HDD vs SSD for External Storage.........

already told u 8tb and above wd book or elements are cmr. get those

you see me too up liao.................8TB sure very expensive..............and it'll take me decades to fill up with porn.............

even the 500GB WD Black is almost $100 liao leh.............

86technie

maybe i need to broaden my search..............anyway, i'm not in a rush - i just want to be sure HDD is still more reliable than SSD

Actually to ease your confusion just get a external hard disk locally with warranty.
Whether CMR/SMR hard disk will still bound to fail depending how you use and disk usage.
If you really want reliability than get a NAS but that is you have the budget for it.

If you want everything cheap and affordable than either Seagate or Western Digital external hard disk.
Think WD Mybook was mentioned so this you can consider but do not take out the hard disk.
Just use as it is.

alamakazim

Actually to ease your confusion just get a external hard disk locally with warranty.
Whether CMR/SMR hard disk will still bound to fail depending how you use and disk usage.
If you really want reliability than get a NAS but that is you have the budget for it.

If you want everything cheap and affordable than either Seagate or Western Digital external hard disk.
Think WD Mybook was mentioned so this you can consider but do not take out the hard disk.
Just use as it is.
Cheapest is buy 2nd hand.. don't need warranty..

Every brand buy 1
500gb very small only

Get 5 3.5inch internal... Duplicate all 5... Case close... $10-$15 each should be able to find

86technie

Every brand buy 1
500gb very small only

Get 5 3.5inch internal... Duplicate all 5... Case close... $10-$15 each should be able to find

Err.. 2nd hand hard disk have to be check and formatted as usually seller do not format/clear
the hard disk.
I have brought a few before so I have to format it before I use as well as some failed
after I format/wipe the disk.

There is risk buying 2nd hand hard disk.

Just use as it is.

ok, many thanks once again

Every brand buy 1
500gb very small only

2nd hand mah more chance of failure ?

86technie

ok, many thanks once again

2nd hand mah more chance of failure ?

Sadly yes which is why recommend to do a diskpart clean all command to format it.
Cuz diskpart can check and determine if the drive is working properly.
Once it fail there will be clicking noise or fail during the formatting process.

I stop buying 2nd hard disk after a few failed on me.

Every brand buy 1
500gb very small only

Err.. 2nd hand hard disk have to be check and formatted as usually seller do not format/clear
the hard disk.
I have brought a few before so I have to format it before I use as well as some failed
after I format/wipe the disk.

There is risk buying 2nd hand hard disk.

Yeah lor where got so simple.
Must bad sector test over night.
Later you suay you tio one with bad sectors you can just throw into dustbin.

2TB google drive only $13.99.
They've even cheaper plans.

14 bucks every month ah ?....................too expensive for me lah............. 😞

also, my 20+ year porn collection only over 100GB........i very selective one....... :LOL:

:unsure:
$14 every month for prawn?
like that you might as well one time life account for your prawn.

:unsure:
$14 every month for prawn?
like that you might as well one time life account for your prawn.

no lah................you see me too up liao lah................only free porn lah............

unless last time in DVD form............then $10 per disc................the money i spent on those DVDs - could have bought 2 new budget PCs liao..............:cry:

Clearnfc

Anything meant for backup purpose, HDD. Its much cheaper than SSD. IF you don't mind paying recurring fees, cloud.

xeonboy

14 bucks every month ah ?....................too expensive for me lah............. 😞

also, my 20+ year porn collection only over 100GB........i very selective one....... :LOL:

948d00e9ef0bd25e9f3f8faa1ad19da4.png

Anything meant for backup purpose, HDD. Its much cheaper than SSD. IF you don't mind paying recurring fees, cloud.

i need only 500GB max.............so the cost difference not so big...............but always people say SSD not so reliable in retaining data.............

just like i keep reading people say the same thing about NVME SSD vs SATA SSD............that's why i stayed with SATA SSD.............

2x External HDD is good enough usually.

i have 1 HDD and 1 SSD now...............so if sway sway, 1 game over.............i still got time to get a replacement.........

thanks for the info..............i thought Google or Microsoft got free cloud or something ?...........can't recall now....

cloud also using SSDs to store info, right ?............imagine if their SSDs also game over........... :LOL:

xeonboy

thanks for the info..............i thought Google or Microsoft got free cloud or something ?...........can't recall now....

cloud also using SSDs to store info, right ?............imagine if their SSDs also game over........... :LOL:

Yes, Google drive has 15 GB free.

Google has data center backups so it's definitely safer than your own HDD/SSD drive.

Clearnfc

i need only 500GB max.............so the cost difference not so big...............but always people say SSD not so reliable in retaining data.............

just like i keep reading people say the same thing about NVME SSD vs SATA SSD............that's why i stayed with SATA SSD.............

Oh 500GB, just go for cloud. Like that you don't even need ot worry about backup

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.