(GPGT)Espresso machine hoot

Lazy_Tiger

oei tiger, your oz beans arrived liao or not? many ppl waiting for your review leh. :(

not yet...just roasted and dispatching soon. I'm more interested in the squaremile sweet shop. sounds interesting. hopefully not too acidic.

the oz blend i ordered is not blended with chiang mai beans. but their other blend is. would like to try chiang mai SO on its on eventually.
i think oz gets their beans from pacamara which is a thailand based roaster.:s22:

Espressofriend.com

Jack_Chen

this reminds me of the funny facts my grandfather told me when I was a kid.

he said that he purposely sells his coffee from his plantation to angmoh because they can't grow coffee. And when you cannot grow something, you find all kinds of ways to squeeze the last bejeezus out of it.

Italians and Swiss, very complicated coffee machines, can't grow coffee. Belgians, very good chocolatiers, can't grow cocoa.

Locally, coffee not thick enough, not fragrant enough? Means you never add enough beans loh. coffee is something cheap and down to earth. don't be fooled by places like starbucks and such.

calbay

Depends on how you like your coffee.
If you like brew coffee, a thermometer and a French press is sufficient.
If you like lattes, espressos, and cappuccinos, those stronger flavour coffee. You will still need an espresso machine.

Of course, you don't need to spend on the most expensive brand to get a good shot. If you are drinking lattes, it's 70% milk. It's basically a milk drink.

You won't taste the delicate aromas from those speciality premium Arabica coffee, but can taste the bitter stings from the Robustas. So in some way, even cheap coffee can have an important role. In Italy, many serve cappuccinos with 70-80% robusta. Americans call them cutting cost, actual fact, not really. I've worked in both styles of cafes before, and i think a lot of Asian people prefer the robusta loaded lattes.You won't have coffee in light roast for a latte either.

10 years ago, i would had recommended the Single boilers.(Single boilers that froth and brew from real copper boiler, not from thermoblocs). Now heat exchangers are a lot more affordable and a lot more advance than before.

If you are a regular coffee drinker, i think it's still better to get a heat exchanger than the cheapest machine you get fr your nearest electro marts.
It has strong steaming power for frothing, much longer longevity, more consistent in the temperature, and has a lot of things you can go around to craft your coffee.
It is also able to froth and brew at the same time, and most can detect that your water level is low, such features are very precious. The convenience and consistency it brings, is gold.

Aneurysm

FHA ticket is for all the 4 days. Yup only open to trade visitors. Highlanders got a good discount on their VBM machines there. Look at their FB for the details. Not sure if can get at that price in their cafe during the stipulated dates.

tigerlily

FHA ticket is for all the 4 days. Yup only open to trade visitors. Highlanders got a good discount on their VBM machines there. Look at their FB for the details. Not sure if can get at that price in their cafe during the stipulated dates.

Hmmm.... Don't see anything on their site or their FB.

Aneurysm

I am not able to post links or images due to the "juniorness" of my account. Search for highlander coffee in fb; it is there. Perhaps someone with a more "senior" account can help post the link

IntelFlash

TBH a few of those cafes not far away at Tiong Bahru area serve better coffee(at least to my tastebud) than higlander.
HL seems older, but not necessary better.
I also don't know why hl enjoys some reputation, though i stay around that area.

The only thing HL is better is they are slightly cheaper but their location is not somewhere convenient to park, so bleh~
I'm won't go back there for coffee.

I quite like the cafe at Club street call "Shots".
Not more on the coffee but the people there are nice.
As a cafe i must feel relax, i don't really have that feel at HL.
I really don't feel anything memorable about HL's coffee, quite flat.

The espressos at Shots are imo thicker and sharper than HL.
Those guys have my bucks if i have the time and money to spend.

The cafe at Pan Pac is also good.

Aneurysm

Don't really know about the coffee at HL; I roast my own. But just wanted to let the guys here on the deal which seemed quite decent

sky00sky

TBH a few of those cafes not far away at Tiong Bahru area serve better coffee(at least to my tastebud) than higlander.
HL seems older, but not necessary better.
I also don't know why hl enjoys some reputation, though i stay around that area.

The only thing HL is better is they are slightly cheaper but their location is not somewhere convenient to park, so bleh~
I'm won't go back there for coffee.

I quite like the cafe at Club street call "Shots".
Not more on the coffee but the people there are nice.
As a cafe i must feel relax, i don't really have that feel at HL.
I really don't feel anything memorable about HL's coffee, quite flat.

The espressos at Shots are imo thicker and sharper than HL.
Those guys have my bucks if i have the time and money to spend.

The cafe at Pan Pac is also good.

Recently, standard went south. Maybe of the new barrista or whatever reason. So I switch abit went Everton like other EDMWer suggested. Maybe rotate abit. Sometime later will go back try them ago.

Liked them cos on the road side between my Co. 2 offices.

IntelFlash

Still not cheap, and it's just 3 months warranty.
Shows their confidence.

Rather buy from the mass order.
Alot cheaper, 1 year warranty, free delivery and got free gifts.

Left 2 days only, so don't think i'm paying $80 to attend the FHA

derazor

Still not cheap, and it's just 3 months warranty.
Shows their confidence.

Rather buy from the mass order.
Alot cheaper, 1 year warranty, free delivery and got free gifts.

Left 2 days only, so don't think i'm paying $80 to attend the FHA

I went to FHA webbie, if register BEFORE 31st is FOC :o

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.