You are right. I feel an NRIC number alone, or even together with your name, isn’t enough to hack your money. It’s just one piece of the puzzle and without access to things like passwords, bank details, or other sensitive data.
Like no point or not practical keep worrying about NRIC numbers get leaked…
Caused telcos, HR, insurance agents, secretary and lawyers handle NRIC all the time. PDPA will come into picture about safeguarding these sensitive information.
Fraudster need more than NRIC to sabo you. Like they need the banking info, OTPs, or passwords. Without access to systems or linked sensitive data, just having the NRIC number is not enough.
I think lah I think only. The PDPA come into picture liao. PDPA want every organisation to do away with using NRIC as unique number to identify the person.
Example gym membership needs have their own membership number. Library need to come up their unique library number. Is just like the unique credit card number. So PDPA want to do away with using NRIC number as main number to identify the person.
Except for going to court, hospital, army, Cpf, LTA summon etc. Aka to say our NRIC number belong to government since is issued by government. Hence, NRIC number should only use for doing gov administration stuff.
Bank ask us to create our own user id and password to access our bank account. Only when reset password need NRIC.