(GPGT)Espresso machine hoot

chikyblink

Audiophile can quit one meh!? Maybe you've reached a level where you can't touch yet. =:p

Well I believe I've reached a level of content. Perfectly contented with my current setup and don't feel the urge to upgrade, hopefully forever lol.

chikyblink

Looking at the Macap Grinder MC4 or MC5 stepless

https://www.espressocoffeeshop.com/index.php?route=product/category&path=78_246_271

Comments from the pros here? It's for my Silvia
I would get the M4 if I were you. Why? Let me quote myself:

ok, the reason why i prefer dosers is cuz you can minimize grind retention more than doserless, and other than the fact that doserless throw grinds around. You'd think they'll fall nicely down to your portafilter but no. Mine sometimes spits out grinds and throwing them mostly to the left, making a mess everywhere.

Doserless grinders usually have a chute at an angle coming down to the portafilter right? Most grinds are stuck at the area after exiting the burrs and b4 coming down the chute. How to get to the remaining grinds there? You knock/shake the grinder around, hoping they'll come loose and fall down the chute. Or you take an angled piece of stick, stick it up the chute to claw down those grinds.

Now what abt dosers? You take off the doser cover, remove the finger guard and voila! The area where all the grinds are stucked is right there in plain sight! You simply take a small brush, sweep the grinds down to the doser chamber and dose them out clean!

Also, the MC4 is known to be notoriously clumpy.

Lazy_Tiger

My unit will come with the PID, will it solve this??

To a certain extent yes unless you are making a lot of shots back to back. Silvia has a decent boiler but is still missing the thermal mass that other machines provide to maintain the stable temperature. But yes, the PID mod is a godsend for the fussy silvia.

Another thing i learnt from using the silvia is that it is EXTREMELY sensitive to dosage and grind. your next best buy after a good grinder would be a kitchen scale accurate to 0.1grams.

With the stock filter baskets I would as a rule of thumb start off with 15grams of coffee and adjust the grind from there to get the correct flow rate. SOmetimes may need to lower the dose esp if you think the espresso is too rich. Lower the dose and grind finer for a sweeter and smoother espresso. increase dosage and grind coarser for a more robust drink. You can also play with the pid. Generally lower temperature for darker roasts and higher temperature for lighter roasts.

Finally carefully when locking in your portafilter to the machine. THe silvia has a screw at the shower screen that can crack your coffee puck and cause uneven extraction to the silvia if you lock in too hard. Hence the standard silvia basket cannot be overdosed unless u use special baskets.

Experiment and have fun!:s22:

chikyblink

What grinder are u using now? The macao mc4 should be very similar to what I using now. Compak K3. Same burr size. IMO doserless is better because easier to clean.

The K3 unfortunately has a lot of grind retention. I must always grind 3 seconds of beans out, and throw that portion away before grinding the portion for the espresso. Especially if it is going to be the first drink of the day. It was the same problem with my rocky.

May consider baratza vario for future purchase as I heard grind retention is minimal.

Anyone else uses pour over methods? Currently (in order of preference) using aero press, hario v60 , wood neck drip pot and vacuum pot, vietnamese coffee filter.

More haolian from me… I also have a nespresso, a dolce gusto, a jura automatic machine and a silvia. Sadly all these machines are now in storage and only used as backup.

I think I've finally stopped at the vbm lah. :o

My advice to newbie is to continue to use pour over method first (I find aeropress the most consistent) and save enough to buy a HX machine with proper E61 group head at least. I started off with a silvia and while it made good coffee the results were inconsistent and is less forgiving to beginners because it required temperature surfing.

You certainly aren't lazy when it comes to coffee!

Where you get your compak k3 and vbm?

Lazy_Tiger

I would get the M4 if I were you. Why? Let me quote myself:

Also, the MC4 is known to be notoriously clumpy.

Agreed. Similar problem with my K3. I have vacuumed out the grounds stuck inside and found the left over inside weigh about 4grams. Using these grinders often need to flush out the old grinds out first by grinding out and throwing away a small amount.

