Google Nexus 7 Thread - Part 2

kEvinErd

Tried for a few days. Don't really like it. Revert back to slim bean. Then now on PA nightly build.

Hmm what about Dirty AOKP did you not like about it?

I haven't tried it personally but the feature "Hidden Nav Bar - Swipe up to expose" looks interesting to me!

mlwang

anyone can recommend a portable charger for nexus 7? quite hard to find one that gives output of 2mah.. thanks

search around this forum newtrent, using it for few weeks now, quick good, can output 2mah, and it holds its charge well.

royfrosty

Hmm what about Dirty AOKP did you not like about it?

I haven't tried it personally but the feature "Hidden Nav Bar - Swipe up to expose" looks interesting to me!

Their performance to me is not to my liking. Is about the same as the original ROM. And the battery is so so nia. The hidden bar hmmmmm. Not bad. Good idea. Could be just a start ba. Must wait for their future update as it is still new.

royfrosty

search around this forum newtrent, using it for few weeks now, quick good, can output 2mah, and it holds its charge well.

There are many at SLS. Can go take a look. One tour at SLS from top floor to ground floor you can easily find many shops selling yoobao and other brands.

shadow84

There are many at SLS. Can go take a look. One tour at SLS from top floor to ground floor you can easily find many shops selling yoobao and other brands.

and they will chop carrot you gao gao.... 1st 3 floors are for conning tourists and newbies, lvl 4 and 5 have a few respectable shops.

royfrosty

and they will chop carrot you gao gao.... 1st 3 floors are for conning tourists and newbies, lvl 4 and 5 have a few respectable shops.

No doubt. But of cause check carefully lah. There are some shops selling at lv1 to 3 that strictly selling accessories for mobiles. Of cause. Do your own research before going to purchase.

I bought from them a 10400mAh battery at $45.

Word of advice is that just do research before heading down to SLS.

kazuki666

Could be many cases.

1. Are you using the original charger that comes with it. If not then are you using a 5v 2.1A charger head?

I tried using original charger and usb cable whole night like 6hrs. The batter not only didn't increase, it dropped 5%...

2. Are you using the original USB cable to charge together with the charger? Cause 3rd party cables will affect the output current. And may not be able to charge properly. Too long or too short or too thick or too thin will also affect the charging time.

From start, I all along have been using my HTC phone charger+cable, and it works fine.

3. If you are charging using the computer USB port then stop charging using the computer USB port as it might not even charge at all.

Nope, not charging via pc

4. Is there any super draining apps that are draining your battery other than your screen?

8567840085_042931fa2e_z.jpg

I think there is nothing draining badly right?

5. Are you using a USA pin converter to charge your tablet? Chances are that converter is faulty. Might need to change.

errr my set is the SH foc from contract renewal de. I supposed its local sg set?

6. Check are you using any 3 sockets to one socket extension plug? If so it could be that socket is faulty. Cause there might be a case where by the current load is shared to the limit. For instance I have a 2A charger and a 2A iron and a fan in one socket. There isn't enough current.

Nope.

Check all the above mention first. If all fails then just send in for servicing at Tai Seng 8th Burn Road.

But the strange thing is that if I plug in my yoobao portable battery, it does charge!:s22: But I notice its much slower than usual.... :( :(

royfrosty

But the strange thing is that if I plug in my yoobao portable battery, it does charge!:s22: But I notice its much slower than usual.... :( :(

I notice you said that all this while you have been using the HTC phone charger and wire.

Now. This is not rated 2A charger. If it is a 1A charger it will take you 6hours to charge.

NEVER ever try to use a 1A charger to charge a larger capacity battery.

Use the original charger provided with the original cable with no extensions of wire or whatsoever. Just the cable and the charger head.

If it fails to charge from 0-100% within 3hours-4hours max then it could be the charger or the set is faulty. Bring it back to service centre.

If you claimed that the Yoobao can charge your tablet but a much slower rate means that your Yoobao could be running on 1A output.

kazuki666

I notice you said that all this while you have been using the HTC phone charger and wire.

Now. This is not rated 2A charger. If it is a 1A charger it will take you 6hours to charge.

NEVER ever try to use a 1A charger to charge a larger capacity battery.

Use the original charger provided with the original cable with no extensions of wire or whatsoever. Just the cable and the charger head.

If it fails to charge from 0-100% within 3hours-4hours max then it could be the charger or the set is faulty. Bring it back to service centre.

If you claimed that the Yoobao can charge your tablet but a much slower rate means that your Yoobao could be running on 1A output.

