(GPGT)Espresso machine hoot

chikyblink

aeropress can handle turk grind like a boss because of the paper filter

turkish grind is really fine like fk. put in FP you are going to drink sand water

Can handle but don't think anybody will do this, confirm over extract!

chikyblink

Sure don't mind to go and buy the coffee or bring some wine la

coffee no need lah i'll provide no problem. wine i dunno how to appreciate one leh lol. somemore i don't have wine glasses, unless you guys don't mind drinking it outta mugs lol!

So how shall i go abt doing this? Shall I create a new thread or what?

aaur4man

Wah seh you guys serious or not? Or just say say only?
If serious den I'll start planning and organising liao.

im a coffee lover... but im always lazy to diy...

can drink free coffee...can learn a thing or 2 from the pro... why not :o

chikyblink

im a coffee lover... but im always lazy to diy...

can drink free coffee...can learn a thing or 2 from the pro... why not :o

haha I'm no pro lah, this is my 1st machine and I'm still wet behind the ears. :o

hopefully some real pros will join in and show us the ropes.

chikyblink

Got tired of cleaning the mess my grinder makes. Cut out the bottom of a plastic cup to fit into my portafilter.

Now the grinds have less chance of strewing all over my table.
I can even do some WDT but its not necessary as clumping isn't a problem with this grinder even though its a doserless!

Lazy_Tiger

Got tired of cleaning the mess my grinder makes. Cut out the bottom of a plastic cup to fit into my portafilter.
Now the grinds have less chance of strewing all over my table.
I can even do some WDT but its not necessary as clumping isn't a problem with this grinder even though its a doserless!

Nice idea, I may try some time. Personally i don't feel clumping is much of a problem as long as the coffee is not lopsidedly distributed in the filter basket. I feel that tamping will even out small differences in the distribution of the coffee when it forms the coffee puck. :s22:

chikyblink

Nice idea, I may try some time. Personally i don't feel clumping is much of a problem as long as the coffee is not lopsidedly distributed in the filter basket. I feel that tamping will even out small differences in the distribution of the coffee when it forms the coffee puck. :s22:

I don't know. But if clumping isn't a problem, ppl won't come up with the WDT.
I personally think a fluffier grind can reduce channelling problems.
I wanna play with a bottomless portafilter next!=:p

chikyblink

Th grind button is convex and slippery. So i stuck a small piece of non-slip mat to it.

Luckily my chute is removeable so it makes cleaning the grinds out after each session easy.

BrOwnTeddy

HD7450_20-IMS-global
Erm.... I am serious.

So I'd suppose if I get some nice coffee beans, grind it and use the good ol' coffee machine, it will be good and not too watered down?

My mum has been making Kopi-O with this since godknowswhen. So wondering how does it compare to regular expresso machines.

Resonance

Erm.... I am serious.

So I'd suppose if I get some nice coffee beans, grind it and use the good ol' coffee machine, it will be good and not too watered down?

My mum has been making Kopi-O with this since godknowswhen. So wondering how does it compare to regular expresso machines.

You will need to play with the grind.

I've been trying to introduce these gourmet coffee i made with my aeropress to my mum and she doesn't like it. Cause Kopi-O vs gourmet brewed coffee, imo, is different thing and you "wanted" to taste different things in it. What you expect is very different.

Unlike kopi which is very thick and dark roasted and you taste the "gao fragrance" from the coffee. But imo those gourmet coffee won't taste these characteristic, expect and taste different thing from it.

Espresso however, imo is also very different from brewed coffee.
I preferred brewed coffee though.

As mentioned by a lot of pros here, the grind is very important... you might want to invest in a good grinder. Different "devices/method" require different grind level and also the different coffee region. We have to really experiment.

For me, espresso is now out of budget for me. I started this journey with an Aeropress and a Hario Slim grinder and played from there and I slowly learn the different things.

Oh... Watch and surf youtube, and the different methods, devices and explore from there.

chikyblink

Erm.... I am serious.

What coffee machine are you using? How do you normally drink your coffee?

n0d3

Anyway I asked around regarding Italians and the coffee scene back in Italy.

The culture is very different, they tend to add a bit of robusta to their blends (the kind you find used for kopi-o etc.) to get a very "gao" kind of taste and they prefer it as such. The flavour is very harsh but some people enjoy that kind of thing and associate it with how espresso is like. Despite being the birthplace of the espresso, the type you find there is very different compared to the third wave coffee movement (and some may argue that it's hard to define third wave). This would also explain the lack of participants in previous WBCs.

