(GPGT)Espresso machine hoot

ponders

thanks for this info. i did some research as well and come across the encore, which i think is wat i am considering. amazon usa sells ard 140usd. but cannot be shipped to sg. will look into this tho :) thanks.

Thanks but hand grinder isnt what i am looking for as i can be lazy in the morning haa. :)

Thanks for ur input :)

Even if Amazon USA ships encore to Singapore, the electrical specs is not compatible with Singapore.

Using a step-up transformer doesn't solve the problem as the USA spec is most likely using a 60Hz motor.

Might have better luck sourcing from Europe or Australia.

purpleberry

Very impressed with Six Four coffees. Placed an order in the afternoon and arrived the next day with a day old roast date. Almost feels like they roast the beans for you once you place an order.

tremor

Very impressed with Six Four coffees. Placed an order in the afternoon and arrived the next day with a day old roast date. Almost feels like they roast the beans for you once you place an order.
Advertisement spotted.

ksapple

Tot all same, i buy from Tiong Hoe, CMR and even paksong all same no meh ? roast after u order

DriftKing

Tot all same, i buy from Tiong Hoe, CMR and even paksong all same no meh ? roast after u order

Not really, it might just be we matched with their weekly roasting date.

Update to the paksong geisha, wouldn't go back to the Laos geisha, difficult to find a good spot for espresso. Ethiopia geisha is a little better , but I would avoid Ethiopian bean for now...

Ive just ordered Bettr coffee for a try, will report once it arrives

purpleberry

Advertisement spotted.

No affiliation with them la. Maybe just lucky they roast on that day itself. Just checked that their local delivery is Wednesday and Friday. So if you order Friday night, need to wait longer.

For Paksong, if they have Laos beans, it will be fresher relatively. Their Papua New Guinea and Colombian beans are also very good. Apart from this, I am not sure if they are fresh or maybe I got a bad batch.

DriftKing

Not really, it might just be we matched with their weekly roasting date.

Update to the paksong geisha, wouldn't go back to the Laos geisha, difficult to find a good spot for espresso. Ethiopia geisha is a little better , but I would avoid Ethiopian bean for now...

Ive just ordered Bettr coffee for a try, will report once it arrives

Well.... Ordered on Shopee on 2nd Feb, delivered 8th Feb night. Roast date is 25th and 24th Jan.... So I'd guess there's still roasters out there that doesnt roast on demand......

Ordered Versa and Bold Heart roast from Bettr. Opened Bold Heart today, will take in a few more cup for review.

purpleberry

Well.... Ordered on Shopee on 2nd Feb, delivered 8th Feb night. Roast date is 25th and 24th Jan.... So I'd guess there's still roasters out there that doesnt roast on demand......

Ordered Versa and Bold Heart roast from Bettr. Opened Bold Heart today, will take in a few more cup for review.

How's Bold Heart compared to Apache? A bit on the pricey side at $16. Almost the same price as 3 packs of Pak Song :s13:

brokenx

hi all,

currently have a delonghi EC685 and KG89 grinder. I have modified the KG89 to grind much finer but alot of grind retention. thinking of getting a new grinder either Breville smart grinder pro or Baratza Sette 30? which one would u all recommend? any other recommendation? budget around 300-400

DriftKing

How's Bold Heart compared to Apache? A bit on the pricey side at $16. Almost the same price as 3 packs of Pak Song :s13:

Thats why i buy 2 pack (with some shopee discount) to keep it under $15 each.

Not sure why I can't get the flow rate slower, it is those type of beans that no matter how fine i grind it just keeps flowing fast.

Pulling 20-22sec shots, 19+gm in, 38-40gms out. (Considering these timing, it didn't make it taste bad so I'll take it that way...)

It has a mild and pleasant taste throughout the cup (with milk). Creamy and milky tasting overall with no unpleasant taste that 'attack' you out of a sudden. After taste not very long but its flavour maintain throughout your cup from hot till warm.

I think this is a very consistent tasting blend, no funky or sharp notes, not those complex kind.

I will put it as a 'brother' of Apache from Six Four, with Apache has more aroma and fragrance in both taste and smell. Apache lingers in your mouth a little more, Apache might be slightly more acidic thats why?

ksapple

sian 2 month niche no open up orders liao, wonder when ppl can start placing order again

Vinified

eureka mignon specialita

Hi all, am venturing into home barista-Ing. Am intending to get the eureka mignon specialita but I was just wondering where do you all suggest that I might get it from at the best price. Import from overseas or find a local seller? I’m more wary of getting scammed, esp those I see on Carousell or Shopee, not sure if there’s any reliable seller. Can PM me if cannot mention sellers here

I got mine from roundboy roasters

ultimax1999

I got mine from roundboy roasters

Thanks! I ended up getting it from Espressocoffeeshop. Emailed for their promo code and got it cheaper. Ordered on a Monday morning, delivered Friday night via UPS. Asked for UK plug but it came in a 2 round pin version and they gave a 3 pin UK adapter. Working well thus far, have seen concerns around them not fulfilling warranty if anything doesn’t work though.

hotcakespree

hi all,

currently have a delonghi EC685 and KG89 grinder. I have modified the KG89 to grind much finer but alot of grind retention. thinking of getting a new grinder either Breville smart grinder pro or Baratza Sette 30? which one would u all recommend? any other recommendation? budget around 300-400

I am using a Breville SGP. In short it works in getting the various grind size. Expect retention of about 7g. My personal experience is zero service support even if you have warranty. The "reply" I got on a spare part was: no part, long queue, wait long long.

patryn33

Thanks! I ended up getting it from Espressocoffeeshop. Emailed for their promo code and got it cheaper. Ordered on a Monday morning, delivered Friday night via UPS. Asked for UK plug but it came in a 2 round pin version and they gave a 3 pin UK adapter. Working well thus far, have seen concerns around them not fulfilling warranty if anything doesn’t work though.

a few ppl bought from them b4, with their grinder purchase I have heard of anything.

purpleberry

Thats why i buy 2 pack (with some shopee discount) to keep it under $15 each.

Not sure why I can't get the flow rate slower, it is those type of beans that no matter how fine i grind it just keeps flowing fast.

Pulling 20-22sec shots, 19+gm in, 38-40gms out. (Considering these timing, it didn't make it taste bad so I'll take it that way...)

It has a mild and pleasant taste throughout the cup (with milk). Creamy and milky tasting overall with no unpleasant taste that 'attack' you out of a sudden. After taste not very long but its flavour maintain throughout your cup from hot till warm.

I think this is a very consistent tasting blend, no funky or sharp notes, not those complex kind.

I will put it as a 'brother' of Apache from Six Four, with Apache has more aroma and fragrance in both taste and smell. Apache lingers in your mouth a little more, Apache might be slightly more acidic thats why?

Thanks. That sounds a bit odd. Some beans need to grind much finer like the paksong ones. Now my daily dose is chahoeira from fcc. After so many beans, this one is really textbook medium roast.

DriftKing

Thanks. That sounds a bit odd. Some beans need to grind much finer like the paksong ones. Now my daily dose is chahoeira from fcc. After so many beans, this one is really textbook medium roast.

Aside from Cahoeira, any other ones from FCC you've found interesting?

Whats your brew ratio/time for that bean? Maybe will try them next round.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.