Guoco Midtown

TouringSG

Maybe but the case in point is trying to bring forth the argument if Bugis would indeed overtake Orchard area one day as the most expensive area.

Probably marina bay? GSW unlocks the cbd (proximity to work) + waterfront (peace and tranquility for living) which orchard and other landlocked areas will never achieve. Lots of white sites to reimagine a new city without facing issues of tearing down old buildings or building more floors.

ThinkCarefully

Quick check 55 out of 102 sales listings for DUO are the studio/1 bedders. Asking from $1.118m.
DUO has over 300+ studio/1bedders. Cross reference to URA caveat, not many resale volume transacted.
0GOSV2J.jpg

###

I understand you are painstakingly sounding the warning..

But when there is a frenzy... not many bother to listen, let alone think carefully...haha

####

japst3r

Rather interesting that people are imagining Bugis to ever overtake Orchard. While Bugis neighbourhood is conveniently located within the city centre, but it is also a district which attracts only a young-ish crowd, around 30 and under. Anecdotally, ever since I entered my late 20s, my social life in the Bugis area has diminished vastly. The only time I go there is to visit the cafe/food in the area. If I did a staycation in the few luxury hotels there (Andaz, JW Marriot), I would head towards Suntec / Marina for my shopping and meals instead of Bugis.

I feel that Bugis is simply not a place where people with a luxurious or lavish lifestyle would congregate. The commercial businesses in that area generally do not attempt to capture such a market. For those reasons, I'm highly doubtful Bugis would ever overtake or be equal to Orchard Road. That said, it would be more realistic to view Bugis as a "light" version of Orchard, or "budget" version of Orchard. For example, given the range of amenities and food options in the area, I think it would be quite a good location for own-stay singles or couples who do not intend to start families (lack of schools). This is because the location is convenient and it provides a good and diverse range of food and amenity options in the neighbourhood. Bugis also manages to retain some of the heartland feel in the vicinity, which can be appealing to the type of HDB upgraders who want to live in the city centre on a tight budget.

The million-dollar question that no doubt everyone wants to know is how high Bugis PSF will command in time to come. Even though I firmly believe it won't be the same or overtake Orchard, there is certainly a growth story in Bugis that is happening right before our eyes. But looking at the resales in DUO, I can't help but wonder if Bugis PSF is already peaking. Ultimately, I think the housing in this area only targets a very small and specific segment of the private condo market.

Passerboy

Rather interesting that people are imagining Bugis to ever overtake Orchard. While Bugis neighbourhood is conveniently located within the city centre, but it is also a district which attracts only a young-ish crowd, around 30 and under. Anecdotally, ever since I entered my late 20s, my social life in the Bugis area has diminished vastly. The only time I go there is to visit the cafe/food in the area. If I did a staycation in the few luxury hotels there (Andaz, JW Marriot), I would head towards Suntec / Marina for my shopping and meals instead of Bugis.

Now that ppl bring up the case of Marina, I think for Marina to grow, Bugis must grow first.

The luxe properties at Marina are barely tipping 25xxpsf (see Marina Bay Residences, Marina One Residences etc), while Midtown Bay in Bugis is already tipping above $3000psf, even the M that is perceived of relatively poorer finishing is also seeing units tipping $3000psf.

Perhaps Orchard is indeed more prime for some, theres Irwell Hill Residences upcoming for those looking at Orchard.

Like Mr thinkcarefully pointed the comparisons are endless, psf, lease etc.

TouringSG

Now that ppl bring up the case of Marina, I think for Marina to grow, Bugis must grow first.

The luxe properties at Marina are barely tipping 25xxpsf (see Marina Bay Residences, Marina One Residences etc), while Midtown Bay in Bugis is already tipping above $3000psf, even the M that is perceived of relatively poorer finishing is also seeing units tipping $3000psf.

Perhaps Orchard is indeed more prime for some, theres Irwell Hill Residences upcoming for those looking at Orchard.

Like Mr thinkcarefully pointed the comparisons are endless, psf, lease etc.

I am one of those holding off marina area, but definitely wanting to move to marina eventually. Key reason being there's too many empty land around to block the sea view of existing condos today, and decades of construction views to come. I'll move over when the condos start building around the waterfront.

NiShiZhu

I was looking at midtown Bay past transaction and lowest psf is about 25xxpsf thereabout.
One bedder 452sqft is about 1.2xmil.
Looking at MTM price list and compared to MTB transaction data, both r about the same psf/quantum.

Funny thing is MTB is not selling as well as MTM and no one talks about MTB in this thread.
Makes me wonder is there true demand in MTM or is it the publicity :D

qg8znaH.png

ThinkCarefully

I was looking at midtown Bay past transaction and lowest psf is about 25xxpsf thereabout.
One bedder 452sqft is about 1.2xmil.
Looking at MTM price list and compared to MTB transaction data, both r about the same psf/quantum.

