Google Nexus 7 Thread - Part 2

charmingaladdin

Burn road there very wulu, u need to take queue... I went there once I scare Liao... Haha, I drop my n7 there and a week later den take back... They will call u when it's ok... Remember to go there early, cos the queue is super long on sat, so far no sore throat after repair... I'm getting a blue tooth adapter for my speaker

Nearest MRT station is Tai Seng (Circle line). Walking distance and won't take you more than 10 mins to reach the building.

royfrosty

Hi guys,

I have been doing lots of research regarding our n7 3g not switching to HSPA+.

A month back I realized that the device doesn't toggle to HSPA+ despite that Google has advertised the n7 3g has HSPA+ support.

I'm beginning to feel that it is our local telco is not supporting HSPA+ for this device. All the APN settings are as good as generic. Not set.

Just to do a quick check. Anyone on SH or ST? Have you ever hit more than 7.2mbps? For me everyday at my m1 office I can hit maximum of 7mbps. This is actually the speed of our normal HSPA not HSPA+/HSPAP.

By right with HSPA+ we could hit an easy 12mbps or more.

Try this. Run a speed test on background. While running, minimize it and head to settings, about device, status. Does it toggle to HSPA 10 or HSPA 15? Let me know. If everyone stays at HSPA 10 then my suspect is true. Our local telco does not have nexus 7 3g configurations. And I will voice out to the necessary department.

kEvinErd

royfrosty said:
Yes can.

Actually can just don't on so loud all the time. Just take care of it.

Use dolphin lah. Seriously chrome isn't that good at all. Use dolphin and set gestures. Another way just flick harder. It should bring you to the end or top.

Eh not true leh regarding the speakers..l've never turned on max Volume and yet my device went sore throat after merely 2 weeks. Volume is always at 40-50% usually if turned on. *

kEvinErd

Hi guys,

A month back I realized that the device doesn't toggle to HSPA+ despite that Google has advertised the n7 3g has HSPA+ support.

I'm beginning to feel that it is our local telco is not supporting HSPA+ for this device. All the APN settings are as good as generic. Not set.

Just to do a quick check. Anyone on SH or ST? Have you ever hit more than 7.2mbps? For me everyday at my m1 office I can hit maximum of 7mbps. This is actually the speed of our normal HSPA not HSPA+/HSPAP.

Try this. Run a speed test on background. While running, minimize it and head to settings, about device, status. Does it toggle to HSPA 10 or HSPA 15? Let me know. If everyone stays at HSPA 10 then my suspect is true. Our local telco does not have nexus 7 3g configurations. And I will voice out to the necessary department.
Im on starhub..can test for you later when I get a strong data connection. Are you however able to voice to starhub as well ?Hahaha

Gribber

Hi guys,

you think too highly of our MSPs :)

kennyboy

Dependent on location lah. I can hit 13mbps in Ah Tiong town, Suckhub.

S5EMJ.jpg

kEvinErd

Should not be an issue. Thanks in advance.
Oh no forgot I'm sending in my nexus 7 to the hospital for its sore throat. Can only help test 5 days later after collection. Kennyboy is on starhub and will be able to help you. Haha

Asus service center is really crowded to the max. Queued 1.5hrs before my nexus 7 can be warded. Just like a real hospital. Saw plenty of laptops being sent in.. And two other nexus 7 too.

royfrosty

Dependent on location lah. I can hit 13mbps in Ah Tiong town, Suckhub.

S5EMJ.jpg

Thanks, When it is doing a speed test can you minimize and go to settings>about tablet>Status check under network type. For SH if im not wrong is it HSPA 9? or is it HSPA 10? Did you manage to see HSPA 15?

royfrosty

Oh no forgot I'm sending in my nexus 7 to the hospital for its sore throat. Can only help test 5 days later after collection. Kennyboy is on starhub and will be able to help you. Haha

Asus service center is really crowded to the max. Queued 1.5hrs before my nexus 7 can be warded. Just like a real hospital. Saw plenty of laptops being sent in.. And two other nexus 7 too.

Roger that. Its ok. Now left with ST users.

kennyboy

Thanks, When it is doing a speed test can you minimize and go to settings>about tablet>Status check under network type. For SH if im not wrong is it HSPA 9? or is it HSPA 10? Did you manage to see HSPA 15?
Old screenshot, next time I go AT Town i try again.

nicky9258

Mine's HSPA 10

Weird Firefox can run but my Chrome and some apps suddenly cannot use SH HSPA.

Error message:HTTP Error 504 : Gateway Timeout

Anyone knows how to set it bad, most apps are fine just Chrome and a few apps

royfrosty

Mine's HSPA 10

Weird Firefox can run but my Chrome and some apps suddenly cannot use SH HSPA.

Error message:HTTP Error 504 : Gateway Timeout

Anyone knows how to set it bad, most apps are fine just Chrome and a few apps

Not sure about that. May i know what is your current telco?

Vismark

Can the default setting show my battery %?
And also can I put all my apps into folder?
I mean the place where they show you all the apps with the default apps,not our home screen one

buzzmario

I mean the place where they show you all the apps with the default apps,not our home screen one

by help of fellower brother here.

battery, install widget

your sec question, i dun understand.

royfrosty

1st is use battery widget. 2nd is use a customize launcher. I think that should work.

Gribber

by help of fellower brother here.

battery, install widget

your sec question, i dun understand.

1st is use battery widget. 2nd is use a customize launcher. I think that should work.

ICS onwards already have default % need not install battery widget to see %.
(settings > display > display battery percentage)

try go launcher to put apps into folders

royfrosty

ICS onwards already have default % need not install battery widget to see %.
(settings > display > display battery percentage)

try go launcher to put apps into folders

There was never an option for that in nexus 7.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.