(GPGT)Espresso machine hoot

derazor

Intelligentsia has notoriously expensive shipping as well, unless you have friends overseas it's not worth the time and money to ship it over. They had their new Maragesha (cross between Maragogype which is known for it's yield/it's easy to grow and the Geisha for it's flavour) which was super interesting since it's unique/limited release but the shipping costs were just too great.

If you're gonna order from AU I suggest trying Seven Seeds (light roast, may not be suited for your palate), Axil Coffee (they roast darker the rest, same with Toby's but Toby's you can buy it locally as they have a local roasting facility), Market Lane (light as well), Small Batch. Not sure which of these ship overseas though.

Alternatively you can try ordering from Square Mile (UK), owned by James Hoffman (his blog has a lot of interesting articles, can give it a go), shipping isn't that bad. OZ Speciality Coffee at Sin Ming brings in coffee from all over the place if you wanna try different handbrews, gotta see what he brings in though.

Speaking of which, he stocks/distributes Pacamara (Thailand), which is actually quite syrupy and full bodied on espresso (Roadster blend) so it may suit some of you guys, it's quite nice. Pacamara has intense roasting facilities, almost clean room conditions.

how to import and when it arrives it will not be fresh already?

i.e i believe they can ship at say 2nd or 3rd day after roasting? then you add another 3 to 4 days to arrive to SG? Almost a week now.

unless you guys are roasting in the HDB :eek:

The_King

i should start looking for a decent roaster and roast my own coffee bean, it solve my problem of stale bean

Lazy_Tiger

Intelligentsia has notoriously expensive shipping as well, unless you have friends overseas it's not worth the time and money to ship it over. They had their new Maragesha (cross between Maragogype which is known for it's yield/it's easy to grow and the Geisha for it's flavour) which was super interesting since it's unique/limited release but the shipping costs were just too great.

If you're gonna order from AU I suggest trying Seven Seeds (light roast, may not be suited for your palate), Axil Coffee (they roast darker the rest, same with Toby's but Toby's you can buy it locally as they have a local roasting facility), Market Lane (light as well), Small Batch. Not sure which of these ship overseas though.

Alternatively you can try ordering from Square Mile (UK), owned by James Hoffman (his blog has a lot of interesting articles, can give it a go), shipping isn't that bad. OZ Speciality Coffee at Sin Ming brings in coffee from all over the place if you wanna try different handbrews, gotta see what he brings in though.

Speaking of which, he stocks/distributes Pacamara (Thailand), which is actually quite syrupy and full bodied on espresso (Roadster blend) so it may suit some of you guys, it's quite nice. Pacamara has intense roasting facilities, almost clean room conditions.

Thanks again for the list of obtainable overseas roasters and resources. I agree Toby is a darker roast style. Actually I don't favor dark or light roasts. Nylon is and oriole is my regular and nylon is usually quite light.

I think strangers reunion still has some geisha beans still available. Slightly more pricey.

Over the last few years have see an explosion of different cafes and local 3rd wave style roasters. Hope they are here to stay and won't go out Of vogue like bubble tea.

Lazy_Tiger

i stay there mah...:s13:

if i go there again next time, i take photo for u...i actually wan to try syphon fliter...i wonder what the taste like ~~~~

i try cold drip and it is very refreshing for summer

Lucky u. I hope singapore coffee scene develops as well as Aussie one!

I use a siphon occasionally when I'm bored but honestly my results are not that good. Very often overly bitter. The best results happen when I use papa Palheta siphon brewing instructions from their website instead of the Hario instructions.

Lazy_Tiger

how to import and when it arrives it will not be fresh already?

i.e i believe they can ship at say 2nd or 3rd day after roasting? then you add another 3 to 4 days to arrive to SG? Almost a week now.

unless you guys are roasting in the HDB :eek:

I find one week actually quite ok :s13: Too young and it's gassy and somewhat too acidic although there were some exceptions. some roasters here would recommend 6-8 days post roast for the coffee to peak.

Someone previously mentioned that here is a ban against roasting in hdb because of smoke right?:s13:

Lazy_Tiger

i should start looking for a decent roaster and roast my own coffee bean, it solve my problem of stale bean

I was seriously considering this toy a few months ago. But I put the plan on hold until I'm sure I know what roasting is about and where to get a good economical supply of green beans. I live walking distance away from 4 roasters so hard to justify the cost and trouble to roast myself. :s13:

https://www.hottopusa.com

n0d3

I think it's more trouble than it's worth if you don't know what you're doing. And Singapore doesn't give you great access to greens (unroasted beans). Just buy in small amounts and use as you go, you still can get pretty good results from old beans, or you can even use them for cold drip.

