[GPU Review] Sapphire AMD r9 Fury X on the rise!

royfrosty

That is the jist of the day isnt it?

Our cdl sell 980Ti G1 at only $100 more than Fury X, comes with latest Batman and a mouse! When spending $1K, 100 bucks is no consideration.

AMD just lost all value by pricing Fury X as a premium product for that kind of beh-kan perf. I share your attachment as one of the first Fury X consumers, but AMD flopped in the end. Bad for them, bad for us, good for Nvidia.

Btw i using 290 series, not a past Nvidia supporters because local distros overpriced Nvidia cards here. But tables have turned with Fury X. :D

First you talk about Ref card.

Then you bring in performance

Then you bring in G1 and claims that Fury X is not a single digit frame performance.

Then now you bring in pricing of a G1 with all the freebies.

WTH do you want now?

All your claims, all your junky theories, all your invalid all talk all bash.

Last warning. I remain cool about it. And now you step and crossed the line.

enenyi

beh kan? Did you check out the 4K CF performance??? In several cases, Fury X CF outperforms Titan X SLI.... We are talking about Titan X here, not 980ti...... you call that beh kan?

I am going to verify the CF performance 1st hand tonight when I get home.
Just ignore him. Let him talk to himself.

By then, he would have exhausted all the advantages the 980 Ti has over the Fury X.

bemylove

beh kan? Did you check out the 4K CF performance??? In several cases, Fury X CF outperforms Titan X SLI.... We are talking about Titan X here, not 980ti...... you call that beh kan?

I am going to verify the CF performance 1st hand tonight when I get home.

Nope, never see yet. Where leh?
CF needs timely drivers update btw and in single GPU mode, Fury X already have high spikey frametimes, CF lagi will be worse.

Make sure you give your Furries some airflow in between. Their vrm at the back runs hot.

Last pic, hover your mouse over. 104 degrees celsius :D
http://www.hardware.fr/articles/937-8/temperatures-nuisances-sonores.html

After removing the back plate, we can observe that the VRM reach a little over 100 ° C. This plate not participating in the cooling, the temperature is probably a little higher when it is in place.

While these components are designed for such temperatures, the R9 Fury X cooling system shows its limits at this level and we do not recommend overclocking potential with large VMOD .

monikernemo

means the tech not mature yet? nvidia also have hbm in the works but not yet bought out. im saying the advantage amd have over nvidia now is that it appeals to the sff crowd such as me. if not for the size i believe 980ti is the better choice.

Tech not mature not the same as gimmicky. So hbm is gimmick? Not mature I agree, amd could have larger vram size.

As for sff builds, most cases even for itx can fit a full size gpu. For the fury, mounting of radiator and long tubings are issue when dealing with small ff cases.

New ideas are exciting and enticing because competitors gets influenced by each others work and seek better improvement. If every gpu is just about performance arms race, then what does meaning does it hold to get a lower tiered gpu - just get the cream of the crop any way. 0 fan when low load, LED lighting having different profiles for different needs, overclock capability, low load temps, are small things that entices the enthusiast. Does these affect performance? Not really, but certainly makes end user experience more pleasant.

While one does not buy a graphic for mainly performance reasons, one also does not buy graphic cards for their led lighting, 0 fan mode etc. Performance is key, but all the other stuff counts too.

To conclude, get what you need first, then what you like and want...

Sent from microwave oven using GAGT

ondooy

can't we all just get along ? =:p

critical-friends-home.jpg

backtracker

Forgot to ask whats your ambient temps? Singapore is so darn hot.

Hey Roy,
Ambient temps 28-29 degrees, not in air con room, just the usual night time temps =)

I own the G1 980, and although its the same cooler, with the same re paste MX 4, the temps are hovering 63-67 degrees. Higher than the G1 980 Ti.
I think it is due to the lower out of the box clock speeds.

avsquare

Just my 2c, Fury X is a bad value gaming card. $1K better spent on 980Ti-6GB OC G1. :)

This is not only my sentiments niah hor, go look around all gaming forums. AMD and their Fury tio condemn heavily for a fail overhyping. :eek:

Sentiments is sentiments. Forums every where so many keyboard warriors talk so loudly, got dragon got tiger.

Like you lah. Hokkien called it "chui gong lanpa song".

Seriously, hoot one Fury X or G1 980Ti then we talk about it.

