Gundam Modeling Official thread - Part 5

theclerksays

I'm going to hoot mg blitz the moment it releases!

but I think RG got better details than old mgs... eg strike...

for acrylic based paint normally what ratio u all use?

I'm using 70:30 thinner:paint ratio... and it does not dry as fast as I would like.

would increasing the thinner content mean faster drying?

also is semi gloss top coat = matt effect? I only saw the hobby shop selling gloss and semi gloss.. then when I ask the cashier he say yes... just wan to confirm..

thanks

Spector1986

How about this ?

cat+banshee+%2526+cat+sinanju+papercraft.jpg

Dun b sensitive n say I refer ur sinanju or banshee to animals.. :o

Spector1986

I'm going to hoot mg blitz the moment it releases!

but I think RG got better details than old mgs... eg strike...

for acrylic based paint normally what ratio u all use?

I'm using 70:30 thinner:paint ratio... and it does not dry as fast as I would like.

would increasing the thinner content mean faster drying?

also is semi gloss top coat = matt effect? I only saw the hobby shop selling gloss and semi gloss.. then when I ask the cashier he say yes... just wan to confirm..

thanks
Semi gloss is not Matt coat..
Flat is Matt coat..
For thinner ratio.. What method r u using?
And how long is the time u wan it to dry?
Dun be sensitive.. I only wanna clarify the methods u are using so I can explain more :o

theclerksays

Semi gloss is not Matt coat..
Flat is Matt coat..
For thinner ratio.. What method r u using?
And how long is the time u wan it to dry?
Dun be sensitive.. I only wanna clarify the methods u are using so I can explain more :o

how come all your posts end with dun be sensitive?:s13:

sian liao shopkeeper told me wrong thing.

Aiming to dry in 15 mins... so far when I use 70:30 when I hold the piece about 15 mins later, got my fingerprint there lol. then have to sand and paint again. Then after that the paint colour like not even already...

Method I'm not sure... I just use dropper and fill to the last mark. 7 squirts of thinner then use another dropper to squirt 3 marks of paint...

dragod

lol, so after i spray it with Metallic red, I will apply another candy gloss over it? Do I need to apply another layer of Gloss Finish again to make it blink blink? :D
Pear white....sounds intersting, will give it a try.

For metallic colours.. Spraycan has many variety.. Metallic red etc.. Or you can apply the candy gloss effect.. For inner frame.. Gunmetal is a good choice.. Pearl white spraycans are available too..
I am only referring to the PG red frame that you just bought.. And spraycan only.. Don't be sensitive n say what airbrush mocking etc.. :o

Spector1986

Aiming to dry in 15 mins... so far when I use 70:30 when I hold the piece about 15 mins later, got my fingerprint there lol. then have to sand and paint again. Then after that the paint colour like not even already...

Method I'm not sure... I just use dropper and fill to the last mark. 7 squirts of thinner then use another dropper to squirt 3 marks of paint...

Haha.. Method meaning is airbrushing or handpainting? :) for acrylic paint.. U have to wait at least 30mins ba.. Even for lacquer paint which drys the fastest.. We will have to wait like 1 day for it to completely cure.. Don't be too impatient.. I understand the eagerness to complete the kit..

HeeroYuy

lol, so after i spray it with Metallic red, I will apply another candy gloss over it? Do I need to apply another layer of Gloss Finish again to make it blink blink? :D

F.Y.I there is also clear pearl coat by tamiya a bit hard to find but I got one, later reach hm den gpgt.

Spec! Stop trolling.. Else tat fellow will start again.

Spector1986

No no.. Candy gloss effect is a clear colour over bright silver colour..
First u need to prime.. Then gloss black.. Then chrome.. Then a clear colour..
Here is one of my works..
63c91954.jpg

The red is clear red over silver.. The blue is clear blue n the yellow is clear yellow all over silver..
Hope this helps.. If u are worried.. Try it on a cheaper kit first like a HG kit.. At least u won't so heart pain.. Don't be sensitive.. I not saying u can't afford another PG red frame.. Just giving some advices..

osirisx

Semi gloss is same as bandai stock finish

U handbrush arh...?
Handbrush should aim to let it dry slowly, to minimize brush mark...back then I even used paint retarder

Ratio I used 50:50......50 of paint and the rest thinner and retarder
The exia I posted was painted that way, most of it anyway..

theclerksays

Haha.. Method meaning is airbrushing or handpainting? :) for acrylic paint.. U have to wait at least 30mins ba.. Even for lacquer paint which drys the fastest.. We will have to wait like 1 day for it to completely cure.. Don't be too impatient.. I understand the eagerness to complete the kit..

oh paiseh I meant airbrushing.:s13:

I used to airbrush with AB with 2 air cannister. Now still deciding which compressor to hoot.