However I would guess in terms of reliability and with a more powerful motor the grinders of this class and above is more durable than smaller grinders. Its a balance of pros and cons lah.

Lazy_Tiger

Why why?

Yes for home use. I'm pulling shots for at most me and my wife nia

So at this price range what should I get them? It's specifically for my silvia.

oh forgot to mention do you make pour over coffee? If yes then be sure that the grinder u use is able to easily switch grind size. My Compak k3 can't really do that. Need to screw and screw. Baratza vario can but i heard there is some issue needed to calibrate the grind settings yourself after a while.

derazor

oh forgot to mention do you make pour over coffee? If yes then be sure that the grinder u use is able to easily switch grind size. My Compak k3 can't really do that. Need to screw and screw. Baratza vario can but i heard there is some issue needed to calibrate the grind settings yourself after a while.

Currently I'm using french press, my aeropress is on the plane.
FP, Aeropress and Espresso. The settings differ a lot?

I have a Hario Slim now, I might just bring it to use for work use together with the Aeropress.

BTW, if I don't want to spend the $ now.. the Hario Slim pairs well with the Silvia?

For the grinder, the requirement should be
1) able to grind fine enough
2) Stepless highly recommended
3) minimal retention
4) ease of changing grind settings for different application
5) Burr of course

Anything else that I may have missed?

calbay

Why why?

Yes for home use. I'm pulling shots for at most me and my wife nia

So at this price range what should I get them? It's specifically for my silvia.

Answer is simple.
You will have oxidisation issues as there's too much excess in the chamber and even more wastage.
Beans in the powder form will oxidise several times more rapidly.
The humidity in Singapore will clump your coffee in no time and bring about the same problem of static and whatever.
If the hopper is not tinted, the uv light will damage it even further.

The coffee not fresh is a problem above all the other problems mentioned here.

Get a grinder locally, you will need to service eventually.

Whether it's conic or flat, slow or fast.
You get a bag of beans with stones inside(not uncommon) , it's destroyed.

DriftKing

Singapore don't have a used market for coffee equipments :\

For the same price I got Diadema Junior Extra (E61 HX machine 2nd hand) and brand new Mazzer Super Jolly Electronic in Melbourne. Too bad cannot bring back home.

Anyone got lobang for single / twin grouphead used cafe machines?

derazor

Answer is simple.
You will have oxidisation issues as there's too much excess in the chamber and even more wastage.
Beans in the powder form will oxidise several times more rapidly.
The humidity in Singapore will clump your coffee in no time and bring about the same problem of static and whatever.
If the hopper is not tinted, the uv light will damage it even further.

The coffee not fresh is a problem above all the other problems mentioned here.

Get a grinder locally, you will need to service eventually.

Whether it's conic or flat, slow or fast.
You get a bag of beans with stones inside(not uncommon) , it's destroyed.

all grinder will have the same problem that you mentioned....

The_King

where do you plan to get your rocket giotto evoluzione v2 and mazzer mini? From papa palheta?

wanted to get rocket from bella barista
and mazzer mini for mazzer itself.

papa palheta is selling for 3.5K and bella barista £1,379.00 take away 20% for vat and add shipping and GST 7%

she a beau

12191330-origpic-4ae65b.jpg

Lazy_Tiger

Where to find for good beans? :D

So many places can find good roasted beans. Just google search and nowadays so many of these 3rd wave cafes who do their own roasting opening up. I remember 5 years ago I had to get beans all the way from spinelli and specifically order from them in order to get mine within a few days from the roasting date.

Here are a few to start off:
Highlander
Papa Palheta
Oriole Coffee
40 Hands
Geisha coffee
Nylon
Toby's estate

The golden question is now where to find good UNROASTED beans to play with roasting! =:p

game goondu

coffee is serious business...

anyway.... 3.5k = 700 cups at $5 at starbucks... = to 2 whole years...

derazor

wanted to get rocket from bella barista
and mazzer mini for mazzer itself.

papa palheta is selling for 3.5K and bella barista £1,379.00 take away 20% for vat and add shipping and GST 7%

she a beau

12191330-origpic-4ae65b.jpg

bro you hoot already?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.