So far the HTC charger works for me, so I didn't bother lor...
It was able bring ard 15% in 30mins. That was back then, till now... :(

But the strange thing is I tried a few chargers and cables, but all doesn't seem to charge or extremely extremely slow till its not signifcant.
But when I plug in the yoobao battery, it charges even faster than the chargers!

The sian thing is the service ctr is in taiseng which is really very far and it closes at 7pm early on wkdays. May have to pop by on Sat le

nicky9258

But the strange thing is I tried a few chargers and cables, but all doesn't seem to charge or extremely extremely slow till its not signifcant.
But when I plug in the yoobao battery, it charges even faster than the chargers!

The sian thing is the service ctr is in taiseng which is really very far and it closes at 7pm early on wkdays. May have to pop by on Sat le

Go early, they only got 3-4 counters and many people waiting.

Ever waited 2 hours to get my notebook to the counter guy. Collection a lot faster less than 20mins. Only way to beat the queue is be there earliest.

royfrosty

Bring both the charger the cable and the set to service centre. It could be either one that is faulty.

Next time don't bother using any other charger. It might not cause your unit to go faulty in few charges. But in the long run it might.

So next time if this things happen at least you can "isolate" the issues and narrow down your issues on what goes wrong.

TheDisgruntedCitizen

Bring both the charger the cable and the set to service centre. It could be either one that is faulty.

Next time don't bother using any other charger. It might not cause your unit to go faulty in few charges. But in the long run it might.

So next time if this things happen at least you can "isolate" the issues and narrow down your issues on what goes wrong.

it is not uncommon for the main culprit to be the USB cable... try swapping around the cable to find one that can charge it optimally. Preferable to be a short cable (less than 1m) with a fixed head (meaning not interchangable). Either that or go for quality cables like Innergie...

derrickgoh

I very nearly bought the Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7.0 but my friend said he read from reviews that Asus Nexus 7 was better.

How would you guys say Nexus 7 compares to Galaxy Tab 2 7.0? Also, while I see Samsung products being sold nearly everywhere, where can I buy the Asus Nexus 7 from?

Also, are any accessories sold for it in Singapore? Again, one can find tons of Samsung accessories but what about for Nexus 7?

V

victorlht88

I very nearly bought the Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7.0 but my friend said he read from reviews that Asus Nexus 7 was better.

How would you guys say Nexus 7 compares to Galaxy Tab 2 7.0? Also, while I see Samsung products being sold nearly everywhere, where can I buy the Asus Nexus 7 from?

Also, are any accessories sold for it in Singapore? Again, one can find tons of Samsung accessories but what about for Nexus 7?

in terms of specs, nexus 7 > tab 2 7.0.

however, i sold my nexus 7 for a tab 7.7 which has an super amoled+ and a bigger screen.

only difference is the dual core processor on my tab 7.7 vs quad core on nexus 7.

saysuzu

now nexus going for how much? i'm considering to buy the wifi version only

human_shieldz

Go early, they only got 3-4 counters and many people waiting.

Ever waited 2 hours to get my notebook to the counter guy. Collection a lot faster less than 20mins. Only way to beat the queue is be there earliest.

I went around 2+ weekdays, heavy rain somemore the place crowded lol:s12:

waited about 1.5hrs collect also in about 15-20mins. Heard that guy said monday morning when it opens at 11am, usually no one.

human_shieldz

Challenger selling it. I think the price is standard. You can check out the brochure for IT Show. I bought my 32GB 3G for $499 and they gave a free cover for $29 but i think promotion over already. But you can go Qoo10 Singapore online can find lots of Nexus 7 covers. Normally those push carts in shopping malls also have. Screen protectors also.

royfrosty

N7 specs is better than the tab 2 7.0. Fyi tab 2 7.0 has been in market for quite some time already. The only samsung tablet that you could think of right now is the upcoming N8000 note 8.0.

For me I stumble between this 3 devices last time. N7. Tab 7.7 and tab 2 7.0. Overall I still go for n7 due to specs reason. Unless you want telephony function then you can get the 7.7.

Asus n7 is available in courts. Challenger. Asus shop. And any other authorized reseller.

Now the only challenge is to get the accessories. Accessories imo not many sells it in sg. Good and much sturdy ones you can find it online.

You cant compare samsung accessories to asus. Simply the fact that stores love to sell popular products. The only products that they deemed popular is iphone and samsung phones. Thats the reason why if you buy LG , sony, etc very difficult to find.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.