your device: http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/79041384-post2599.html

If it's still a bit much to handle, I'm pretty sure there are 1-click root solution you can find with a google search.
But remember, rooting isn't always a good thing... and it does tend to give you some problems you need to fix along the way.. if you want a trouble-free interface, it's best to leave it at stock...

Hope that helps. :)

Ahhhh....clearer now..thanks! :s13:

djzilch

just ordered the nillkin case off ebay for my 32gb n7, total damage less than 20SGD

now just waiting for it to arrive!! :D

by the way anyone else having issues getting good hi res wallpaper?

all those zedge wallpapers look blurry and pixellated on the nexus full hd screen

the screen too hi-res hahahaha!

ngeray

Bad news i just found out multi touch issues..
It wasnt here before after tests. But maybe my test were not throughout enough.
Just now while using my right side of screen went unresponsive. so i re download the multi touch app to try. when i touch a certain point of the screen on the right i receive 4 touch response..

And i thought i was lucky..

LemonPlusTea

wah lao..
I order from google thought since they in CA when they ship to my cgw address will be faster since Oregon..

Sian sia now they just send me the tracking my nexus 7 in KY. 5 days to get to oregon... siiiiiannnnnnn :(

micarforum

Bad news i just found out multi touch issues..
It wasnt here before after tests. But maybe my test were not throughout enough.
Just now while using my right side of screen went unresponsive. so i re download the multi touch app to try. when i touch a certain point of the screen on the right i receive 4 touch response..

And i thought i was lucky..

update your OS liao?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.