Google Nexus S

maungmaung

just purely in terms of hardware (disregarding the dreadful lag, non-latest OS updates)

fm radio removed
no external sd card slot
bluetooth downgrade to 2.1
tv-out lost.

SGS also has gyroscope, just no supported via OS. No camera flash on SGS. A proper hardware button to bring phone out of sleep (pathetic I know :D). No curved glass display. And a poorly working GPS.

And I think that's about it.

and battery life is also shorter.

Nexus S Talk time 6 hours
SGS Talk time 13 hours

Standby time (max) 428 hours 750 hours

thats huge different

kennyboy

SGS Talk time 13 hours

thats huge different
This one bullsh*t one lah....I can't even get 4hrs talktime on SGS, what more freaking 13hrs. :D

iwillendyou

arghh just when i was just about to swipe my card for DHD this gets announced. specs wise its pretty much similar to DHD. its main draw for me is direct updates from google and no dumb samsung ui. i might not be able to tahan and just get the DHD though. good idea?

rachdanon

After owning my first smartphone for 5 months plus, namely Htc Desire, I'm considering the following as upgrades :

1) bigger 4 inch screen (check)
2) better display (check for s.amoled, but since Iphone raised the bar with retina, this is a half check. I like seeing my phone at 10 cm distance )
3) faster internet connection (n.a. as the real problem is the network I.e. lte/4g)
4) better battery ( don't know)
5) better camera/vid (don't know)

Hmmm....

rabien

i love this phone :( but dunno whether coming to sg or not... and dunno must wait how long. Seems like january to me...

iwillendyou

it says here that it will be released in SG in late Q1 of 2011. so if it means i have to wait another 3 months for a phone that has similar specs to the SGS, i'm passing.

WoShiPro

can we buy the unlocked phone on best buy than ship to sg? tempted to get this phone.. any1 wanna get this too can share shipping cost..

just 1 question does this phone have the touch to zoom(multi-touch) function? when surfing the internet?

amoro123

I already got a SGS liao.. I more interested in the PSP phone rumors thats floating ard.

kennyboy

I already got a SGS liao.. I more interested in the PSP phone rumors thats floating ard.
Even if launch also must see got enough games support or not.

Even standalone handheld console they do until wanna die already......expensive phone should be even harder. :(

holocast

careful..
we might be getting Super LCD and not super amoled.

according to russia they getting SUper lcd..
then uk and usa is getting super amoled.

we might be getting superlcd..based on the tweet that there will be slight change to the hardware

beyonder

SGS Talk time 13 hours

thats huge different
Talk time up to 6.7 hours on 3G
(14 hours on 2G)
Standby time up to 17.8 days on 3G
(29.7 days / 712 hours on 2G)

The above info are taken from Google Nexus S Tech Specs page.. I believe the huge different of SGS battery life over Nexus S is because it is using the 2G network stats.

psychophant

Talk time up to 6.7 hours on 3G
(14 hours on 2G)
Standby time up to 17.8 days on 3G
(29.7 days / 712 hours on 2G)

The above info are taken from Google Nexus S Tech Specs page.. I believe the huge different of SGS battery life over Nexus S is because it is using the 2G network stats.

u're right. battery life of SGS (taken from GSMArena)

Stand-by:Up to 750 h (2G) / Up to 576 h (3G)
Talk time: Up to 13 h 30 min (2G) / Up to 6 h 30 min (3G)

theoretically, battery stats of Nexus S is pretty similar to SGS. :)

beyonder

I have just bought the HTC Desire HD last Saturday, and now I am already thinking of selling it for Nexus S.

Reasons being I have fingers cramp after holding it for 10-20mins due to the weight and screen size that force my fingers to spread wider (I have small hands... haha)

siandiao

I have just bought the HTC Desire HD last Saturday, and now I am already thinking of selling it for Nexus S.

Reasons being I have fingers cramp after holding it for 10-20mins due to the weight and screen size that force my fingers to spread wider (I have small hands... haha)
I nearly bought Desire HD, now thinking of recontract iPhone->Sell iPhone->Buy Nexus S :o

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.