Hanoi

devion

Is the night train or bus from Hanoi to Sapa be better? Train more expensive but most says it is safer than bus. There is also an hr drive from Laocai train stn to Sapa, but bus is direct.
If March is not advisable to head to Sapa, where else can be recommended? Halong bay for sure.

Henabi

Any hp shop in airport?
Yes. But depend on what yours use.

If.you need data, get Vinaphone

If you need something of a balance between call and data then just get a barebone Viettel sim

I have been using the same Viettel prepaid sim I get from the hcmc airport for 3 years now. Every 5-6 months I will top up one time to buy data pack

Sent from Henabi virus using GAGT

LifeIsJinHappy

Is the night train or bus from Hanoi to Sapa be better? Train more expensive but most says it is safer than bus. There is also an hr drive from Laocai train stn to Sapa, but bus is direct.
If March is not advisable to head to Sapa, where else can be recommended? Halong bay for sure.
They say night bus accident rate higher.. See your luck la

Sent from Xiaomi REDMI NOTE 6 PRO using GAGT

Henabi

Most of the people I know travel to SAPA by train. At least you can pay slightly more and get a sleeping cabin for 4 or 6 pax

Ekspakk

Train better, can sleep well at night. Why march not advisable?

dleodleo

I travelled to Sapa by overnite train. 4 in one cabin. If yr group is less than 4, you hv to share the cabin with stranger.

I think travel by train is safer and more comfortable? There's toilet in train.

dleodleo

Anyone has recommendations on Halong Bay 2d1n tour? How was the experience? Is it worth going in the first place?

And what other activities or itineraries you all have in Hanoi?

Tia!

Yes worth it. My family with 2 young kids went for 2D1N trip. All transfers, activities, food and bottled water are inclusive.

Relaxing and beautiful scenery.

dleodleo

thx! im going in end feb-early march, read online that sapa wont really look great during then, might consider skipping it ba

Ok bah. I went in Dec. Everything is beautiful except the rice field - all dried up, not nice but I still find it ok to go leh.

Since you already in Hanoi why not just drop by Sapa? We took overnite train, reach there early morning, did some sightseeing and stayed 1 nite. Next day checked out and did some sightseeing and took the overnite train back to Hanoi.

We didnt take any tour in Sapa. All free and easy. We walked on our own.

pclow59

I travelled to Sapa by overnite train. 4 in one cabin. If yr group is less than 4, you hv to share the cabin with stranger.

I think travel by train is safer and more comfortable? There's toilet in train.

Besides safety, the train is more comfortable. I took the sleeper bus back from Sapa to Hanoi and feel uneasy with the seat, cos you neither sleep flat nor sit straight up.

jackieatbtu

But I am having difficulties trying to decide for which cruise. And the price range a lot also. Scare pay too little crappy boat. Scare pay too much got scam crappy boat. Seem to depend on luck? The dragon pearl over 200usd each.

Yes worth it. My family with 2 young kids went for 2D1N trip. All transfers, activities, food and bottled water are inclusive.

Relaxing and beautiful scenery.

saffronsatire

But I am having difficulties trying to decide for which cruise. And the price range a lot also. Scare pay too little crappy boat. Scare pay too much got scam crappy boat. Seem to depend on luck? The dragon pearl over 200usd each.
Are you booking through a reliable tour agency? Ask many questions, ask for more photos and get them to recommend lor.

saffronsatire

Talking to both classy travel and madam linh recommended here

went to take a look, the dragon pearl room photos don't look appealing to me. dunno about you but i'm usually quite fussy for accoms, so i rather pay slightly more. what are the other options you shortlisted?

jackieatbtu

For cheaper ones: madam linh suggest lavender cruise, lemon cruise
Deluxe ones: Phoenix, majestic, aclass stellar, huong hai sea life

I think my family want to have kayaking.

went to take a look, the dragon pearl room photos don't look appealing to me. dunno about you but i'm usually quite fussy for accoms, so i rather pay slightly more. what are the other options you shortlisted?

lurker88

After reading thru this thread, I shortlisted both Mdm linh and classy for the land tour and as well 3 of the most recommended agencies under trip adviser. (Note: classy topped the trip adviser recommendation)

Unfortunately Mdm linh website was down and I decided to go with classy for their 7N6N halong/sapa/ninh binh with some customization to due my old folks.
~ chose president cruises
~ private trek at sapa
~ top up 30 for private cabin (train)
~ tam cuc replaced by trang an

Overall. I was quite pleased with their service. Sent an email enquiry and received the response via watapps within 3 hrs.

Sent from Wonderland using GAGT

jackieatbtu

Anybody have old quarter hotel to recommend? Looking below $100 per night for triple room with breakfast. Best if got bacon on breakfast menu. So far found Bella Rosa suite and new vision palace.
Is the street noise really that bad?

dricas_007

Just came back from Hanoi, the weather changes everyday. Not bad for first timer. Went there first day at airport 17 degrees shiok sia wearing t shirt and shorts 😂

Henabi

Yeah that's the problem with Hanoi during winter hahaha
Today hot like summer.
Tomorrow cold like Genting

Henabi

Anybody have old quarter hotel to recommend? Looking below $100 per night for triple room with breakfast. Best if got bacon on breakfast menu. So far found Bella Rosa suite and new vision palace.
Is the street noise really that bad?
$100 per night can get very decent hotel in Hanoi

Try icon 36 hotel

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.