(GPGT)Espresso machine hoot

relacker

is brewtus better than la pavoni euripiccola?

I put my single basket single spout portafilter to my demand grinder to get about 8 grammes of coffee in about 3.4 seconds.

Tamp straight and go straight to the machine, always come out good.

Once you configure the grinder, you don't really need to do much.
Trust me, after you do like 2 to 3 weeks, you will always get it right without effort.

I used to use the Gaggia, which required more technical steps, now it's just dose, tamp, flush machine and go.

I'm using e61 brewtus models, not those lever machines which are more tricky to use.

derazor

I sold the Maestria to my cousin a week later.

I was spending on average $150 on capsules each month.
Thought about it for a while, it's too much for coffee.

Now i'm spending like less than $50

It's like some kind like the current gillette shavers vs double edged razor :) analogy

derazor

OK, already zeroed in my MC4 grinder using this method

After zero in, increase the coarseness by "1/8th of the revolution " on the dial or "10mins" for easier visualization.

Used this as a guide
http://www.home-barista.com/grinders/getting-started-with-macap-m4-stepless-t1427-10.html

and yeah the insruction manual doesn't really tell much stuff.

BUT, the beauty of it the current settings is quite close to factory shipped settings.

Current setting means [ zero point + 1/8th revolution ] which is a "good starting point for espresso shots" .

Getting started with MACAP M4 Stepless - Grinders - Page 2 • Home-Barista.com

Let's see now if i can reduce my wastage on my 250gm coffee.

calbay

is brewtus better than la pavoni euripiccola?

They are entirely different and can't pit a fight.

The Euripiccola is a basic manual lever machine with very primitive concepts, like a beta version of modern day espresso machines.
It lacks consistency as the result will vary depending on the user, in both temperature and pressure. In fact, temperature control is very minimal.

Brewtus, is a range of E61 semi auto machines from Expobar. Such systems deliver a more constant pressure and temperature control, which you will have to pay full attention and fight for every time with the Euripiccola. Brewtus is very popular in Australia and USA as they are cheap and good.

However, lever machines do have an advantage, that is they have better clarity as the pressure fluctuates from low to high steeply. Result maybe a little more sour though, which some may not like.

Modern day higher end lever machines are fitted with E61 or similar group heads, with heating systems to bring thermo stability, and are now equipped with mechanical pumps or a heavy lever system to drop from it's weight, these replace the human's arms for better consistency. The clarity is even better if i remember correctly, as pressure goes from low to high then back to low. These machines, are not cheap.

calbay

OK, already zeroed in my MC4 grinder using this method

After zero in, increase the coarseness by "1/8th of the revolution " on the dial or "10mins" for easier visualization.

Used this as a guide

and yeah the insruction manual doesn't really tell much stuff.

BUT, the beauty of it the current settings is quite close to factory shipped settings.

Current setting means [ zero point + 1/8th revolution ] which is a "good starting point for espresso shots" .

Let's see now if i can reduce my wastage on my 250gm coffee.
If you want to reduce wastage, should stick to 7-7.5 grammes. :s13:
Less coffee used and less spillage likely

I will normally go to the required weight then tune the fineness.

derazor

If you want to reduce wastage, should stick to 7-7.5 grammes. :s13:
Less coffee used and less spillage likely

I will normally go to the required weight then tune the fineness.

but my basket is double and there's a ridge to prevent overtamp. Can use 7gm meh?

derazor

hi all,

I dose 16g of coffee. 2 spouts portafilter.
I should be aiming 30ml x 2 @ 25s +/- ?

kenshinz

After a week of nespresso finally had the time this morning to take my time to grind and aeropress a cup of coffee to share with my wife...immensely satisfying break

On a side note, I find the just-a-bean dark roast from iherb actually quite nice. At least its more tolerant of my lousy coffee brewing skill :)

Lazy_Tiger

hi all,

I dose 16g of coffee. 2 spouts portafilter.
I should be aiming 30ml x 2 @ 25s +/- ?

18g 25-30ml @ about 25s for me.

30ml x 2 is too watery for my taste.

Prefer thick oily espressos like savoury sauce.

The figures are just a guide. eventually u have to make it to your liking.:)

derazor

18g 25-30ml @ about 25s for me.

30ml x 2 is too watery for my taste.

Prefer thick oily espressos like savoury sauce.

The figures are just a guide. eventually u have to make it to your liking.:)

Since I have 2 spouts, I should aim 15ml x 2 @ 25s instead for 18g?

Lazy_Tiger

Since I have 2 spouts, I should aim 15ml x 2 @ 25s instead for 18g?

the "standard" is 60ml in 25-30secs for a double dose (14-16grams). So its 30ml for each shot glass.

but I prefer my drinks much thicker so I run 30ml in 30secs with 18grams. some call this a ristretto.