Thanks again for the list of obtainable overseas roasters and resources. I agree Toby is a darker roast style. Actually I don't favor dark or light roasts. Nylon is and oriole is my regular and nylon is usually quite light.

I think strangers reunion still has some geisha beans still available. Slightly more pricey.

Over the last few years have see an explosion of different cafes and local 3rd wave style roasters. Hope they are here to stay and won't go out Of vogue like bubble tea.

Geisha is pretty interesting, blew my mind when I had my first cup (although don't be confused when some places offer you Geisha beans as there's a Taiwanese roaster in Burlington Square called Geisha, pretty nice people/coffee https://www.facebook.com/GeishaSpecialtySG).

I think the big roasters will stay definitely, Papa Palheta, Strangers, Liberty, 5 Senses/Spa Esprit (the people behind Tiong Bahru Bakery, Forty Hands, Common Man etc.) due to sheer volume. I worry more for the cafes hopping on to the bandwagon as I think coffee is more of a fad in Singapore atm.

I find one week actually quite ok :s13: Too young and it's gassy and somewhat too acidic although there were some exceptions. some roasters here would recommend 6-8 days post roast for the coffee to peak.

Someone previously mentioned that here is a ban against roasting in hdb because of smoke right?:s13:

Even commercially it's pretty grey/hard to get licensed because URA/NEA don't really have a standardised way of giving out licenses to roasters.

Lazy_Tiger

I think it's more trouble than it's worth if you don't know what you're doing. And Singapore doesn't give you great access to greens (unroasted beans). Just buy in small amounts and use as you go, you still can get pretty good results from old beans, or you can even use them for cold drip.

Geisha is pretty interesting, blew my mind when I had my first cup (although don't be confused when some places offer you Geisha beans as there's a Taiwanese roaster in Burlington Square called Geisha, pretty nice people/coffee https://www.facebook.com/GeishaSpecialtySG).

I think the big roasters will stay definitely, Papa Palheta, Strangers, Liberty, 5 Senses/Spa Esprit (the people behind Tiong Bahru Bakery, Forty Hands, Common Man etc.) due to sheer volume. I worry more for the cafes hopping on to the bandwagon as I think coffee is more of a fad in Singapore atm.

Even commercially it's pretty grey/hard to get licensed because URA/NEA don't really have a standardised way of giving out licenses to roasters.

Have yet to try geisha cafe. I wonder how some local cafés come up with their names. Liberty, nylon, highlander, stranger. At least papa explained a bit. Why nobody wants to call themselves "Tampines cafe and roaster" or "toa payoh speciality coffee" huh? :s13:

Lazy_Tiger

actually i am itching to try the 100$$ bean :s34:

hiaz i shudnt........i am desparately tryin to save $$$$$....

I think I spent $80 on one bag of blue mtn. Can try the $100 bean once lah. After finish just just reminiscence on the rosy memories of the awesome taste (fortified with a healthy dose of sunk costs). Just like having a very expensive but utterly sexy ex-girlfriend =:p

swirlsurfer13

Have yet to try geisha cafe. I wonder how some local cafés come up with their names. Liberty, nylon, highlander, stranger. At least papa explained a bit. Why nobody wants to call themselves "Tampines cafe and roaster" or "toa payoh speciality coffee" huh? :s13:

I believe Nylon's name came about due to Dennis and Jiamin working in New York and London last time. Hence the combination of the initials of the 2 cities.

chikyblink

Paiseh paiseh although the offer of a hg one and Pharos is very tempting I'm a very private person and don't want to be sexposed. =:p

don't be shy lah, young boy shy I understand, but uncle liao leh lol...=:p

but i think this kind of gathering very hard lah, I don't mind organising, but I scared all noobs like me then what's the point. Must have 1 or 2 lao jiao join also mah. :D

Lazy_Tiger

don't be shy lah, young boy shy I understand, but uncle liao leh lol...=:p

but i think this kind of gathering very hard lah, I don't mind organising, but I scared all noobs like me then what's the point. Must have 1 or 2 lao jiao join also mah. :D

hahaha...I think i'm the most ancient here......

Lazy_Tiger

aeropress ftw

very overpriced in sg, just hoot direct from amazon

Ive enquired about the price of an aeropress when I was in china for a trip. I think as quoted half of the retail price here.....

Some of the stuff sold here is very ex. Porlex grinder can also be had for very cheaply in japan.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.