Google Nexus 7 Thread - Part 2

zrhunag

Hi all,
Im on paranoid android ROM.
StarHub multisim
I'm getting *decent* speed on speed test.
Surfing n game (samurai empire) is crawling, i couldn't even get a decent timing on the game.

But it take enternity to load Google Current and flipbook article.

My APN.
Internet
Proxy: 10.12.1.2

Anyone facing poor 3g at any location or just StarHub?
Is there a better settings for apn?

ykeen

Hi all,

My APN.
Internet

for starhub, just use shinternet for APN lor..

any proxy watever just blank la no need key :D

kEvinErd

Hi all,
StarHub multisim
Surfing n game (samurai empire) is crawling, i couldn't even get a decent timing on the game.

My APN.
Internet

Any comments on the pie from PA rom? LMT launcher just came up with their pie too. Wondering which is better. Haha

kennyboy

If you don't mind having the notification bar disappearing totally, then PA is still ok. But I personally can't stand that, so it's LMT for me. :(

kEvinErd

If you don't mind having the notification bar disappearing totally, then PA is still ok. But I personally can't stand that, so it's LMT for me. :(

Will the LMT be able to hide the navigation bar? I personally prefer to keep the notification bar and do away with the navigation bar... PA pie hides both the navigation bar and Notification bar while lmt does not hide either.

kennyboy

Will the LMT be able to hide the navigation bar? I personally prefer to keep the notification bar and do away with the navigation bar... PA pie hides both the navigation bar and Notification bar while lmt does not hide either.
LMT doesn't hide, but some custom roms for the N7 does have the function. But if u dun wanna use custom rom then I have no solution for ya. :(

kingsfall

I think it's just StarHub. I'm on multisim too, but all this while they've been giving me shiit and inconsistent speed. I've already written in to their cso in hopes of ending my contract early with a full waive. I'm going really hard on them this time round as they've been giving me empty promises. Telling me they're improving their networks. If my demands are not settled, I won't hesitate to write in to IDA. You can join me to write in if you want.
Hi all,
StarHub multisim

My APN.
Internet

kennyboy

It's definitely location based, so unless there's a mass batch of whining from your location, u can pretty much forget about ur telco "wasting" money to improve ur data speeds - even less reason now they're running headlong into LTE. :( The costs involved in placating you is surely not worth it.

Here's what I got most recently at Chinatown. It's definitely the fastest speeds I got so far.

mGEhNlL.png

@royfrosty
Pretty much it showed as HSPA10 in settings all the time. My Nexus 4 did show HSPA15, but results wise it's pretty much the same except that the upload speed did hit around 1.4xmbps. Both are on Suckhub. Maybe less congestion on Suckhub in Chinatown...I dunno. :(

13mbps is still within the theoretical limits of HSPA. What's more, Suckhub states their typical HSPA+ speed ranges from 1.4 - 9.9Mbps. So dun expect things to change any time soon. In fact, don't expect things to change EVER. :)

royfrosty

It's definitely location based, so unless there's a mass batch of whining from your location, u can pretty much forget about ur telco "wasting" money to improve ur data speeds - even less reason now they're running headlong into LTE. :( The costs involved in placating you is surely not worth it.

Here's what I got most recently at Chinatown. It's definitely the fastest speeds I got so far.

mGEhNlL.png

@royfrosty
Pretty much it showed as HSPA10 in settings all the time. My Nexus 4 did show HSPA15, but results wise it's pretty much the same except that the upload speed did hit around 1.4xmbps. Both are on Suckhub. Maybe less congestion on Suckhub in Chinatown...I dunno. :(

13mbps is still within the theoretical limits of HSPA. What's more, Suckhub states their typical HSPA+ speed ranges from 1.4 - 9.9Mbps. So dun expect things to change any time soon. In fact, don't expect things to change EVER. :)

Thanks for the feedback. What we know as of now is that LTE is the only solution for telcos to ease the serious congestions in our 3G network. More bandwidth and cheaper than 3G. Transmission fibre on LTE network is huge and cheaper.

I found the reason why our nexus 7 did not show HSPA 15. The reason is that the maximum speed for n7 is at 21mbps which classifies under hspa10. Real dchspa or HSDPA+ is at 42mbps.

royfrosty

Actually 13.5mbps is really generous sia strarhub at Chinatown lol.

If its at 6am at there then possible lol.

kennyboy

Actually 13.5mbps is really generous sia strarhub at Chinatown lol.

If its at 6am at there then possible lol.
It's actually around 6pm. I dunno why, but the speeds there are pretty decent regardless of time. Meanwhile, 1 bus stop away at Tiong Bahru, the different is like heaven and hell. :(

kennyboy

Thanks for the feedback. What we know as of now is that LTE is the only solution for telcos to ease the serious congestions in our 3G network. More bandwidth and cheaper than 3G. Transmission fibre on LTE network is huge and cheaper.

I found the reason why our nexus 7 did not show HSPA 15. The reason is that the maximum speed for n7 is at 21mbps which classifies under hspa10. Real dchspa or HSDPA+ is at 42mbps.
I dunno much, but I found this pic..... :D

IkZPeCb.jpg

kEvinErd

LMT doesn't hide, but some custom roms for the N7 does have the function. But if u dun wanna use custom rom then I have no solution for ya. :(

I was following PA on G+. Think the upcoming PA version will be able to use the pie without activating expanded desktop. Meaning you can keep the notification bar!

kennyboy

I was following PA on G+. Think the upcoming PA version will be able to use the pie without activating expanded desktop. Meaning you can keep the notification bar!
Finally....let us know when it's out? :D

thechew

Using Portenzo Hardback with black rubber side strap and blue for inner lining colour.

wwhkr8.jpg

1em5ig.jpg

Very high quality and fitting case. A lot of colours to customise too.

how much is that in sgd?
im considering getting one but the wait time and the adhesive are making me think twice.

whats your opinion on the adhesive strips?

and is anyone here selling or doing a mass order?!

zrhunag

how much is that in sgd?
im considering getting one but the wait time and the adhesive are making me think twice.

whats your opinion on the adhesive strips?

and is anyone here selling or doing a mass order?!

I'm using DODOcase with the same adhesive. Its impressive. Removed and stick on again. Works like a charm

Vismark

Anyone use mx player to watch video on their n7? Did you find that the battery is draining very fast.
I watch 1 running man episode and it deduct around 40%

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.