Funny thing is MTB is not selling as well as MTM and no one talks about MTB in this thread.
Makes me wonder is there true demand in MTM or is it the publicity :D

qg8znaH.png

####

MTM frenzy...

Words like..the last sold was 1.3 mil, only 3 units left....already 70% sold...you cannot go wrong..Why not up a bit to 1.4 mil...like that Lor
One by one, the units fly off the shelves, the money fly into developer and agents pockets...as well as bankers, lawyers and all those associated parties...

I was at one showflat with my friend. I was adamant it was a ‘no go’ for me. The agent kept bugging my friend to buy and pleaded with me to persuade...my reply ‘wtf? This is an individual decision, if lose money who takes responsibility?’

Cannot help to resist slapping my palm over my forehead.

(Again, not all agents are like this.)

####

Flowerboi

###

That’s why you answered my point... try telling people ‘I stay at Orchard’ and ‘I stay at Bugis’. different one.

Then someone asks if this difference is worth xxxxpsf, like asking if there is a difference between Bugis and Kallang, is this difference worth yyy psf...

You go and discuss until cows come home lor..

###

Compare apple to apple leh. This one is below mrt. Most orchard condo is not near mrt. Only orchard residence is. So orchard residence is more expensive than mtm. Since orchard more prestige than Bugis.

ThinkCarefully

Compare apple to apple leh. This one is below mrt. Most orchard condo is not near mrt. Only orchard residence is. So orchard residence is more expensive than mtm. Since orchard more prestige than Bugis.

###

Since you enjoy comparing so much, then you answer his question how much more expensive, xxxx psf, given the age/ location etc..for you is acceptable between the two...

####

Passerboy

###

Since you enjoy comparing so much, then you answer his question how much more expensive, xxxx psf, given the age/ location etc..for you is acceptable between the two...

####

No need compare since u already said there are endless grounds to compare. And it wouldnt be necessary for u unless u are the one buying into Midtown Modern.

Between two I would say Midtown Modern has more upside, but if u like Orchard, there’s Irwell Hill Residences or even Martin Modern :)

daheigou999

the marketing for MTM was really good and hyped-up though.

was looking at the youtube material from guocoland on MB vs MTM - they really went all-in for MTM.

i guess some people bought into the hype too. =] if for own stay and after DYODD, I guess its fine.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Du53ddL9ilI
MTM, 7mins video

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wSM2FB6XNzQ
MB, 2mins video

hahaha

Apparently there is no ABSD time limit to sell Midtown Bay within 5 years, since it is sitting on a commercial site.

https://youtu.be/k4-ay6HJCrM

Pynchmail

Apparently there is no ABSD time limit to sell Midtown Bay within 5 years, since it is sitting on a commercial site.

https://youtu.be/k4-ay6HJCrM

IRAS briefing slides specifically mentioned that:

ABSD applies to documents executed for the acquisition of
residential properties defined as:

a. For building units: one of the permitted uses is residential

b. For vacant land or entire building with land: the zoning is
Residential, Residential with Commercial at First Storey, Commercial &
Residential, Residential/Institutional or White.

• In the case of a mixed-use or mixed-zoning property, ABSD
applies on the residential component.

https://www.iras.gov.sg/irashome/uploadedfiles/ABSD%20Briefing%20Slides_2018-07-17_v2.0.pdf

dragonbryan

Hehe I find MTM and MTB pricing not much of a big difference but not a lot seems to be interested in MTB? All like MTM so much? :D

If both price similar shouldn't mtm be more attractive given it's proximity to amenities and transport?

scanner007

GuocoLand’s Midtown Modern has a strong start: DBS

“In a research note dated March 22, DBS analysts Derek Tan, Rachel Tan, and the DBS Singapore research team noted more than 60% in sales was recorded at launch weekend”
https://www.theedgesingapore.com/ca...GNXvSH_WSc2zYE3loMbZVnlALEIlGChRlVNtBzXgp-aac

Just visited the showroom yesterday. 1 bedder left 28th and 30th floor. psf around >3.5k... :s22:
I won't bother to touch at such crazy price....

M Condo is only 1 street across, I believe the investors there will be very happy now. Midtown upped the psf for them. Congrat! lol

Hyruga

IRAS briefing slides specifically mentioned that:

ABSD applies to documents executed for the acquisition of
residential properties defined as:

a. For building units: one of the permitted uses is residential

b. For vacant land or entire building with land: the zoning is
Residential, Residential with Commercial at First Storey, Commercial &
Residential, Residential/Institutional or White.

• In the case of a mixed-use or mixed-zoning property, ABSD
applies on the residential component.

https://www.iras.gov.sg/irashome/uploadedfiles/ABSD%20Briefing%20Slides_2018-07-17_v2.0.pdf

So the video is wrong at 2:40

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.