GPGT - Singapore's outsized defence spending

TopGun

Singapore just don't have the expertise to compete with other nations. The Bionix and Primus were the height of our achievement and things just stagnated after that.

Why do you say stagnant? There's the Hunter AFV and Terrex, while there might not be a need to develop a successor of Primus.

If you think about it, it might be cheaper to purchase than develop, unless there's a big export market. And the export market is quite saturated.

enigmastar

I am well aware of the history but the situation today is quite different from the past. Back then, Singapore's dependence on Malaysia for water was a critical vulnerability and LKY's assertive stance was aimed at safeguarding the country's survival.

However, times have changed. Singapore has invested heavily in water self-sufficiency, with technologies like desalination and NEWater, reducing the reliance on external sources. Additionally, the global political environment, the development of international law, and diplomatic relations make military action over such disputes highly unlikely today.

While the historical threats were real and understandable in that context, the idea of launching an attack now over water supply is highly unlikely scenario. is it not? :ROFLMAO:

Diplomacy, international pressure, and legal mechanisms would come into play before anything escalated to that level.
As much as we have invested in water treatment etc etc, imported water still remain a critical source for us , not only for human consumption also for our industry usage.

Please read on how Ukraine give up its nuclear weapon after both usa and russia agreed to safeguard its independence. And look what happen now.

You can talk about diplomacy, international pressure and legal mechanism but you can't deny the fact that we are a smaller nation when compared to our neighbours. Without a strong army, our neighbours will not look at us as equal. In reality big always eat small, only having a strong army we can encourage other to sit down and talk. If others can just invade you easily, why still need to talk?

Btw its not malaysia launching an attack on us for water. They need not to . They can just turn off water and our economy will collapse. Just to be clear its we launch attack to secure water resources in malaysia if they turn it off.

ShinnAsuka

Almost every single day deploy several fighter jets, the well known rush to wait wait to rush in army. Many jlbs on top of hierarchy. No need so much money then weird

wwenze

As much as we have invested in water treatment etc etc, imported water still remain a critical source for us , not only for human consumption also for our industry usage.

Please read on how Ukraine give up its nuclear weapon after both usa and russia agreed to safeguard its independence. And look what happen now.

You can talk about diplomacy, international pressure and legal mechanism but you can't deny the fact that we are a smaller nation when compared to our neighbours. Without a strong army, our neighbours will not look at us as equal. In reality big always eat small, only having a strong army we can encourage other to sit down and talk. If others can just invade you easily, why still need to talk?

Btw its not malaysia launching an attack on us for water. They need not to . They can just turn off water and our economy will collapse. Just to be clear its we launch attack to secure water resources in malaysia if they turn it off.
Without NS, people see SG no up

With NS, people see sinkies no up

Nightscapez

the gdp is base on local singaporean population or with foreigners?
now singapore got more foreigners than local people wor

NOfLine

I am well aware of the history but the situation today is quite different from the past. Back then, Singapore's dependence on Malaysia for water was a critical vulnerability and LKY's assertive stance was aimed at safeguarding the country's survival.

However, times have changed. Singapore has invested heavily in water self-sufficiency, with technologies like desalination and NEWater, reducing the reliance on external sources. Additionally, the global political environment, the development of international law, and diplomatic relations make military action over such disputes highly unlikely today.

While the historical threats were real and understandable in that context, the idea of launching an attack now over water supply is highly unlikely scenario. is it not? :ROFLMAO:

Diplomacy, international pressure, and legal mechanisms would come into play before anything escalated to that level.

Water with Malaysia has seen the tables turned with it's own consequences. Due to lack of maintenance of infrastructure, water from taps are brown. They are experiencing yearly floods and shortages during dry spells.

There will be pressure on Singapore to fill the gaps not just water but other aspects as well.

Times indeed have changed...and looking at India(A Giant) surrounded by failed states Pakistan, Bangladesh, especially Myanmar. It's a scary trend. Hope it doesn't come our way.

Diplomacy won't do any good here.

So I see the recent trend for DSTA to look to foreign proven weapons(LMG) instead of local designs and I interpret it to mean the horizon is not clear and SAF is preparing for trouble to come. Soon.

EdenHazard

Lose to Israel sia. Hope we can up the budget, get more f35s and iron dome

apriliasiao

Do you mean we have water because we have credible army and not because we have signed an agreement with Malaysia?
It is foolish to think agreement can be honoured in good faith. w/o gd relationship and a powerful army, no one will give a fuk. US will not be in its position today w/o it super strong army.

GarnetDragon

And we, the taxpayers, are burning our monies for this :look:

money-burn.gif

yves

how can like that say, serve the nation with great sacrifices and blow aircon only.

Whimsica

Not really meaningful to compare based on per capita spending.

We have 60+ F16. Does it mean a small country with, say, 300K population (5% ours), owning three F16s will be enough liao? If this small country has five F16s then is considered super ultra promax outsized?

wwenze

It is foolish to think agreement can be honoured in good faith. w/o gd relationship and a powerful army, no one will give a fuk. US will not be in its position today w/o it super strong army.
Well said.

To see what would happen if the people didn't have power to make good the promises, just look at sinkies when they don't have the power to choose who to let in.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.