When I use air cannister I become very kan chiong cos I dunno when the cannister will freeze or run out of air.. so last time aim to finish in 1 day.

And yeah I'm quite impatient.. the other time I rushed the whole kit, the paint didnt dry entirely and the colour actually "overlap" at the edges.. when masking, some of the colour also peel together with the tape:s13:

Really wasted cos I spent weeks sanding and puttying...:( then within 1 day everything spoil.

next time I will wait 1 non rainy day before painting next colour.

Oh and do you all use AB to spray primer or do u all use the surfacer in the can?

paiseh for so many questions... gonna start doing kits again after many yrs..

theclerksays

Semi gloss is same as bandai stock finish

U handbrush arh...?
Handbrush should aim to let it dry slowly, to minimize brush mark...back then I even used paint retarder

Ratio I used 50:50......50 of paint and the rest thinner and retarded
The exia I posted was painted that way, most of it anyway..

sorry I didn't state clearly, I use AB with air cannister...

your handbrush skill is good! My hands not steady so I try to avoid handbrush..

BTW ever thought of using glow in the dark paint for the exia gn drive chest?:s13:

One day I wanna try.:s13:

osirisx

sorry I didn't state clearly, I use AB with air cannister...

your handbrush skill is good! My hands not steady so I try to avoid handbrush..

BTW ever thought of using glow in the dark paint for the exia gn drive chest?:s13:

One day I wanna try.:s13:

Actually my exia I did apply the glow powder on the parts, but the light can't penetrate the orbs to 'charge' them

Spector1986

I used to airbrush with AB with 2 air cannister. Now still deciding which compressor to hoot.

When I use air cannister I become very kan chiong cos I dunno when the cannister will freeze or run out of air.. so last time aim to finish in 1 day.

And yeah I'm quite impatient.. the other time I rushed the whole kit, the paint didnt dry entirely and the colour actually "overlap" at the edges.. when masking, some of the colour also peel together with the tape:s13:

Really wasted cos I spent weeks sanding and puttying...:( then within 1 day everything spoil.

Oh and do you all use AB to spray primer or do u all use the surfacer in the can?

I use ab to prime :) b patient.. It will save u more time than u rush :)

Spector1986

Blusttoy

F.Y.I there is also clear pearl coat by tamiya a bit hard to find but I got one, later reach hm den gpgt.

When I first used the pearl white on a Wing Zero wings, I thought what can the Clear Pearl do but damnnn, it kinda brought out the pearl pigments more.

Side note though, waiting in eager anticipation of the official plated version of Delta Gundam.

And Osiris, I didn't try the Krylon's Gold, nor the other Metallic colours because I assumed it was kinda for industrial use like metal frames. Same reason why I didn't use their Primers either.

DarthGW

i just received a hg 1/144 strike noir gundam and a hg 1/144 trans-am raiser..do they require painting/airbrushing to look good or snap fit is good enough?:(

piecewise

i just received a hg 1/144 strike noir gundam and a hg 1/144 trans-am raiser..do they require painting/airbrushing to look good or snap fit is good enough?:(

you can look at dalong.net to see unpainted pictures of those kits.. strike noir will need a bit of painting to look good, while the trans-am raiser can be left unpainted cos of its special colours.

Grumpyoldman

GUNDAM GUY: Gundam Mini Theme Park to Open in April in Tokyo [via AnimeNewsNetwork]
*drools
Can't wait to go there! Any place recommended to buy Gunpla other than Yodabashi Camera and Akihabara?
Dun be sensitive ah! ;)

Cool. Planning to go there again this year too. 5th straight year but tokyo never gets boring! Akiba is good enough for 2 full days if u explore the whole place. Try to time your visits so that it cuts across the months: shops change their displayed stocks and it'll be a whole new experience for your 2nd day's visit (sort of).

If you planning to go further than tokyo, osaka's denden town (equivalent of akiba) is even cheaper.

Grumpyoldman

I use canned surfacer instead of AB. It's a choice of convenience as you can prime as and whenever you finish putty/sanding and need a really quick check. Plus need to clean up with thinner and stuff. Money saved not really worth all that trouble. A short burst right out the window and issue solved.
1 can on average about 2 models (MG) so I guess its not really that ex.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.