Even if AMD make one 12GB HBM card with CLC cooler that beats Titan X in performance and being cheaper so? Sure you can praise it all day long about how it is the best card in the world along with all the forums PCWs..

But the truth to all these PCWs is the best card is the card they could afford. Pui chao nua some of them don't even have the money to afford a GTX 970, kpkb so much :s13:

escksu

I will take apart the card and see where are the VRMs tonight.... I believe I already know where it is and its water cooled. So, if it can hit 100C, it means there is no contact or poor contact.

escksu

Btw, the Sapphire Fury X is still available at Cybermind when I was there today..... Wanted to hoot but.... I think 3 fury X no point. Won't scale well.....

bemylove

Sentiments is sentiments. Forums every where so many keyboard warriors talk so loudly, got dragon got tiger.

Like you lah. Hokkien called it "chui gong lanpa song".

Seriously, hoot one Fury X or G1 980Ti then we talk about it.

Even if AMD make one 12GB HBM card with CLC cooler that beats Titan X in performance and being cheaper so? Sure you can praise it all day long about how it is the best card in the world along with all the forums PCWs..

But the truth to all these PCWs is the best card is the card they could afford. Pui chao nua some of them don't even have the money to afford a GTX 970, kpkb so much :s13:

must kpkb then everyone can learn where to put their money worth mah. That is what forums are for. Every day got recommend me a rig threads.

Btw hor, why i and few keep mention frametimes is important.
Read here, http://techreport.com/review/21516/inside-the-second-a-new-look-at-game-benchmarking

In summary, average fps benchmarks only show how a sum of how many fps generated over the time period tested. Frametimes are more important for smooth gameplay. High fps with poor frametimes mean your games will stutter here and there despite the high fps.

avsquare

must kpkb then everyone can learn where to put their money worth mah. That is what forums are for. Every day got recommend me a rig threads.

Btw hor, why i and few keep mention frametimes is important.
Read here, http://techreport.com/review/21516/inside-the-second-a-new-look-at-game-benchmarking

In summary, average fps benchmarks only show how a sum of how many fps generated over the time period tested. Frametimes are more important for smooth gameplay. High fps with poor frametimes mean your games will stutter here and there despite the high fps.

Refer to this again

But the truth to all these PCWs is the best card is the card they could afford. Pui chao nua some of them don't even have the money to afford a GTX 970, kpkb so much

Don't talk so much. Which card you can afford first?

Usopp

Once again, this is not a AMD vs Nvidia "Who has the performance crown" thread. This is a thread showcasing the elements which makes the Fury X unique and what the card is capable of. It is like comparing Michael Bay's transformers movie to original in 1986. Everyone knows that Michael Bay's transformers movie earned more than the original version. But, I can safely argue that I highly prefer the original to Bay's version, because the original feels much more like a transformers movie instead of generic movie with a lot of explosions and attractive women.

Also, anyone worth their salt here knows about frame timings or have at least skimmed through the techreport article.

halnala

Roy, I hear u. The hardware enthusiast explores new territory, tests the unknown. I'm a bit of one myself and have always been keen to try out AMD FX processors for the fun of it. Just an example. But i guess comparisons are inevitable as ppl just like to know if they should put their money on something.

for me, i won't pay 1k for this card. I'm probably more keen to buy a 290x and try watercooling it. In the end, it's all about the joy of trying new stuff and the new stuff from amd looks interesting too.

Trento, save money for Zen ba. I will post FX results when Win 10 and DX12 arrives and stabilise. FX is too old to find hardware for it now.

AMD has always been daring to try out new frontiers. For that reason alone, I will buy their products just to play with it. Doesn't matter if they kill Titan or Haswell because I simply not bothered. ;)

halnala

To roy bro, thanks for all the hardwork to bring us numbers. Totally appreciate it as a tech junkie myself. Hopefully got chance can collaborate to play hardware sometime.

p.s. don't get put down by ignorant fanboys. We do wat we like because we can and we enjoy it. ;)

royfrosty

To roy bro, thanks for all the hardwork to bring us numbers. Totally appreciate it as a tech junkie myself. Hopefully got chance can collaborate to play hardware sometime.

p.s. don't get put down by ignorant fanboys. We do wat we like because we can and we enjoy it. ;)

Thanks! Definitely. Got time can definitely meet up. Especially like Hwc BBQ.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.