They tend not to like/focus on the nuances or other flavours you can find in espresso as in other parts of the world where beans tend to be roasted lighter etc. and ordering any milk based espresso drink is kinda rare as well. Bright and acidic flavours tend not be enjoyed so much as well. La Marzocco is planning on changing that, especially since the 2014 WBC is going to be held in Italy.

I wouldn't say one is better than the other, it's a matter of preference. I enjoy really bright, fruity espressos that others might find a bit too "sour". Same for brew as well.

n0d3

I've been trying to introduce these gourmet coffee i made with my aeropress to my mum and she doesn't like it. Cause Kopi-O vs gourmet brewed coffee, imo, is different thing and you "wanted" to taste different things in it. What you expect is very different.

Unlike kopi which is very thick and dark roasted and you taste the "gao fragrance" from the coffee. But imo those gourmet coffee won't taste these characteristic, expect and taste different thing from it.

As mentioned by a lot of pros here, the grind is very important... you might want to invest in a good grinder. Different "devices/method" require different grind level and also the different coffee region. We have to really experiment.

For me, espresso is now out of budget for me. I started this journey with an Aeropress and a Hario Slim grinder and played from there and I slowly learn the different things.

Oh... Watch and surf youtube, and the different methods, devices and explore from there.

Yeah, you're definitely looking for brewed coffee (what the picture is a percolator), which is not like espresso (which is served in a small volume and brewed using pressure). Two different things.

Like resonance mentioned, I reckon you're better off sticking with kopi-o which has a lot of robusta (the beans that you'll find on the market now are more or less 100% arabica) which is a bit more gao and the way they roast here is using butter/oil/sugar/lard which gives it that extra flavour that the older generation are used to. I really doubt that her palate is going to change! Haha.

Resonance

Yeah, you're definitely looking for brewed coffee (what the picture is a percolator), which is not like espresso (which is served in a small volume and brewed using pressure). Two different things.

Like resonance mentioned, I reckon you're better off sticking with kopi-o which has a lot of robusta (the beans that you'll find on the market now are more or less 100% arabica) which is a bit more gao and the way they roast here is using butter/oil/sugar/lard which gives it that extra flavour that the older generation are used to. I really doubt that her palate is going to change! Haha.

Ya... She kept complaining the acidity/sourness on some of my coffee, like kenya. :s13: Unlike some badly brewed kopi-o with the sourness, but at least the thick fragrant from the kopi-o can cover some of their sourness.

chikyblink

I think not many ppl can take acidity/sourness in their coffee, me included.
Mostly those are the ppl who grew up drinking local kopitiam coffee.
A bit sour only, they'll think the coffee spoil liao.

The_King

used to hate acidity/bitterness but now if i drink coffee without bitterness/acidity it taste flat.

i was like yuck, feel something is missing.

BTW chikyblink do you use a weighting machine to measure the amount of pressure you tamp?

i tamper at around 2 to 3kg but for your semi auto it should be around13kg

Lazy_Tiger

I don't know. But if clumping isn't a problem, ppl won't come up with the WDT.
I personally think a fluffier grind can reduce channelling problems.
I wanna play with a bottomless portafilter next!=:p

some pros tear off the rubber "gate" near the spout of the grinder to prevent the clumping issue. Its the flap that actually compacts the grounds.

I used to use a naked portafilter. Good to refine technique when starting off but eventually realised that even when I saw some slight channeling problems during extraction, the coffee still tasted good in the cup! I feel the correct dosage to match the filter basket is more important.

Lazy_Tiger

used to hate acidity/bitterness but now if i drink coffee without bitterness/acidity it taste flat.

i was like yuck, feel something is missing.

BTW chikyblink do you use a weighting machine to measure the amount of pressure you tamp?

i tamper at around 2 to 3kg but for your semi auto it should be around13kg

Get an espro calibrated tamper! It will really help with the user to be very consistent in his technique so that when need to adjust your other variables (Temp, grind, dosage) to adjust your espresso taste you can be more confident your tamping force did not interfere with your adjustment.

Lazy_Tiger

If your mom doesn't like acidity get her to try Sumatran coffee. Generally very low in acidity, with a strong earthy/herbal aroma. Generally Latin american and kenyan coffees tend to be on the acidic side.

Low brewing temperature can lend some sourness in the brew too. Try brewing with hotter water. A digital thermometer will help!:s22:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.