GOUT: Nuts?

coyote

I have looked at online sources and it was mentioned that nuts are actually good for gout as they are relatively low in purine and some may help with inflammation. However, my friends (including myself) have tried eating nuts and sometimes we ended up having gout flares. I have doubts whether the nuts triggered our gout flares. Some suggest that nuts are beneficial for gout while some insist that nuts trigger gout flare.

Anyone with gout here can share your experiences? Thank you!

Cut down on your red meats, Korean BBQ, lower your uric acid... then you should be fine.

XcoVar

Everyone reacted differently, mine was Guinness stout but had gone away for many years. Some get triggered over eating intestines, red meat or in your case nuts. Try take Celery seeds as supplement.

LPPLKPKB

Ground nuts can trigger gout, my friend’s tiggers are beer and ground nuts.

Ginola81

I kanna ankle knee and shoulder so far.. cut down on red meats and nuts for now. Oats also

Dopod007

I have looked at online sources and it was mentioned that nuts are actually good for gout as they are relatively low in purine and some may help with inflammation. However, my friends (including myself) have tried eating nuts and sometimes we ended up having gout flares. I have doubts whether the nuts triggered our gout flares. Some suggest that nuts are beneficial for gout while some insist that nuts trigger gout flare.

Prevention of gout for me is taking Allopurinol 1 tablet of 100 mg per day. Before Allopurinol, I was having gout like 2-3 times per month. Allopurinol works because it inhibits the enzyme xanthine oxidase which is involved in uric acid production. With Allopurinol and healthy diet, gout will be history.

Firestorm1978

Prevention of gout for me is taking Allopurinol 1 tablet of 100 mg per day. Before Allopurinol, I was having gout like 2-3 times per month. Allopurinol works because it inhibits the enzyme xanthine oxidase which is involved in uric acid production. With Allopurinol and healthy diet, gout will be history.
Same here. I have been taking it for years. Just worried whether there will be any serious health effects in the future.

Song Bro

huh, which source say one.
I go funeral eat peanuts next day dio gout liao.
All legumes are high lor.
Lower than seafood is not low leh.

Other than that according to my doc, those ppl who flare up once will have very high chance
of keep flaring. My mum's uric acid also same as me over limit but she never flared up even once.

Recently came back from Philippines, gotten gout from there.
I wonder what I eat, then I rem I drank the orange juice not natural one, it contains fructose -
An accelerant for purine crystal formation.
Not only food need to control.
Those that speed up the process also need to control
like processed foods with corn syrup and soda. No coke for me.

Dopod007

Same here. I have been taking it for years. Just worried whether there will be any serious health effects in the future.
I think no choice need to take the minimum amount of Allopurinol of 100mg. The dosage can also be 200 to 300 mg. Need to find out what is the minimum dosage to prevent gout. Test kit for uric acid measurement using finger prick blood is available to check blood uric acid level.

Dopod007

huh, which source say one.
I go funeral eat peanuts next day dio gout liao.
All legumes are high lor.
Lower than seafood is not low leh.

Other than that according to my doc, those ppl who flare up once will have very high chance
of keep flaring. My mum's uric acid also same as me over limit but she never flared up even once.

Recently came back from Philippines, gotten gout from there.
I wonder what I eat, then I rem I drank the orange juice not natural one, it contains fructose -
An accelerant for purine crystal formation.
Not only food need to control.
Those that speed up the process also need to control
like processed foods with corn syrup and soda. No coke for me.
Yes, peanuts and high sugary drinks can trigger gout. Fructose in drinks can be converted to uric acid by the liver metabolism and cause gout.

cet87

Nuts like peanut trigger faster. Almond seem to be safer side.

end of the end, i go back to a pill of Allopuriol daily. no gout attack for 1yr++

last time try many stuff, cherry pills, apple-vinegar, celery+lemon juice, pineapply juice, green papaya soup.
all didnt worked and still got attacks.

recent blood test show my uric acid in the normal range. had taken duck, beef or crabs in small portion.
no attacks so far. :o

1982-1994

I used to binge one whole jar of peanut butter every 2 or 3 days
Then @ctan84 advised me to cut down on it as PB is high in inflammation but i never listened
Then my right toe started to feel pain liao and a few occasions, my finger too

Gouts are caused by high level of uric acid in the blood
Cut down food with high purines

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.