[GPU Review] Sapphire AMD r9 Fury X on the rise!

royfrosty

Screen size will depends.

In fact for 1440p from 25inch to 27inch dont need AA at all.

For 32inch then you will need to turn on the minimum AA. But if you are a FPS type of person and want fast images, Then just go for no AA at 32inch.

Technically speaking 32inch for 1440p is the same PPI as 24inch 1080p.

monikernemo

The image is much finer and slightly sharper over QHD. But you need to see quite close in order to see the difference.

For 1440p max AA it is also quite fine and sharp. And shadows are slightly not smooth than 4k, as you can see certain edges. But you cant really see it when playing the game itself. Not unless you stop and purposely take a look at it.

But being that said, both are still good, and it is a substantial upgrade for people whom are stuck at 1080p to move on to 1440p or 4k monitors.

For moi ish 1080p forever!!!

Anw then again I always thought that no AA at higher resolution will lose to AA at lower resolution hmmm

Sent from microwave oven using GAGT

halnala

Wats the limit of the VSR? I still very intrigued by the thought of squeezing 4k into 1080p.

royfrosty

Wats the limit of the VSR? I still very intrigued by the thought of squeezing 4k into 1080p.

Poor scaling for desktop. Dont use it because of extending your desktop space. It will be a disaster.

However in terms of gaming it is good for people whom wanna test 4k. VSR will give the exact same result 1:1 with native 4k. The picture quality will look more refined and sharper.

Fatfool

Poor scaling for desktop. Dont use it because of extending your desktop space. It will be a disaster.

However in terms of gaming it is good for people whom wanna test 4k. VSR will give the exact same result 1:1 with native 4k. The picture quality will look more refined and sharper.

What? No it will not. Doesn't it scale a 4K image down to 1080p?

It exhibits the perfromance level of a game running at a 4k resolution and due to the scaling down, the image quality is indeed better (essentially it's superscaling) but it sure as hell ain't the same image as a 1:1 at 4k.

royfrosty

What? No it will not. Doesn't it scale a 4K image down to 1080p?

It exhibits the perfromance level of a game running at a 4k resolution and due to the scaling down, the image quality is indeed better (essentially it's superscaling) but it sure as hell ain't the same image as a 1:1 at 4k.

I did not say the same 1:1. I say the results of the benchmarks.

halnala

So basically using Nvidia DSR or Amd VSR to run games at say QHD on 1080p screen will be chui? I am discussing from a gaming perspective, not scale desktop. Like a replacement for AA of sort.

royfrosty

Oh that is nice to know. So can push a card to bench @ 4K without 4K monitor. Sweet!

Yes. Basically what it does just like what fatfool mentioned. It takes place within the gpu to process 4k image first. Then downscale to fit the monitor native res.

Like DSR, VSR renders games above the display's native resolution and then downscales them to fit. The effect is something akin to full-scene antialiasing, and at least in the case of DSR, it can pay real dividends in terms of image quality. The downside is, obviously, a high performance cost.

Credit: http://techreport.com/news/27483/vsr-is-amd-answer-to-nvidia-dsr-tech
Also you can read here...

http://www.tomshardware.com/answers/id-2440594/dsr-costlier-performance-hit-wise-simply-running.html

Mikiberry

Roy ~ I have been reading that Fury X got issues with frames especially in the 1080p, are u experiencing it? Don't flame me hor just very curious why it works that way.
Solid 1440 and 4k card but got issues with 1080p, what is your take on this?

Source: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zDqrkZ_NrLI - 1080
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=39PHDS-KYf0 - 1440
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gfK0Yr1xTFo - 4k bench so solid - head to head almost.

Ignore witcher 3 since it is nvidia optimised and acu is just plain bad.
Edit - this changed my perception. I thought 4gb vram will make Fury X suffer. Wrong - infact performs so well.

royfrosty

Roy ~ I have been reading that Fury X got issues with frames especially in the 1080p, are u experiencing it? Don't flame me hor just very curious why it works that way.
Solid 1440 and 4k card but got issues with 1080p, what is your take on this?

Source: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zDqrkZ_NrLI

Ignore witcher 3 since it is nvidia optimised and acu is just plain bad.

Test tomorrow ba. Witcher 3.

royfrosty

Aye~ test between native 1080 and 1440. Very interested to know. I dont think Witcher is a good since too Nvidia optimised liao - results might not be controlled.

Alright. Will test most other games on 1080p also.

Mikiberry

Alright. Will test most other games on 1080p also.

If busy nvm wor. Find one day meet up can chia you lol.
Thanks for earnest review bro ~

I really thinking of getting this card for my sis.
Use on SFF, slap it in can use liao. No need worry for temps.

hengheng220

Wa your sis game on so powerful system ah

royfrosty

Welcome. No issues bro. Can do within my abilities i will do de.

Mikiberry

Wa your sis game on so powerful system ah

I handover quite a lot of parts lol
Still got 4770k chip on standby.
Not getting now but once sales start that aio gpu is damn tempting.
I'm not getting 980ti for her lol but the aio option is too tempting lol.
Nano also interesting. Get family a pc to use lor

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.