[GPGT] pro chef says NTUC butter fail and low quality. Who buys NTUC butter?

Tetsuconek

House brand you expect that great meh, it's good enough lah. Their eggs, butter, chocolate chips, potato chips, milk and even instant noodle (curry) imo is good enough. Not great but good enough for the price.
Their instant noodle is not significantly cheaper than non house brand.. like at most 60 to 70 cents cheaper .. of cos cannot use Samyang or prima taste atas instant noodle to compare.

V_for_Vanilla

When AMDK reviewed and said not good, all would comment "Thanks for sharing", "NTUC really bad quality", "Totally agree" etc.

When a non-AMDK reviewed and said not good, you'd see "Dun like dun buy", "No one force you to try", "quality proportion to price mah" etc.
I share your sentiment. Look at the number of comments taking the so-called butter whisperer's words as gold. Personally I take his words with a pinch of salt. Ntuc butter isn't fantastic, neither is it as bad as he made them out to be. But I wouldn't pay for overpriced butter from France or wherever. Let the whisperers stick to their overpriced butter. Ntuc is good enough for me.

chaiscool

Their instant noodle is not significantly cheaper than non house brand.. like at most 60 to 70 cents cheaper .. of cos cannot use Samyang or prima taste atas instant noodle to compare.
Buy during promo can be even cheaper as now maggie brand ex sia. Moi still remember buying 2 packets maggie for $3.8 kind, miss those time haha

chaiscool

which butter u usually buyed? can recomand cheap and good butter?
:frown:
Go try ntuc one first, you might just be ok with it so can save money. If not can try president brand.
I share your sentiment. Look at the number of comments taking the so-called butter whisperer's words as gold. Personally I take his words with a pinch of salt. Ntuc butter isn't fantastic, neither is it as bad as he made them out to be. But I wouldn't pay for overpriced butter from France or wherever. Let the whisperers stick to their overpriced butter. Ntuc is good enough for me.
Yeah sia, moi think the test is bias till someone else replicate it with the butter in room temperature level. The splatter can happen to expensive cold butter too, so not really a good test imo. French butter president brand is nice and not that ex too.

rogze79

Go try ntuc one first, you might just be ok with it so can save money. If not can try president brand.

Yeah sia, moi think the test is bias till someone else replicate it with the butter in room temperature level. The splatter can happen to expensive cold butter too, so not really a good test imo. French butter president brand is nice and not that ex too.
No one can do the test better than yourself. Because everyone else is biased.

V_for_Vanilla

Tried the president before. Nothing special or impressive. So I went back to fairprice and golden churn.

chaiscool

No one can do the test better than yourself. Because everyone else is biased.
Eh not really imo, if multiple ppl can replicate and just additionally include the temp of butter can liao. If everything ownself test to believe then no need science liao haha
Tried the president before. Nothing special or impressive. So I went back to fairprice and golden churn.
That's good for you, can save money. You jiak or for cooking though? For moi, if jiak with bread / bun can tell the difference but if cook omelette kind no difference then.

V_for_Vanilla

Use Westgold butter. It's very good.

I make compound butters out of it for cooking. (butter with roasted garlic + rosemary + Thyme + lemon zest) or (butter with roasted garlic + dill + chives + English Parsley + lemon zest)
Also tried this before. Again I don't find it any special.

ricohflex

Why no one mention Kerrygold (Irish) butter?
And Le Gall (France) butter?
What about the classic Australian Golden Churn butter?

huihong

NTUC butter is made in Denmark.
It is acceptable.

Do not know what quality level the professional chef is referring to.

If want top grade no horse run butter - then buy Le Beurre Bordier butter. From France .

Can also try Echire butter. From France.

Can also try Paysan Breton butter. From France.
315213342_10160313493021420_1515989803936881756_n.jpg

i like this, jin pang

beurre-bordier-seaweed-butter__05193.1728149504.jpg

once in a while treat ownself to Bordier butta

TitanSmall

NTUC butter is made in Denmark.
It is acceptable.

Do not know what quality level the professional chef is referring to.

If want top grade no horse run butter - then buy Le Beurre Bordier butter. From France .

Can also try Echire butter. From France.

Can also try Paysan Breton butter. From France.
iirc, there are better quality butter at a slightly higher price... if talk about CP, NTUC butter is definitely not worth it... but if one just want the cheapest.. ntuc butter serve its purpose.. i also buy ntuc butter...

chaiscool

315213342_10160313493021420_1515989803936881756_n.jpg

i like this, jin pang

beurre-bordier-seaweed-butter__05193.1728149504.jpg

once in a while treat ownself to Bordier butta
wonder if steakhouse "the ranch" truffle butter is this kind bordier cuz look the same. It was really nice when jiak with the meat.

Tetsuconek

Why no one mention Kerrygold (Irish) butter?
And Le Gall (France) butter?
What about the classic Australian Golden Churn butter?

The chef also got test this 2 brands you mentioned. Just need to search his fb/ig/ttok

ricohflex

Do you all know you can buy Milky Mist butter (Made in India) in Singapore?
You can give it a try.

Now I am trying to see if can spot any Made in China butter sold at Scarlett supermarts in SG.

I spotted Yotsuba Hokkaido butter (Made in Japan) in SG. Expensive.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.