Gundam Modeling Official thread - Part 5

alexmcqueen

hi guys, i read somewhere when they say need to use sandpaper to sand my kits.
can i just use those sand paper from those hardware shop?

ongkh2000

If normal nub mark then just slice as close as u can, then sand it accordingly

Thought he's referring to stress marks caused by cutting too close..

stress marks is normally caused by causing too much pressure on a plastic, normally looks like a dent or what on the plastic ba.. if im not wrong..

cutting too close, you wont get stress marks unless the part you're cutting out is very very thin, or you're using super sized clippers for ur part.. sometimes when im lazy i cut straight to the part and sand, and i've never encountered stress marks by doing so. hm..

ongkh2000

yes but selectively.. i reccommend u to get from haw/hag, hobbymate sandpapers. alternatively m workshop and stargek carries tamiya sandpapers.

any more questions?!

alexmcqueen

yes but selectively.. i reccommend u to get from haw/hag, hobbymate sandpapers. alternatively m workshop and stargek carries tamiya sandpapers.

any more questions?!

haw? hag? stargek?

got address and phone no.?

btw where can i get cheap kits in sg?

guiltysky

yeah.. normally if you are clearing seamlines and if uuse putty, u will need to paint to cover up the puttied seamline. if you want to topcoat only, i suggest you just snapfit and topcoat. no point clearing seamline.

my 2 cents

alright thx for the advice:)

osirisx

stress marks is normally caused by causing too much pressure on a plastic, normally looks like a dent or what on the plastic ba.. if im not wrong..

cutting too close, you wont get stress marks unless the part you're cutting out is very very thin, or you're using super sized clippers for ur part.. sometimes when im lazy i cut straight to the part and sand, and i've never encountered stress marks by doing so. hm..

Hmm.. Nt sure what's it's called
But there's those 'white' imprint on the parts if u clip it too close to the plastic... Sanding doesn't help cuz the surface is already level.

Thought it's referred to as stress marks...

alexmcqueen

But there's those 'white' imprint on the parts if u cut it too close to the plastic... Sanding doesn't help cuz the surface is already level.

yes its called stress mark. as long as no hole, it doesnt really bother us since we will paint over.

ongkh2000

But there's those 'white' imprint on the parts if u cut it too close to the plastic... Sanding doesn't help cuz the surface is already level.

hmm.. dnno bout tt but from what i do normally i dn get that..

ya the white imprint.. u cam just putty over it lor..

alexmcqueen

hmm.. dnno bout tt but from what i do normally i dn get that..

ya the white imprint.. u cam just putty over it lor..

eh... mind asking. what is this putty u referring to?
where i can buy them?

i saw those hardware shop sell those epoxy putty. same?

aucheukyan

what to do...

at least for me, i cant tolerate just snapfit oob with no painting and with all the nubmarks, seamlines and clear stickers.

they are fugly .. to me.

me too..... totally cannot tolerate anymore liao, might 走火入魔 in the cleaniness of the surfaces ho... must be careful:s16:

Hobby Art Gallery / Hobby Art @ Work

Tamiya In Singapore

u can get cheap kits from haw/hag.

any last questions?

never gone to stargek before....

eh... mind asking. what is this putty u referring to?
where i can buy them?

i saw those hardware shop sell those epoxy putty. same?

na not the same, we use this, alternatively there is the grey one
top.jpg

there is also this, thinned with lacquer thinner already, just use oob
top.jpg
]

alexmcqueen

me too..... totally cannot tolerate anymore liao, might 走火入魔 in the cleaniness of the surfaces ho... must be careful:s16:

never gone to stargek before....

na not the same, we use this, alternatively there is the grey one

there is also this, thinned with lacquer thinner already, just use oob
top.jpg
]

eh its says surface primer leh. not putty.

but i thought pre thin with thinner one is this?

Dissputty_001.jpg

piecewise

hmm.. either i'm missing something here or somebody turned Q&A mode on.. :s11::s11:

so far i've been using sandpapers bought from those hardware shop, just get the waterproof ones and it'll last much longer. :)

But there's those 'white' imprint on the parts if u clip it too close to the plastic... Sanding doesn't help cuz the surface is already level.

stress marks are just the white (or lighter) colour areas when you cut the plastic.. usually happens when you're using more or a shearing rather than slicing action. can be avoided by cutting the gate as far away from your part then slowly use a hobby knife to shave it down, afterwards use sandpaper to give a smooth finish. sometimes even if you do so you'll get a dark colour imprint in the plastic, which i have not discovered yet how to remove.

O.. So it Is called stress marks.. Then wat are nub marks?

nub marks are the leftover gate material when the part is removed from the runner.

alexmcqueen

thanks for the replies guys!

wow there is so much i didnt know.

pardon the qns, i am a newbie ar.

btw these are some of the works i have done so far.

noob stuffs. just to share with u guys :o

DSC02266.jpg

DSC01382.jpg

DSC01126.jpg

DSC02254.jpg

DSC02250.jpg

c&c welcome :)

Spector1986

DSC02254.jpg

How to achieve this?
What is this effect called?
Is it prime white > gold > silver > metal blue paint? > Matt coat?

How u paste the stickers so nice one?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.