Google Nexus 7 Thread - Part 2

kingsfall

yeah HSPA+ is probably good enough but the 3 telcos didn't upgrade the infra well enough to accommodate the huge user base since everyone started having iphones years back..

now they are hoping we jump to LTE by not upgrading the 3G infra:s22:

but n7 cannot access LTE right

kingsfall

for those using 3g version of n7, do you guys get lousy network speed? or is it just me. im on starhub and my network speed has been very lousy recently. dunno why :(

lorettatay

for those using 3g version of n7, do you guys get lousy network speed? or is it just me. im on starhub and my network speed has been very lousy recently. dunno why :(

im using that and also starhub and speed is horrid. i complain till i sian.

autumm

Hi, I'm taking orders for items from B&H. Expected price $325 plus shipping. Takes 12-15 days

Sorry people. I made a mistake as i did not redo my calculations. That was the price i paid when i purchase mine last Dec. Expected price is suppose to be $335-340 plus shipping.

Those interested can PM me

autumm

Any 16gig wifi?

As far as i know, it seems that u can only find 16gb from google stores now which would incur around 15USD just for shipping within the states. That narrows the difference between 16gb and 32gb to just 35USD. Thats why i choose to get 32gb instead.

ykeen

nexus 7 can put usb sim data dongle?

but n7 cannot access LTE right

can..

just get OTG Adapter + ROOT + PPPWidget...

I'm using my 4G modem with my Nexus 7 Wifi model.. :D Truly 4G LTE Nexus 7 tablet :s13: bypass sucky Singtel 3G network..

but not pretty la.. coz got extra dongle.. haha

IMG_20130128_171816_zpse1736568.jpg

royfrosty

Depends on locations. How far are you from the nearest base station (bts). Depends on timing, peak or non peak. Depends on traffic, CBD or residential.

Normally for me at workplace i have some what a good download speed of 6.5~7.2mbps. Uplink is about 1.3~2mbps. Thats non peak period. Lunch time or Pang Kang timing 1mbps~2mbps. Uplink is 700kbps~1mbps.

At home is slightly slower 2~4mbps downlink. 500kbps~1mbps uplink. Lunch period or Pang Kang period is :s22: 500kbps~1mbps downlink. 100kbps~300kbps uplink.

Places like CBD, is as good as might as well dont use during Lunch time.

dinochom

Even if it does. I dont think it has the power to run it.

I am running the WD my passport essential - 1 Tb and it is running well, I can read and write onto the drive. Do note that it does drain more power than a typical thumbdrive.

However, some older portable hard disk require more power like my 120Gb portable maxtor hard drive that I had for more than 3 years and is not able to run it though.

So yes, it depends on the power not the space.

ykeen

Does anyone know if Seagate's 1tb Expansion portable drive can be detected by Nexus 7?

I am running the WD my passport essential - 1 Tb and it is running well, I can read and write onto the drive. Do note that it does drain more power than a typical thumbdrive.

However, some older portable hard disk require more power like my 120Gb portable maxtor hard drive that I had for more than 3 years and is not able to run it though.

So yes, it depends on the power not the space.

maybe can use a powered USB hub.. but then also means is not very mobile liao need to be near an AC power source.. :o

bakedcricket

I'm actually considering to buy a n7, but if it can't read my hard disk I would have to reconsider my decision. D:

royfrosty

I'm actually considering to buy a n7, but if it can't read my hard disk I would have to reconsider my decision. D:

Hmm. Quite quite hard leh. As in I don't know why you need to use a HDD on the go. Bringing a HDD around dont seems feasible? For me I have a cloud drive at home so I didn't really care.

Just curious why a HDD with the n7? If you don't mind....

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.