If you are really siao on you can use 6 shot glasses to separately collect every 10ml of espresso as the pour starts until when the pour ends at 60ml. After that taste each 10 ml before they cool and write tasting notes. It can help you to understand which part of the espresso obtained during the extraction process you actually like.

I find the last bit of the pour (50-60ml portion) can be bitter. Give it a try and have fun!

Lazy_Tiger

Hi guys,

Pls help to comment on how I can improve on this. Thanks

1) 16gm
2) coffee roasted 4 days ago

https://vimeo.com/86168051

Your shot looks ok. Its runny to the end because all the coffee oils and carbon dioxide/gasses (the stuff that makes crema) has been extracted out but its not necessarily a bad thing. More important is how does the shot taste to you? The variables given are just guidelines. SOme prefer lungo, some prefer ristretos and heck some even prefer cafe cremas.

some baristas will cut the shot early so as not to extract out the runny portion into the cup. But at the end of the day its still a matter of your own personal preference.

derazor

Your shot looks ok. Its runny to the end because all the coffee oils and carbon dioxide/gasses (the stuff that makes crema) has been extracted out but its not necessarily a bad thing. More important is how does the shot taste to you? The variables given are just guidelines. SOme prefer lungo, some prefer ristretos and heck some even prefer cafe cremas.

some baristas will cut the shot early so as not to extract out the runny portion into the cup. But at the end of the day its still a matter of your own personal preference.

Did some fine tuning on the grind today.

Tried the dose shake shake dose

and also dose till the end then "groom" the basket.

Seems like I prefer the latter. Is there a good practice or a certain dosing method that one should follow?

Also, I find that 16gm seems to have quite a bit of wastage? A bit of wastage is ok, should I reduce down to say 14g as also recommended by calbay?

So far quite satisfied with the macap just most of the time there are 2 to 3 beans that are stuck there and I have to use the chopstick to push it down.

Also there are some powder that are stuck and I have to off/on the grinder to make it come down.

All but not least, my kitchen has natural perfume... COFFEE lol

cheers guys

Lazy_Tiger

Did some fine tuning on the grind today.

Tried the dose shake shake dose

and also dose till the end then "groom" the basket.

Seems like I prefer the latter. Is there a good practice or a certain dosing method that one should follow?

Also, I find that 16gm seems to have quite a bit of wastage? A bit of wastage is ok, should I reduce down to say 14g as also recommended by calbay?

So far quite satisfied with the macap just most of the time there are 2 to 3 beans that are stuck there and I have to use the chopstick to push it down.

Also there are some powder that are stuck and I have to off/on the grinder to make it come down.

All but not least, my kitchen has natural perfume... COFFEE lol

cheers guys

yeah its fantastic to wake up to the smell of great coffee in the morning!

Honestly I tried various dosing methods but not much difference observed on a bottomless filter or taste wise as long as there is even extraction observed from the bottomless portafiler.

As chikyblink and calbay mentioned, the distribution is very important. so as long as you can see it's more or less distributed in the basket it should be fine. My own personal theory is that the tamping process in a small but significant extent evens out the distribution in the basket as you slowly apply pressure to the tamper by shifting the grinds around. So things should be fine as long as the grounds are not so obviously lopsidedly distributed. I gently tap tap the filter to level off the bed before tamping.

Dose more if you like punchier espresso. Grind finer and for a slower pour and less volume in the same brew time if you like a heavier mouth feel.

I like mine slight more punchier than the "standard" and oilier mouthfeel so I brew with 18grams for a total volume of 30ml in 25-30secs. Some call this a ristretto (14g can also make ristretto if you just grind finer but brew 30ml volume in 25-30s) . I find ristrettos are sweeter and does not have a harsh aftertaste compared to normal espresso.

Bottom line is to experiment with all variables until you find the drink you like.

If it still sucks but your technique is consistent and sound then the blend or roast suck. Try something else.

I have experienced different tasting espressos with the same blend but different roasting batch. So I think even roasters make mistakes sometimes. =:p

Lazy_Tiger

Just curious, how are you weighing your dose?

I think this is a very important qn esp to confirm brewing parameters and for consistency. I remove the filter basket, grind and weigh before putting the basket into the portafiler and tap tap to settle the grounds.

derazor

Just curious, how are you weighing your dose?

haha trick question, think I kena liao haha....

anyway I just weigh X gram and hoot inside the grinder and dose whatever I can to the basket.

Need to be so exact ah? Now is like from art to engineering liao.

I see barista just dose groom and pull.

After reading quite abit about making espresso, each enthusiast has a certain pet peeves or sequence and sometimes it confusing LOL..

anyway luckily espresso is like a hobby to me so it's OK of course if can learn to become a barista can aslo +1 skill to my resume la, j/k

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.