[GPGT] PSP's Stephanie Tan denounces the lack of strong action for bullying in Schs! Calls for MOE to be proactive and conduct direct investigations!

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

oddeye82

Everything also slowly monitoring, just like PMDs. Monitor until chu taiji liao then action. Like vapes now. This one also monitoring.

NeonX

No wonder people use axe in school

Means no tolerate whistleblower

boringLife-

School should put 1 spf officer to patrol and handle right? How many times kena caught liao the school principal say simi monitor first, no evidence blah blah blah. If spf involved, can just overwrite the teacher's and principal's decision and follow a standarized set of sop to handle. And if school got spf, the victim can just straight away run to look for an authority figure for help

Eliwood

By not doing anything concrete, strong and decisive against something as obviously immoral like bullying, it is already considered as taking a stand whether you like it or not....

If bullying actions, especially in an educational institution, gets by without swift actions, standing the opposite sides of bullies, it doesn't sound neutral at all leh

I think the schools lack a proper framework to deal with bullying and to punish the bullies.

But i dun attribute this to the intent of the teachers and principals to side with bullies.

I like to think if there is a proper framework, the schools will enforce it appropriately. In fact, i see the root to be MOE's failure to implement a proper framework, which is ironic because she and apparently u guys think MOE is "neutral".

But everyone is entitled to their own view.

psyger-zero

Ccs set the precedence as ex Min of education “have a care for bullies”
to be fair to him,lets assume he means that do not jump to conclusions,we must find out if the victim is really the victim or did they do something to provoke such reactions.we dont want to jump at the wrong party with pitchforks while the mastermind runs scot free.however,what he does after that,whether he follows up with close investigations n appropriate actions,remain to be seen.

psyger-zero

I think the schools lack a proper framework to deal with bullying and to punish the bullies.

But i dun attribute this to the intent of the teachers and principals to side with bullies.

I like to think if there is a proper framework, the schools will enforce it appropriately. In fact, i see the root to be MOE's failure to implement a proper framework, which is ironic because she and apparently u guys think MOE is "neutral".

then why lastime discipline so strict?lastime got framework then that framework kena thrown in the waste paper basket?

xEpyonx

What strong action?
Now where got balls of steel to carry out discipline?
then they should stand aside when parents decide to take matters into their own hands when the govt, the school, the police, and MOE refuse to do anything.

elloz123

to be fair to him,lets assume he means that do not jump to conclusions,we must find out if the victim is really the victim or did they do something to provoke such reactions.we dont want to jump at the wrong party with pitchforks while the mastermind runs scot free.however,what he does after that,whether he follows up with close investigations n appropriate actions,remain to be seen.
Sure bro getting whacked by 4 people in succession isn’t the victim 😭😭

he already called them bullies that means he established that they are the aggressor. Not sure what u mean by finding out who is the victim.

charleslee1989

MOE says otherwise on the framework....

https://www.moe.gov.sg/education-in-sg/our-programmes/discipline

"Discipline in schools​

MOE provides schools with guidelines to formulate their discipline policies and school rules based on the student profile and needs. Disciplinary consequences such as detention, suspension and corrective community service are considered in combination or separately, depending on the circumstances of each case. Caning is a disciplinary option for boys only, and for serious offences as a last resort, when absolutely necessary."

Whimsica

So she wants lots more cctv, a much bigger MOE and a more paternalistic gahmen.

Be careful what she wishes for.

And this party got many problems.

It's full of retirees and unemployed people but wants this and wants that.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.