Gundam Modeling Official thread - Part 5

ultimatron

sliver0503

Spraycan harder to control, spraycan limited colors, spraycans cant do shading, spraycans more exp in e long run, spraycans cant topcoat on raining days..
Tats wat I can recall now.. Think theres much more spraycans cannot do..

tictactor

Here's my pre-JC admission work. Might be my last kit/gunpla of the year cause things are gonna get busy from tmr onwards :(
Anw, here goes:
BTF's 1/100 GN Sword IV
Comes with a glass medal(?? Likely to be for display only la nothing special one) and a ring for the GN Sword Bits.

Pictures:
IMAG0101-1.jpg

IMAG0104-1.jpg

IMAG0105-1.jpg

IMAG0106-1.jpg

IMAG0103-1.jpg

Review:
For a 3rd party manufacturer, I must say the quality of the plastic is good. Plus, there is colour separation.

The only problems I've encountered are:
1. Some of the pegs are too big for the holes/too tight to fit in. Had to use sandpaper to smoothen it and make the circumference smaller.
2. Because of (1), there are some white stress marks on the sword itself. Not visible from afar, but upclose you can see faint white marks :(
3. The green bits on the swords are extremely sharp, not to mention quite brittle(but I haven't picked myself/broken it yet..luckily)
4. (The biggest problem of all) There is no way the 00Q's hands can carry ANY of the weapons. No pegs at all.. Haven't tried carrying with both hands though.

C&C welcome!

PS: My kits are all snap fitted with nub-marks removed to my best w a hobby knife and sandpaper; occasionally using paint to cover up.
No money for an airbrush and other stuffs you pros use. Lack of decals are because I'm afraid I'll mess them up... so don't flame me please :(

sliver0503

@tictator:
Tks for sharing!!
If I may share my tots, coming fr e point of a noob gunpla lover, nobody is a born modeller, to me, gunpla is abt passion for a hobby, I oso dun hav ab. And I used to snapfit my kits oso.

Imho, we learn fr mistakes n do better on the next kit,
doesnt mean dun paint = no passion, doesnt mean use sticker = no passion.
Treat e kit w respect would b a decent way of showing love for this hobby. Effort is sth we can see.
My personal preference, at least clear nubmarks.. But then again, tat is my perference minimum requirement of showing respect for yr kits.

My 2 cents

sliver0503

thx alot! need to try out this color liao, see which kit can use.... maybe Jesta ^^

Why not use on jesta n as well as on mg banshee?
*evil grin*

If I may add, dark mica blue is glossy but my banshee I gave it flat coat cos I like flat coat banshee, hence, if jus dark mica blue, e finishing shld b gloss.

tictactor

thanks alot for the review there! good warning too!

btw jc so jialat ah? :(
idk leh tmr first day of orientation until about 6//:s22::s22::eek:

@tictator:
Tks for sharing!!
If I may share my tots, coming fr e point of a noob gunpla lover, nobody is a born modeller, to me, gunpla is abt passion for a hobby, I oso dun hav ab. And I used to snapfit my kits oso.

Imho, we learn fr mistakes n do better on the next kit,
doesnt mean dun paint = no passion, doesnt mean use sticker = no passion.
Treat e kit w respect would b a decent way of showing love for this hobby. Effort is sth we can see.
My personal preference, at least clear nubmarks.. But then again, tat is my perference minimum requirement of showing respect for yr kits.

My 2 cents
Haha no worries bro I was merely joking about the flaming bit.. maybe when I have free time after my studies then learn those professional modelling :)

hoyouken

Seeing all the nice kits i feel so disgraced haha, i only snap fit all my kits that is why i never post any pics of my finished work :)

think will try to top coat and do some hand painting with my shaky hands :s13:

Just a warning, once you started doing clearing nubmarks/ painting, it will then be quite difficult to be satisfy with just snap fitting....
Now i see my kits, i must paint them (spray cans in my case, no $ for AB) if i want to build them....

Just sharing my personal experience/ thoughts only. Although i have stopped my gunpla for quite some time due to health issues. :(

Zephon

PG raiser can get at 15000 or lower.

Try labi at ikebukkuro (cheapest official price)
Or mandrake at nakano or akiba - no guaranteed stocks but usually can get lower than 15ooo

my God 15000 yens!? I not sure if he's willing to buy 2 boxes!!!

Zephon

yea mandarake sells gunpla at good prices...think is coz some of them are sold to the shops from normal folks in japan(too many backlog)

got to see the year of manufacture mah....
00 raiser is a recent kit....wing zero, how old liao ...the details and stuff lacking compared to 00

haha good point there...

btw, MG I don't mind, but if PG I'm sure I don't want to buy 2nd hand... imagine buying a PG from Japan and only realize some runner are missing when back to S'g...

aucheukyan

Spraycan harder to control, spraycan limited colors, spraycans cant do shading, spraycans more exp in e long run, spraycans cant topcoat on raining days..
Tats wat I can recall now.. Think theres much more spraycans cannot do..

spraycan is easy to handle(beginner friendly)
spraycan dont have to maintain
spraycan dont have to clean
spraycan save your electricity bill(by alot!!!)

there are always pros and cons.... depends on how you use it, the weathering master by sliver(yes i spelled correctly) is quite innovative, or there are copic markers that can do that job too....:s12::s12::s12:

osirisx

haha good point there...

btw, MG I don't mind, but if PG I'm sure I don't want to buy 2nd hand... imagine buying a PG from Japan and only realize some runner are missing when back to S'g...
can do a quick check when you're at the hotel....tally with the manual

I got a mg kit from bazaar(the guy bought it from mandarake), the wrapping is quite sturdy(those bookwrap thickness, everything was accounted for)) better than our local shrink wrap.
not sure if it's the same at their store or is it just for overseas orders..

there are always pros and cons.... depends on how you use it, the weathering master by sliver(yes i spelled correctly) is quite innovative, or there are copic markers that can do that job too....:s12::s12::s12:
actually u can just get the $2 pastel box from daiso then sand it down, there's 18 colors in there.
Much cheaper than if u to get it from specialized shops like art friend or the tamiya weathering master..
Just a warning, once you started doing clearing nubmarks/ painting, it will then be quite difficult to be satisfy with just snap fitting....
Now i see my kits, i must paint them (spray cans in my case, no $ for AB) if i want to build them....

Just sharing my personal experience/ thoughts only. Although i have stopped my gunpla for quite some time due to health issues. :(

quite true...now I see all my past hg kits in my display, also thinking to ab them when I have the time

ahkaiz

anyone know how much is HAG sell their unicorn Banshee Destroy Mode?

piecewise

+ get consistent colours every time..

lol, sometimes when i handpaint and mix with thinner also can get different shades and finish each time. >.<

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.